Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Kevin G

Passing by. Okay place to stay.

Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Hotels
Got in at 11:30 p.m. and left by 6:00 a.m. Hotel was okay. Room had been reconditioned recently. Okay place to stop when passing through on the 5 Fwy. Good price. Only negative was the shower wasn't clean. Looked like water / scuz had backed up through the drain.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Dilip from Gaithersburg

good hotel in Los banos ca

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
good clean hotel with friendly owner
1 out of 5
by Amanda from California

Room so dirty we left as soon a we could

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
My significant other and I were planning on using the Sun Star Inn as a pit stop on our two day drive between Portland and San Diego. We were not expecting anything fancy. Both of us are extensive travelers and used to the motel life. Nonetheless, the Sun Star Inn was an exceptional let down. The good/non-bad: -Neighborhood is fine, extensive parking, lobby was fine, person who was working behind the counter was fine. Everything you would expect to see at a place you're paying $55ish a night for. Right next door to a breakfast place. You couldn't hear road traffic once you were in the room. Right on the main thoroughfare out of Los Banos. The Bad: The room was filthy. I don't mean, slightly dirty because you're paying $55/night. I mean, filthy. The carpet, which was dark, was covered in gray dust all along the corners and the edges of the room. It was if it had never been vacuumed. My boyfriend started coughing and sneezing once we got in the room, so I lifted up the mattress by the wall and discovered a pile of dirt between the mattress and the box spring on one side. Wanting to explore the other side, I lifted up the mattress again and discovered, what we both believed, to be rodent sized droppings (along with more dirt and dust). Upon seeing this, we left. We we're so disgusted by the cleanliness of the room that we left, without even asking for a refund. We just wanted to get out of there as soon as we could.
2 out of 5
by David from Oakdale, CA

Not the Worst

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
The decor of the room is clearly quite outdated...1980's? The room had the appearance of being cleaned, but there were edges of dirt around the carpet and bathroom floors. They did not have hand towels. The air conditioner, though we are thankful it worked, was extremely loud and once it was on it did not shut off...so no matter what temperature you set, eventually it gets too cold, and then too warm...you have to be the thermostat. The lobby smelled like a lot of curry had been cooking, but the clerk was nice and when we had a problem with the television he did come right up to the room and fix it. It is okay - but I would not choose to stay there again on purpose.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Two Star

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Wasn't expecting much for $55 so I wasn't disappointed. TV was broken and loud AC.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Juan from Texas

Not a great stay.

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
One thing about this hotel. Owners Luv to walk into ur room at night in my case Cuz I wasn't there. Turn off ur ac an tv off open window. Basically going into my room with no permission
3 out of 5
by James from Albuquerque

OK for the price

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
OK for the price, the room air conditioner was very loud when it was on.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: convenient check in/out times
Cons: needs some updating
It's fine for a place to stay one night on the road. We were able to check in late in the evening compared with most hotel's time cut-offs, and check out as early as we needed without getting extra charges. Not really a place you'd want to hang out for awhile, and the wifi didn't want to work too well on our devices, but it got the job done. The toilet liked to leak a little at the base onto the floor... but everything else seemed to be cleanish. But you get what you pay for