Ratings based on 808 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smell of smoke was throughout the hallway.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: I would not stay here again. Should have booked a room on the ocean not across the street. Santa Monica is full of homeless people.
Room needed to be moved, only had courtyard room to replace our oceanview. would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Wonderful location. Run on the beach - go to the pool, and eat yummy food.
I love this place. It's so comfortable. Great location, comfortable beds, great hotel staff. I stay here every time I'm in Los Angeles.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and clean hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: The location, the cleanliness, the staff
Cons: The ad on Expedia said there were free pastries in the lobby in the morning, but there weren't any so the ad may need to be updated.
Location: The beach, Third Street Prominade, the Santa Monica Pier
The hotel was great. The room was clean and a good size. The view of the pool and restaurant were fine and it didn't get noisy in the evenings. The staff was great, especially the doormen. The location was very close to the beach, the Santa Monica Pier, and the Third Street Prominade. We didn't eat at the hotel because it was pricey. There was free coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning. Our reservation said something about free pastries in the morning, but we never saw anything. We found a close bakery-style place a few blocks away (Joan's on Third) that had great croissants. The hotel pool area was small but well-maintained. Due to the weather being lower than we expected, there was not a crowd in the pool area. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would stay again if we were to return to Santa Monica.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good but some quirks. Look elsewhere first

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Road Noise / sound proofing. Get rid of that smell in the lobby.
Location: Good SM Location
Would described this place as an old-school Hollywood hotel trying to be a W. Stayed a few days at the Viceroy for a few days on a biz trip. Ive now stayed a many of the hotels in areas so thinking I'm getting a good feel for whats available. Overall its a clean hotel in a good central location, close to the beach and shopping areas(but not too close which is good). Checkin was smooth. The breakfast was a little pricey decent. The bar/ lounge appears to be a popular hangout. Bed was comfortable. Now the cons. 1. NOISY. Note that its located on the corner of a very busy intersection and road noise inside is LOUD. Not much insulation from outside noise OR from the rooms around it. Could hear people walking, etc... BRING EARPLUGS if noise is a problem for you or you wont sleep well. There are other hotels in the area that are just as nice and less expensive that are better in this regard, 2. The Resort fee add on charge is just dumb. I was on business so was never going to use the smallish pool area. NOTE THE CHARGE WHEN YOU COPARE HOTEL PRICES. Its not worth it. Could see if the area had a beach view. 3. The Smell. For some reason they are still doing that "a/c smell injection" thing in the lobby area (thought that was a 90s thing?). Its kinda like spaying a large dose of powder scented Febreeze in a closet and standing in it with the door closed. Its overwhelming and made me nauseous. NetNet - OK if nothing else comparable is available.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location in Santa Monica

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: The location, the style, the room, the staff, the lobby and the bar
We stayed 5 nights at the Viceroy Hotel last July. We arrived late and tired, but a nice guy from the team offered us a cup of champagne and took care of our bags. Everything was just perfect from the beginning to the end of our stay! The staff was very kind and friendly and tried continuously to help us to have a good moment. Great experience.
3 out of 5
by Alan from SD

Expensive and so so

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Had to change room twice because it was not clean, beds are the worst I have slept in, they need to change mattress urgently. The free bikes are a nice touch to go around town, too bad you have to return them by 6:00 pm $9.00 for water in your room? The rooms on street side are noisy
3 out of 5
by Claudio from Zollikon

5 Sterne Preise für 2 Sterne Service

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
Top Lage - Top Design Ansonsten Abzockerei für diesen Preis. Kein brauchbares WIFI inbegriffen, muss zusätzlich zum hohen Zimmerpreis bezahlt werden. Parkgebühren auch für Hotelgäste 50 $ zusätzlich proTag. Teuerstes Frühstück auf unserer ganzen USA Reise (und wir waren ausser hier immer in 5 Sterne Häuser ..) 4 Teller mit O-Saft und Kaffee 160 $ .. - Toilette beim Eincheggen schmutzig - Löcher in Bettlacken - Klimaanlage ab Mittelstufe derat lärmig, dass sie nur auf unterster Stufe zum Einschlafen möglich. Room Service in der Nacht musste auf Tonband gesprochen werden, aber schlussendlich wurde nie was gebracht ...
5 out of 5
by Esmeralda

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
Prachtig ingericht hotel met goede ligging. We hebben een late check out gekregen en de service was verder zeer goed. Ik kom zeker terug naar dit hotel de volgende keer als ik in LA ben.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

Nice hotel, modern, well located.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Nice hotel, friendly staff. Resort charge of usd25 per day per room was excessive and unnecessary given we did not use the pool etc. apart from that it was very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charleston, sc

Wonderful hotel in great location

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Loved everything about this hotel: amazing customer service, free bike rentals, poolside barre class, beautiful ambiance, biking/walking distance to everything