Ratings based on 1,045 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Posted Feb 4, 2016
All excellent- we are glad we chose Solmar Resort!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west coast

Close to beach

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: The hotels next to it
Cons: Lots!
Location: Many
Bugs! Under construction. Noisy! Not good! Inflexible to guests!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Great place to stay! All staff is extremely helpful and happy. The only all inclusive I have been to where you order from a menu and not the same boring buffet every day. Food is great! Pool is heated! Comfortable beds! Will go back next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, Ca.

Can't get enough of SOLMAR!!!

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Love the small home like feel with exceptional service
Cons: The coffee cart sets up really early and backs up to the bedroom area of the rooms next to it. Pretty loud machines that could be disturbing to some.
Location: Such a nice easy walk into town or a quick run to get your day going. Beach is beautiful like always. Very quiet.
This was our second stay at the Solmar and I booked another all inclusive stay for four us. Unfortunately, under my error with a passport problem with my daughter, she wasn't able to go. Never less, we made the best of it, and the front desk folks and concierge Nubia were very nice and did a room upgrade for all of us. They even moved my Mom from a ground level room with barely a view to a very nice studio with a excellent view of pool and ocean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Great experience.

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Staff and location.
Cons: They are working on the the new entry to the hotel.....once completed it will be great!
Location: Sit on the beach. Watch the sunset. See whales at a distance. Good place to surf fish in the early morning and evening.Great place to go in the winter
Great location. Sat on the beach and watched the sunset every evening. Walked to the Marina daily. Great staff. Amazing grounds keeping staff. Very quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Solmar staff, always fantastic

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Customer service and location to the private beach. The Grand Solmar is beautiful but we like the smaller feel of the Solmar Resort better.
Cons: Maybe freshen up the rooms a bit but I guess that will depend on what they are planning on doing with the resort, long term.
Location: Walk in to town is only 10-15 minutes where the action is. Short taxi ride to Medano beach for more fun and a nice swimming beach.
Even though the Solmar Resort is getting a bit aged, I like the feel of this smaller resort compared to the Grand Solmar or Playa Grande. I've been coming to the Solmar for 16 years and have great memories of the resort when it was just the white buildings. My parents used to go there in the 80's and is how I learned of it. Lots has changed since then, but what hasn't changed is the great people that work there. Some folks have been there at least as long as I have been coming there if not longer. Both Jose's at the Bar Trebol are fantastic. They make it fun and entertaining mixed with great service. Susana who was at the lower pool literally always had a smile on her face and customer service to match. Everyone at the restaurant was great as well as the front desk. From the moment we arrived to the day we left we felt welcomed by everyone. That made our stay very enjoyable. Not sure how long the Solmar Resort will be there before it gets swallowed by its sister the Grand Solmer, but we will come back for sure as long as the little Solmar Resort is there. :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Boring, and swim in beach, doing construction

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Friendly staff, affordable rate, great view from room, close to Grand Solmar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2016
the hotel is very clean the staff is very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Lovely hotel, on beach close to arches

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: The staff/ location/ food/ pools.
Cons: The info given at checkin, was too vague, regarding how the all inclusive worked. More info should be provided as we felt lost at first and awkward.
Location: The location was just a short walk along the beach from the arches and a 15 minute walk to the harbor for all the local tours.
We had a wonderful time. Our room was a little dated but very clean and the bed was super comfortable and we had great sea views, watching whales playing. The food was amazing in all restaurants. The location was just a short walk along the beach from the arches and a short walk to the harbor. The pools were lovely, especially the one right on the beach with the swim up bar. The best part of the whole resort was the staff. They were super friendly and attentive and helped us practice our Spanish during meals, which was a lot of fun. Their fun and great attitude really made the whole vacation for us. Will definitely be back! Excellent value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff is the best!

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Overall for price it's amazing. All inclusive really good food at restaurant. Francisco and Susana at pool side were awesome! Would definitely come back.