Ratings based on 804 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in San Lucas Cabos

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Everything! The staffs were amazing, rooms were big and clean. SO many restaurants to choose from and eat. Great view of the beach
Location: Beaches are close, 10 min drive to downtown, shuttle takes you everywhere
Beautiful resort with so much to do and explore. Foods were fantastic and so much to choose from. Beaches are nice and the shuttle takes you everywhere. Will definitely come back again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach - Jan 2017

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Views, food, service, cleanliness and appearance of the resort.
Cons: La Nao buffet is very lacking when compared to equivalent resort buffets.
Location: Quick taxi to town for $15, or there is a free shuttle to the sister resort (Rose) from which you can walk into town. No shortage of things to do.
Pros: - Each room has a beach view due to the resort being constructed into a mountainside. Excellent, postcard views from EVERY location. - Food at most restaurants is excellent. The Bistro is great for your every day. Tazuno was excellent for dinner. -Service at the bars/poolside was above par. Clearly influenced by your ability to tip the servers $1 or so every order. If you don't tip anything, and order tons of things, you will get slower service. - The rooms and grounds are well-maintained. This is a "nice" resort. We were not expecting the level of elegant features,etc, nothing was run-down looking. Cons: - You cannot swim in the beach at the Sunset Beach location.. It is not "inadvisable" or at your own risk, you literally cannot get in the water due to guards on the beach because of the undertow. This may be a deal-breaker for some. - It was not an issue for us; however, because the resort is very scenic and on the mountainside, you will be walking up steep hills, or taking easily accessible shuttles to get anywhere. These are very easy to access, we never waited. - La Nao Buffet was average food every time we went. Not enough meat/major options to eat, just tons of dry pastries and sides it seemed. - Individuals will try to sell you things while you eat at the Bistro. We are in our late 20's so were not hassled as much, but this is just distasteful. I understand the want to sell timeshares/activities, but why when you are trying to enjoy a restaurant?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was great!

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Excellent! Beautiful view. Friendly staff. Nice restaurants. Worth every penny!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Posted Jan 21, 2017
We had so much fun! Beautiful hotel! Beautiful grounds. Very nice staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from temecula ca

Non season stay

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Luckily we didn't go during a busy season. I can't imagine how much longer we had to wait for a golf cart to take us from one place to another. But overall we had a good stay. The buffet could be better and the room sheets and pillows were not so clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Very nice and big but almost too big for me. You have to take a golf cart everywhere because it's so spread out. Beautiful private beach but can't swim which is a real bummer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from californis

WOULD DEFINITELY GO BACK!!!

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING!!! I was hesitant about an all inclusive but the food was great! It is also a nice touch that they have a chapel open everyday.
Cons: New mattresses. Also, stay away from the wine. Not the quality we have in the US.
Location: Walk on the beach, enjoy many pools, stop by the chapel for personal reflection, get a crepe or ice cream at the end of the day!
We booked the all inclusive through expedia and got a great price. Further expedia honored their price guarantee when it was posted the next day for $500 cheaper! This resort is amazing! I would recommend getting the 1,000 square foot room. We had a private balcony, two queen beds, and a pull out bed in the living room. It is actually a bed you pull out of the wall versus a flimsy one to unfold from the couch. Staff are amazing and attentive. Love the Sky Pool. Quite a party every afternoon with drinks galore. Again, do the all inclusive as water alone is $8 a bottle and you can reach the $100 per day pretty quick. We love the new market that opened in December 2016. Went for an amazing cappuccino and chocolate croissant every morning. La Nao breakfast buffet is great too! Our favorite was the Mexican restaurant at the market. We also took the shuttle to the sister resorts but they are not as exquisite as Sunset Beach. Also, you can't swim on the Pacific Ocean side but we sure enjoyed morning walks on the beaches that were pristine!! The only reason I didn't give 5 stars on the room was the bed was too soft - but maybe we are spoiled with a temperpedic. You can't go wrong here - we will definitely be back!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful views of ocean , except.....

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Great restaurants and lots of choices, great views, rooms were updated and clean, room service was excellent, gym was great.
Cons: Check-in took too long, buy more pool towels!!
Sunset Bonita is a great hotel for active families and couples. We stayed during the busiest time of the year, Christmas to New Years and it was too busy. Pools; too crowded and you had to get up very early to get a lounge chair. My biggest pet peeve is the reserving of the lounge chairs and the lack of enforcement about the rule of "not reserving" lounge chairs. The property is very hilly and large so you have to take golf carts to get from one end to the other. To the staff's credit, if you call, they will come in less than 5 minutes, but it was 5 days of constant disneyland-ish rides with other guests getting from point a to point b. We purchased the all-inclusive, which was great during the day, but we ended up paying a surcharge to eat dinner at the premium restaurants as well as premium charges for drinks, cabanas, exercise classes. Overall, our family had a great time but it is not as relaxing as we would have liked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: The property is immaculate. Every staff member is extremely friendly. The food was incredible. There was a nice variety of restaurants to choose from.
Cons: There could be more shuttles into town. It seemed like there was always a waiting line.
Location: We stayed on the resort except one trip into town.
The property is absolutely beautiful. Be aware that it is on a cliff and there is opportunity for great cardio exercise to get around. There are shuttles that transport those who do not want to walk. The beach is gorgeous, but you are not able to swim there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

All Inclusive Comfort, Beach, and Fun

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Sunset Beach is a wonderful resort for adults as well as kids. The food is yummy and there are lots of activities available (such as tennis) on the grounds. I like that it is a large resort; however, because of the size, patrons have to be driven in golf carts to their destination. Sometimes the carts took a while...that is my only complaint. Other than that, I highly recommend this resort!