Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cypress, Ca

Nice hotel in center of art district

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Same as above
Cons: Better communications with booking agent
Location: Same as above
Enjoyed our stay at Encanto Inn. Close to great restaurants, shops both art and other. A bit of a walk to beach (good exercise). Staff very nice, courteous and accommodating. Would definately stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location; not a boutique hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Calling this hotel a boutique hotel is a stretch. The grounds are pretty and the staff is helpful but the rooms are basically Holiday Inn quality. There are several areas for improvement: saggy, squeaky mattress; rickety, noisy ceiling fan; AC only controlled by on/off switch and no ability to control the temperature (our choices for room climate were stuffy or ice cold); cheap toiletries in those wall-mounted dispensers you find in public restrooms (only shampoo and soap; no conditioner or lotion); terrible, barely usable internet connection. On the plus side, the location is convenient, in the middle of the Art District and close to many good restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San francisco

Jose del Cabo hidden gem Mexican community

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Plus: in the art district walkable By nature estatuary By hub of organic farms and restaurants Alot of cool local cultural and people Negative: The staff were not well informed of local cool stuff going on we found out by accident which wasted time and we missed some events we would have loved to go to No oceanside views They don't tell you that some rooms are not on garden separate building
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Encanto is a nice place to be.

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Nice ambience.
Cons: The bed in 107 is getting saggy.
Location: Mi Casa and Pesce restaurants. The estuary is beautiful.
Comfortable, close to beautiful art and very good restaurants. San Jose is a much nicer location than Cabo. I will come back again and again to El Encanto Inn.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New England

The hotel closes at 11 pm, we could not check-in

Posted Aug 23, 2016
We couldn't check-in the first night because the hotel closes at 11 pm. As a result we stayed the first night in another hotel. Very bad experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, pleasant surroundings.

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Setting, pool area.
Cons: Need to provide more bottled water for brushing teeth and making coffee.
Location: Restaurants, galleries, town square.
We enjoyed staying in San Jose del Cabo. El Encanto fit us perfectly. Nice, comfortable room, lovely pool area, good location. We loved being in a part of Cabo that felt like old time Mexico. Arrived on a Thursday, which was Art Walk night, a fun event. Went to Baja Brewing. Good food and a wide selection of craft brews.Nice galleries, stores and restaurants in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location/Facility

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Ideal location in downtown San Jose Del Cabo. Friendly staff, well maintained inside and out. Recently opened restaurant, presently for breakfast and lunch but with plans to extend hours for dinner, is excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

charming hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: soft calming music played outdoors, next to organic cafe,close to restaurants,comfy beds,great shower!
Cons: internet in the rooms
Location: galleries and good restaurants close by
Great location, in town,charming garden and staff. Internet was not in the rooms, however, but available in the lobby and poolside .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Az.

Two locations.

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Help. Did not leave towels in the room.
Location: FAIR.
WE WERE NOT TOLD ABOUT 2 LOCATIONS. Our room was down the block from office and pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel close to San Jose del Cabo Plaza

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Picturesque hotel, with friendly staff close to the town center.
Cons: Guest internet Wi-Fi access.
Location: Shopping, good restaurants near by, organic farm and restaurant very close it.
Hotel is very nice, rustic with beautiful well kept grounds, clean rooms near the town center. Excellent, friendly staff. Main reasons for not ranking them at a 3.5 star follow. 1. During our stay there internet wireless guest network was not available for three days, this was a huge inconvenience, since we relied on Wi-Fi to communicate with family and friends back home. 2. There is a restaurant adjacent tot he hotel and another one across the street, the restaurants have live music/DJ on the weekends, the music is quite loud and it goes on until 1 - 2 am.