Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty, but disappointing...

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Location, pool and "hacienda" feel -- Not a highrise resort.
Cons: Rooms need an upgrade and better ventilation. The mildew smell is very strong.
Location: Great location, in the old downtown, 20 minute walk to the beach. Shopping, hanging out in the historic district, lounging by the pool!
This is a pretty hotel with a nice pool and great location if you want to be in the historic town. However, our room smelled terribly of mildew. The hotel is located very close to the sewage treatment plant, and in the heat, the smell was at times overwhelming. The staff was indifferent -- not rude - just indifferent. For the price we expected a more comfortable, update facility.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great central location in Old Town

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Location and charm of outdoor area.
Cons: New bedding and mattress
Location: Near Plaza with lots going on. Much history and interesting buildings. Nice coffee shop/restaurant with outdoor seating facing the plaza. Location
Bed was terrible, lumpy, very heavy comforter in a cover that was hard to move and was dirty. Room very hot and humid. There appeared to be a/c but no way to turn it on. Used ceiling fan and opened window which helped but then very noisy. Many barking dogs in early morning. Room was clean and bath nice with good space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
The hotel was charming. It was hard to find the parking, specially in the dark. The restaurant was over-prized.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Great location in downtown San Jose. Charming boutique hotel with Mexican charm
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton Alberta CanadaThe Centre

The Heart of San José

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Everything about this hotel and restaurant is amazing quaint and quite and location bar none right downtown San José The restaurant has the perfect patio for breakfast lunch or drinks and a beautiful dining room for dinner with top choices for food There the perfect pair
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for our needs.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Great location! Lots of great restaurants including their own (Tropicana). The beach is about a 15 min walk down the main drag. Great pool. Relaxing. Would go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Very pleasant, quiet

Posted Feb 13, 2017
In the heart of town-great places within walking distance, lots to see. No view of the Sea of Cortez or the ocean, but within walking distance. I will return to the Tropicana again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Beautiful and great location for local activities!

Posted Jan 31, 2017
The hotel had a very wonderful ambience. I felt like we were in the amazon due to all the trees, birds, and friendly cats roaming around! Our first night there was a live band playing in the restaurant area. We enjoyed that a lot! The food and service was extraordinary! The location of the hotel was perfect. We didn't want to be where all the young tourists were. We got a good feel of Mexico! For some reason we never had hot water for showers and the rooms were very very echoey. We could hear people in rooms around us easily and in the hallway. But, I'd definitely stay at the Tropicana Inn again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Pool was awsome
Cons: No hot water for for 6 of our 8 day stay. Not good.kept being told by hotel staff it's being fixed but never was.
Location: Lots of restraints and shopping nearby
Nice location-restraint was good but no hot water in our room for entire stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo, ca

Authentic setting, old hotel style but up to date

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Clean, really comfy beds, nice authentically Mexico decoration, not the typical modern snotty resorts that are too purvasive in Cabo. Quietly tucked.
Cons: Nothing! Keep it just the way it is!
Location: Inside the historic district of SanJose del Cabo, you can see the old mission and plaza from the front door. But quiet, lovely and beautiful.
This is such a "hidden" gem, though it's easy to get to from anywhere you want to go. Darling little authentic hotel in historic town of San Jose del Cabo. It's got a fabulous bar and restaurant, patio dining, great food and free breakfast that makes it the BEST value around. Quiet, beatiful garden and pool area. TOTALLY reccommend it!