Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misleading Rating

Posted Jan 7, 2016
When we arrived the room was very smelly and musty which is not terribly unusual in hotels close to the ocean however it smelled worse than most and the first thing we noticed were two geckos climbing on the wall and a scorpion between the bed and the sink. I come very close to stepping on it. The grounds were quite well maintained but the pool was not cleaned the whole week we were there as evidenced by a couple dead geckos on the bottom. There were 3 little dogs running around who were quite and not especially bothersome except for dog poop on the concrete surround of the pool. The walk to the beach is probably close to 1.5-2 mi in hot sun and along busy road without sidewalk some of the time. We were charged for breakfast which was supposed to be included. Finally no room service on 2 of 7 days we were there. I contacted expedia and received email that they try to get back to me in 24 hrs but never did.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Nothing
unfriendly staff, remote and isolated location, mold in the room, the lobby smells like cigarettes, overall cleanliness was disapponting
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Unfriendly industrial area, deceptive information

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: It was a reap off. The owner could easily rent out our room during holidays and penalize us for 1-2 nights instead of "non-refundable" 7 nights.
Location: It is an industrial and unfriendly area with no reasonable restaurants around or access to the beach.
This hotel is located in the industrial area with no access to the beach or reasonable restaurants around: for those you have to take a taxi. We rented it for a week during Christmas/New Year time. We had to agree to a "non-refundable 7 nights" condition as there was nothing else available (Previously we never heard about hotels with a "all-nights-non-refundable" policy: typically, there is a penalty for 1 or 2 days max ). There were a number of problems when we arrived. There was no hot water, promised internet did not work, promised king bed was not there, there was an issue with a locker, and a breakfast was pretty bad. There were other issues including accessing hotel in the evening as there was no staff on duty to answer the phone or open the door (eventually we got our own keys from the back of hotel). We decided to move out the next day and told the manager about it. There was no lack of people looking for hotels during holidays as all hotels were rented out: people asked us on the street if we know about available hotels. We were lucky to find another hotel and moved out next day with understanding that our place will be rented immediately while we likely to be penalized for one or two nights. We don't know if our old place was rented out but after we moved out we found out that the owner decided to charge us a full price for all 7 nights. The advice for you: avoid this hotel and never, never, never agree to a non-refundable-all-nights policy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from v

very quiet place. rooms just ok

Posted Jan 2, 2015
the place is like a motel. no bar no place to eat. it's far from everything. the pool was nice. I would stay.there again. staff of 3.they were ok. if you don't. mind walking far to every where. ad like no one around then stay there. it's not that bad for the price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lesley from Vancouver, Wa

Nice place bad location

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Roomy, beautiful pool and yard.
Cons: Just wish we had had a realistic picture of the distance to attractions. That is no one's fault but our own.
Location: Cabo, bus ride to St Maria beach for snorkeling, long bus ride to San Jose-but worth it.
Positano Hotel is a charming hotel, with a very nice owner. Rooms were large, had amenities and were comfortable.The grounds are lovely and would make a nice setting for a reception or party. However, it is located right on the freeway-and the noise is constant. It also if too far from any attractions to get to quickly. It requires either a bus ride-which is pretty easy, but costs every time or at least a 30-40 minute walk (to get to Cabo attractions or beach). We spent a great deal of time walking and really wished we had rented a car. If you are getting a package deal that only costs a few more dollars a day for a car-go for it. One little tip-there is a charming Mercado a block or so down the road that has two ladies that will cook for you to order at a very reasonable price. We had them make us a torta and they wrapped it up so we could go to the beach for the day -it only cost 40 pesos, a great deal and the ladies are very sweet. You can pick up water and other snacks there or walk to Walmart which is 1+ mile away.
1 out of 5
by Bob from Michigan

Careful using Expedia for reservations

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: Didn't stay
Cons: English speaking
Location: Didn't go
I wasn't informed that the reservation could not be changed until after the reservations was made. I thought I made a change to the days but it didn't go through. I was stuck with a reservation that I couldn't use and was out the entire amount since I couldn't change the dates. Expedia wouldn't change the days and the hotel would not either and could barely speak English.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by john from chicago il usa

Simple , Quiet and reasonable...

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Recommend ? Would depend who`s going there and why ?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rudy from California

Great Cozy Hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2013
Pros: Pool
Cons: Distance
Location: Very busy road located by Walmart and other small shops. Go Cart Racing Next Door.
Very Clean Well Kept Hotel Friendly Staff. About FIve Minutes or So From Downtown Caboif using the bus that stops across the street, and drops you off right in front of the hotel when coming back. Nice pool,AC Works Amazing,Satalite T.V.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Seattle

Great people and beautiful place

Posted Jan 2, 2013
Pros: Having fun with the guys
Cons: nothing, Im not that hungup
Location: Great Taco place a half block away and a short walk to town
Love the place, Vito John and David are first class human beings. Helped us out what ever we needed and where fun to just hang with and talk the world. 100 precent pleasent place to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from Prestwick, Scotland

You will love the tranquility, beautiful sunsets!

Posted Jan 9, 2012
Pros: Loved the friendliness and Vito's cooking! The sunsets from the balcony were stunning.
Cons: There is a highway at the rear - so some traffic noise (you quickly get used to this) However this also means that you have a fantastic bus service!
Location: On the edge of town which was perfect for us!
This hotel is a perfect oasis of tranquility, just a 20 minute walk from the main drag it is perfectly located for those that want peace away from the bustle and hawkers in Cabo! Hotel is extremely clean and comfortable, Vito the owner is very proud of the gardens and maintains them daily with obvious pleasure. Jonathan helps with everything and cannot do enough to make sure your stay is as pleasant as possible. Vito cooked for us on several occasions and it was lovely to have a home cooked meal. The facilities in the room (cooker/utensils/microwave) were great especially for those times that we only wanted a simple snack, although there are places to eat nearby (and very good & cheap too) We used the buses to get around, very cheap, frequent and from the hotel door, .....no need to use taxis (expensive for such a short distance) I would especially recommend this hotel for couples who like my husband and I really don't like being harassed constantly to buy stuff we don't want! here you can relax and just enjoy! Loved it and cannot wait to go back again. Vito has a special birthday 6/3/2012 so go and celebrate with him. Thanks to both Vito and Jonathan for an amazing holiday.