Ratings based on 253 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Wonderful hotel. The service was quite professional and went above and beyond. This hotel has great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel agradable con playa

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: LA alberca, la playa la decoración
Cons: EL buffete
Location: Esta cerca del centro de SAn José
EL hotel está muy bonito, algunos detalles pueden mejorar... el buffet tenía los panes duros al igual que los hotcakes por el tiempo que permanecen ahí en las cosas para calentar. EL servicio en el cuarto muy bueno los primeros días pero luego dejaron de poner tapetes y cosas por el estilo...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix, AZ

where we almost got married

Posted Feb 1, 2016
so about two years ago when we went the first time to cabo azul, we saw the design and the chapel and new that we wanted to get married there. Unfortunately, the hurricane hit in 2015 and the resort closed for a while but it is re-open as wonderful as it was before. So we went on our one year anniversary. Javier's is excellent food... the pool staff, Antonio and Angel treated us like we were royalty. I love this hotel, and will keep coming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel located close to all amenties

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: Clean, beautiful grounds, pool and beach chairs were very comfortable. 15 minute walk to San Jose
Cons: Cost of drinks and food
Location: We went to San Jose a couple of times, cabo and the mega store was very close.
We truly enjoyed our stay, I would go back. Only complaint I had was that the drinks and food were expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful but quiet

Posted Jan 14, 2016
The resort is absolutely stunning, everything is super clean and well maintained. I have never seen a resort so beautiful. A bonus is that there is wifi included in the room and through the resort. The food is also sooo good. I few notes of caution though - the place is extremely quiet, there is not much life to the place to stay entertained. There is no night life; the place is a desert past 6. Also, we were shocked to find out this is not an all inclusive. I'm not sure how we missed this while booking. Turns out we were not the only ones who made this mistake as others we met there made this same mistake. Drink prices at their bars/restaurants are expensive which is probably why no one is out at night. Also note that there is a 'resort fee' when you arrive per night that you stay that is not included when booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Hotel Excelente solo unos "detalles"

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Todas las instalaciones del hotel están excelentes, instalaciones habitaciones. habitaciones. albercas, playa, etc.
Cons: El servicio del restaurante en la alberca a la hora de mediodía, muy desorganizados atención pésima aunque casi vacío; por la noche todo bien.
Location: El centro de San Jose esta cerca, pueden ir a cenar y ver obras de arte ya que hay varios artistas o pueden ir a los cabos a lugares con mas ambiente.
Todas las instalaciones del hotel están excelentes, instalaciones habitaciones. habitaciones. albercas, playa, etc. Excelente tanto para familias como parejas. Los únicos detalles fueron: Al llegar al hotel me dijeron de un cargo extra que tenia que pagar diario por cuestiones del sindicato de su personal El servicio del restaurante en la alberca a la hora de mediodía, muy desorganizados atención pésima aunque casi vacío; por la noche todo bien. El restaurante Javier's que esta dentro del hotel es muy rico pero un poco caro por lo que ofrecen y a la hora de hacer el checkout del hotel y revisando los cargos resulta que en este restaurante todos los consumos dentro del restaurante le agregaron mas propina de lo que yo había puesto, al principio pensamos que fue un error pero ya viendo los demás cargos agregaron la misma propina "adicional" y eso que estaba muy claro porque puse la propina y la suma del total en el recibo; quedo la señorita de recepción que lo vería con el gerente
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cabo Azul in san jose del Cabo

Beautiful hotel, horrible Staff/service

Posted Jan 11, 2016
he hotel and grounds are beautiful, but the service is horrible. Staff I'd not properly trained is all areas. Waiters take up to an hour to get you anything. Coffee, sugar you name it. The front desk is rude! We asked to be moved as we had paid for ocean view or pool view. Our balcony faced the operation of neighboring hotel. The front desk said, you paid 5k pesos, what do you expect. As he looked at my Expedia reservation. I said, if that was pesos I would not complain. I'm here 7 nights. Please move me. He refused and I had to call Expedia directly. After we were moved the gentleman who help us move said, going cheap never ends well. Insinuating we went cheap. He told us never to use Expedia. Horrible. Expedia you star rating on this survey is not working. I would give this resort a 2.5 stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2016 by Cabo Azul Resort And Spa, Hotel Management
Please accept our sincere apology for your unhappy experience regarding our team and the service at our Cabo Azul Resort. While we thank you for the compliments about our resort, we understand nonetheless we have fallen short of your expectations. Your review has personally been reviewed by our management team for training opportunities and a viewpoint of where improvements may be needed. We want to assure no future guest feels this way as our guests are our top priority. We hope to not have ruined any chances of you returning. Should you reconsider giving us another chance, we are confident in correcting your impression of us and show you what our quality Diamond standard customer service is all about.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from y sf

We were just not given our promised room

Posted Jan 5, 2016
We were not given the promised room with a view. We had to talk to Julio and manager of operations who were rude and dismissive of our concerns. We waisted a lot of time on our vacation talking to them with no end result. The shower in our room was cold and even that was not fixed after several complaints. Overall the whole situation made our vacation sour. This was our 5th and last trip to Cabo Azul.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional hotel on the ocean

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Location, hotel, facilities very nice. On the ocean as well as additional dining options across the street.
Cons: Check in and check out (slow). Need to add staff when needed (ad hoc).
Location: On the ocean. Only 15-20 min. drive to the airport. Many dining options across the street.
Hotel and facilities are on par with some of the nicest 5 star hotels I've stayed at in Mexico (exceptional). Service was a little slow at the pool for drinks and lunch. Only complaint would be the slow check in and check out (need to add staff at reception desk when a line develops).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury resort, right on the beach!

Posted Jan 3, 2016
I loved staying here and being able to walk out to the beach or drive into downtown San Jose.