Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Amazing overall, with some possible improvements

Posted Feb 26, 2017
The Pros: Excellent food for an all inclusive. The choice of many restaurants in the resort was astounding. Good quality food, and great atmospheres. Staff were friendly, corteous, and truly cared about the guests. They wanted to make sure we had the best time! The location was amazing. The view was second-to-none, with easy beach access. Whales were literally jumping out of the water right in front of our resort! Lots of pools to choose from, with different settings/moods. Lastly the shuttle service was great! You can call anytime for a free shuttle throughout all properties on the resort :) awesome feature! The con: Organization between staff, departments and guests is seriously lacking. The day-to-day operation of the resort needs improvement, as several occasions we were misbooked for reservations, or forgotten at shuttle locations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Lovely Villa in a Huge Hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Our villa at the Montecristo was perfect, very spacious, modern and well laid out. Having a private pool is fantastic and the view was stunning. Our concierge Jose was very helpful and responsive and our housekeep Yazmine was wonderful and thorough, she even decorated our room with birthday decorations for my husband's birthday. The larger Pueblo Bonito resort is huge and crowded but the staff is helpful and it was nice to have access to the resort that is right at the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A little bit of heaven

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Great ambience, low keyed but I'm sure you could make it whatever you wanted.
Cons: Food .
Location: Didn't participate
We returned to Montecristo Villas because we enjoyed it so much last year. Weather perfect, villa amazing. The only complaint would be the food. If you are looking for a trip to gain weight on, don't go to this property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wenatchee, washington

Beautiful resort.

Posted Feb 5, 2017
We loved our stay. The resort was beautiful and staff was very friendly. We went with two other couples and stayed in the 3 bedroom villas, plenty of room for everyone. The restaurant were amazing. Took the stuttle to the beach and walked around downtown. Great time and will definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Amazing

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Private villa overlooking the ocean with it's own pool and more square footage than my house. Yeah, felt like king of the world. Great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Great views and villas are amazing. Room service was a bit inconsistent but it's a big resort so they actually have to drive it out with a van. Most of the staff was very friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Great facility and relaxing destination. Rent a car if you plan on doing anything in town on multiple days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Wonderful experience! Perfect time to go as was at a very low occupancy meaning no crowds and no waits! The phase II villa was superb with its private pool and hot tub. Honestly, we never wanted to leave our villa. Room service got things right 95% of the time which I thought was impressive. LaFrieda was good but very slow (however, they were bracing for a hurricane so that may have had something to do with it). Quivera Steakhouse is excellent. It is an extra $35 for dinner with the all inclusive package but well worth it. There is no charge for breakfast and lunch which were also excellent. The free shuttle to rose' is nice; however, if you are taking a taxi from there to do something outside of Rose', you can save time and take a cab directly from Montecristo as the cost difference is minimal but the time saved is great. We caught a taxi after a sunset cruise from the main dock to Rose' to catch the shuttle and then found out that it would have only been $2 more to go directly to Montecristo. Can't wait to go back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Low season- Montecristo

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
The Villas at Montecristo were once again, outstanding. We went the week of the 22nd of August which is the first week of "low" season, so for that the hotel was not at capacity, nor was the staff. It did take longer for shuttles to take us between hotels, and the top notch concierge that we normally get was not as much up to par, and some of the restaurants were not open. However, the pools were not packed and the bars were great. The only thing that we didn't like this year was that they "upcharged" more this year than ever before. For an all inclusive, I get certain liquors being extra( wine, cognacs, etc), but a steak? Overall, we still enjoyed our time there and relaxed.