Ratings based on 5,323 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

GREAT EXPERIENCE

Posted Mar 25, 2017
There thing is so convenient u never have to worry about anything food, drinks sun and towels are all right there! Can't wait to get back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice older hotel, great pools

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Plenty of pools and seating around pools. Sports bar pool tables, ice hockey tables. Living music in the evening.
Cons: Electronic keys, add elevators to buildings, add bathrooms around pool areas, more staff for dinner rush, new Asian restaurant chef.
Location: Town is not far, taxi will cost about $15 each way.
Stayed for 5 nights and overall hotel was decent. The hotel is very large and lots of walking involved. No elevators in most of the buildings so be prepared to walk up with your luggage up and down stairs. Hotel also seemed to be on the older side. The food was okay but they seem to be short staffed and it takes forever to get a table for dinner at specialty restaurants. Evening entertainment was nice, minus the night of opera. The pools are great with the exception that there are no bathrooms close by, I had to use the bathroom in my room as it was closer than the two available. The pools were great with enough seating and shade. If you plan on going down to the beach, there is no shaded beach chairs. Rooms were clean. Sports bar had pool tables, ice hockey, and foosball tables to play. Overall, hotel was decent for a few nights but I wouldn't stay here for an entire week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Clean Resort

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: I liked that this Hotel is very safe no one is to enter the hotel without a bracelet. There are many bars at the quads. Plenty of pools and restaurant
Cons: The food can be improved. Being that it is Mexico I would love more authentic Mexican food.
Upon check in you are greeted with a cocktail, everyone gets a towel key (they are very anal about the pool towels) so don't lose that towel key. When you walk into your room the bar has 4 bottles ready for you to start drinking. They mean when they say All inclusive. They have a few pools. the ones at the center of the resort are to relax, drink, play a game of Volleyball. The pools by the beach are the "fun" pools. They have a few restaurants that open at 6 pm daily that have a variety of different food. The posole was my favorite. The concierge was helpful and helped us plan our excursions. The security there I have mixed feelings about. The beach is right by the "fun" pool. You can lay out and take pictures at the beginning of the water. They have tons of vendors there. Over all I would stay there again or try Riu Palace as it is right next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Felt safe
Cons: Would be nice to have coffee pots in the rooms
Location: Location great
Had a great time! Felt safe! Sometimes got noisy at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great pools, great view on the beach

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: The rooms were very nice and clean. The staff was friendly.
Cons: The food
Location: We mostly stayed on the resort, but the location was close to downtown with many fun bars and clubs.
Everybody at Riu was very friendly, we enjoyed our stay here very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Should of went a week earlier it was spring break, lot of college kids.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Stayed here for four days for our 10th anniversary & had a really good time. The hotel itself is very nice, it's huge & in a very good centralized location. The grounds are clean & there is lots to do so you don't even have to leave the hotel. There is entertainment, food, drinks etc. The pools are amazingly!!! There is a huge one in the middle of the resort with a swim up bar, the second one is an infinity pool overlooking the ocean, both are great. They have activities for kids & adults everyday at the pools. The food was okay, We mostly ate at the Baja California hotel, food was very good. The food at La Misión was just okay, not too many options. The service was excellent, everyone was extremely friendly. A few cons.... First I wish they had some type of food/ service out by the pool/ beach area. When we were at the beach we had to walk all the way back to the pool bar for drinks. Another thing, vendors set up right on the "private beach" obstructing the beautiful view. I'm all for the vendors, I know they're just working, but maybe they should have them set up on the side of the hotel rather than right in front of the lounge chairs. Lastly the wifi was HORRIBLE, couldn't get any service. It wouldn't be such an issue but I needed to get my flight confirmation & it was almost impossible, wasted about 2 hours trying to figure this out. Overall a really nice place, the cons were minor & we had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel on beach

Posted Mar 14, 2017
This hotel was beyond my expectations. The staff was amazing, location was great, and view beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Great hotel. Beautiful pools.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Close to town. Hotel staff is very friendly. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas - Hill Country

Nice hotel, helpful staff.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Went at the beginning of spring break, 4-11 of March 2017. All was good with the exception of the college kids being too loud at all times of the night and early morning like 4 to 6 am. The hallways echo and the screams just travel loudly, very loudly. I'm sure any other time would be close to perfect. Skip spring break time, fishing is not the greatest at that time anyway. We got lucky to catch the biggest dorado in 3 months though. That was great! 👍🏻