Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Clean and organized

Posted Sep 21, 2016
I was pleasantly surprised that this place was super clean and organize and it looks like they have just recently renovated the rooms so I was happy to stay there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible bates motel

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Owner will go in your room without permission. The owner will go in the room pretend to clean the room but will turn off the a/c to save on electricity in a 90 degree weather. The towel are like rags you used for cleaning cars. Soaps and shampoo are non existent. Glad I pack some. Owner will give you a hard time if you ask for soap and shampoo. The parking lot is used for hangout for people drinking all night. Will not stay here again even if its free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, We are truly sorry to hear that you felt this way following your 3 days stay. As a long-standing local business, we pride ourselves on providing guests with excellent customer service. First night you stay with your adult daughter and we didn’t charge any extra person charges and also we would like to clear up some of the issues you mentioned in your review. First of all, our Managers/Maintenance never go into the guests room unless issue with room. However, our daily maid service is instructed to turn off all lights and appliances to follow the energy conservation standards. Additional towels, soap, and shampoo can be provided by maid service. If you do not take service and come middle of night we will refuse. Communication is a two-way street. If you had mentioned just once over your 3-day stay that you were dissatisfied with anything, we would have definitely made it out priority to make your stay much more enjoyable. Also, the week of your stay coincided with an annual family reunion, who stay at our business every year. We apologize for any noise they caused during the evenings, any way quite Time Start at 10:00 P.M. Sun Star Inn Management
3 out of 5
by Bhargav Gajji

Decent price but needs better maintenance

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Good room space but the towels were dirty
4 out of 5
by Scott from San Bernardino, CA

No frills motel at a reasonable price

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
There is nothing fancy. But the room is clean, comfortable, quiet, and cheap. It could use more towels and better soap. The internet can be slow. The staff is very helpful and take pride in how clean the property is. It is a good place for a stopover on the I-5 and there is a Black Bear Diner nearby.
2 out of 5
by Kevin G

Passing by. Okay place to stay.

Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Hotels
Got in at 11:30 p.m. and left by 6:00 a.m. Hotel was okay. Room had been reconditioned recently. Okay place to stop when passing through on the 5 Fwy. Good price. Only negative was the shower wasn't clean. Looked like water / scuz had backed up through the drain.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Dilip from Gaithersburg

good hotel in Los banos ca

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
good clean hotel with friendly owner
1 out of 5
by Amanda from California

Room so dirty we left as soon a we could

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
My significant other and I were planning on using the Sun Star Inn as a pit stop on our two day drive between Portland and San Diego. We were not expecting anything fancy. Both of us are extensive travelers and used to the motel life. Nonetheless, the Sun Star Inn was an exceptional let down. The good/non-bad: -Neighborhood is fine, extensive parking, lobby was fine, person who was working behind the counter was fine. Everything you would expect to see at a place you're paying $55ish a night for. Right next door to a breakfast place. You couldn't hear road traffic once you were in the room. Right on the main thoroughfare out of Los Banos. The Bad: The room was filthy. I don't mean, slightly dirty because you're paying $55/night. I mean, filthy. The carpet, which was dark, was covered in gray dust all along the corners and the edges of the room. It was if it had never been vacuumed. My boyfriend started coughing and sneezing once we got in the room, so I lifted up the mattress by the wall and discovered a pile of dirt between the mattress and the box spring on one side. Wanting to explore the other side, I lifted up the mattress again and discovered, what we both believed, to be rodent sized droppings (along with more dirt and dust). Upon seeing this, we left. We we're so disgusted by the cleanliness of the room that we left, without even asking for a refund. We just wanted to get out of there as soon as we could.
2 out of 5
by David from Oakdale, CA

Not the Worst

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
The decor of the room is clearly quite outdated...1980's? The room had the appearance of being cleaned, but there were edges of dirt around the carpet and bathroom floors. They did not have hand towels. The air conditioner, though we are thankful it worked, was extremely loud and once it was on it did not shut off...so no matter what temperature you set, eventually it gets too cold, and then too warm...you have to be the thermostat. The lobby smelled like a lot of curry had been cooking, but the clerk was nice and when we had a problem with the television he did come right up to the room and fix it. It is okay - but I would not choose to stay there again on purpose.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Two Star

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Wasn't expecting much for $55 so I wasn't disappointed. TV was broken and loud AC.