Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arroyo Grande, CA

Beautiful and quiet hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
This was a great alternative to staying at a "resort" style hotel. The garden and swimming pool were beautiful, staff were friendly and helpful, and a variety of restaurants were within walking distance. Would definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey, California

Charming and intimate hotel in the arts district.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
From the minute we arrived to our departure, Miguel, Eric and Jason were accomodating to all of our needs. This is a beautiful and clean hotel with lovely gardens, birds chirping and abundant old world charm. The quiet and well-located environment was perfect allowing us to rest and rejuvenate. We will be back in December!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Paz Mexico

Excellent location in "Old Town".

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Traditional Mexican flavor. Nice attention to details. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained.
Parked the car and walked. Restaurants, shops and local entertainment. Great Art festival in the main square on Tuesdays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

A pleasant small hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The hotel bills itself as a spa and while I did not check deeply into their offerings, I got an excellent massage onsite.
Cons: There is a nearby amusement park. On a couple of nights there was some sort of loudspeaker powered event that went on until late in the evening.
Location: There is a weekly art walk displaying gallery level fare. The streets fill with lights and street performers and tourists.
We really enjoyed the Encanto Inn. It is a smaller establishment catering to the more laid back tourist. The inn sits at the edge of the old town just three blocks and five minutes from the central square where most of San Jose del Cabo’s activities occur. This makes it both convenient to activities and shops and a bit less noisy (not that San Jose del Cabo ever gets very rowdy) than some other places in the center of town. We stayed in a second floor room. They all face the charming garden and small pool. Our room had both fans and air conditioning as well as a TV which we seldom watched. Toward the end of our stay, we discovered that we had access to two Seattle (our home town) channels so we could catch up on the news and laugh about the rain and cold temperatures we were not subjected town in Mexico. The staff was helpful and friendly. The desk people we encountered spoke excellent English and patiently tolerated and helped me with my faltering Spanish. There are a half dozen restaurants on the street, but we spent most of our time eating light fair at a brew pub a minute away and eating at a Mexican restaurant just up the street which featured hearty inexpensive breakfasts and dinners with local entertainment. San Jose del Cabo is a bit less Americanized than the neighboring Los Cabos. Most tourists seem to be a little older and more well off than in Cabo making the place a bit more “upscale”, but in a traditional Mexican way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay in the art district.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Clean and comfortable place with tons of shops and restaurants in walking distance. Also walk to the mission etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Beautiful hotel;especially pool side suites

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Tranquility , charm
Cons: reception could show a bit more interest in guest and cheerful attentiveness.
Location: La Lupita restaurant is excellent and only a few steps from hotel. Have been there numerous times now and always love it.
Large beautifully appointed poolside suites. Evening lighting around pool is delightful. Very quiet. Maid service starts later in the mornings so you are not disturbed. Other guests tend to be quiet. No yelling and running children. Lovely smaller pool. Very close to good restaurants and shopping. Welcoming attitude by staff could use some improvement but it is adequate. I certainly would always choose this hotel in San Jose del cabo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel in the mid of the city

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: location, authenticity, staff
Cons: The bathroom is located adjacent but seperate from the sleeping area, but there is a gap at the top of the dividing wall, so not sound proof.
Location: Lots of art galleries, bars, shopping, restaurants. walking distance to estuary and beach.
If you don't care if you are on the beach, I would highly recommend this hotel which is located adjacent to the main square and within easy reach of multiple Mexican and non Mexican restaurants. Beautiful grounds and a nice swimming pool. Old world charm, but well kept and helpful staff. I left my Gucci watch in the hotel safe and it was returned to me after I returned home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Charming boutique hotel.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
The hotel is situated on the edge of charming old town / art / jewellery / restaurant district. It is a wonderful urban oasis. Tons of character and style. A lovely garden of palm trees and flowers surrounds the pool. The rooms are well appointed. The staff are friendly, helpful and speak good English. On Tuesdays and Thursdays, Art Walk happens in the streets around the hotel. There is often live local music in the square a few blocks away. This area is lively and interesting - a welcome change from the boring hotel strip.
5 out of 5
by Christopher

We'll be back

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
This worked out to be the perfect accommodation for us. Stayed in a suite. Beautiful room, big comfy bed, large bathroom. Delightful courtyard. Easy walk to the center of town. Great service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great hideaway in the center of Old Town

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Location, Staff, Room Cleanliness
Cons: A little noisy....
Location: Wine bar and coffee bar next door, brewing house on the same street, walking distance to most everything, art walk was wonderful.
Nice hotel with a lot of charm and very private from the rest of the town but blocks within some excellent restaurants and bars.....Rooms were spacious, not new or luxury but very clean and comfortable.