Ratings based on 719 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ely, Mzn

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Very comforting experience. We were able to relax and enjoy the beautiful weather and all it's glory. The staff ... each individual ... went out of their way to be accommodating. We will look forward to a return trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario, canada

Quaint and comfortable

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Great location, beautiful views, small and quaint.
Cons: An honest description of rooms.
Location: Short jaunt into Cabo San Lucas by car/taxi. Pretty much need a vehicle to explore the area.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 10 night stay at the Welk Resort. The staff was friendly and helpful. The resort itself provides an exceptional view of the Bay of California and the magnificent rock formations in Cabo San Lucas. Lounging by the pool was very pleasant and often, whales could often be seen breaching off in the distance. It's a short drive into Cabo San Lucas and not so far from Cabo San Jose which we visited almost daily. Renting a car is a must if you want to explore the area Inexpensively, but beware of the car insurance scam........do your homework before renting. We would definitely return to the Welk. Our only disappointment was our room as we were led to believe by the description on Expedia that we would have a Deluxe One Bedroom with a full kitchen and although we were provided with a one bedroom, the kitchen was not a full one with a small two burner cooking top, more of a studio one bedroom in our opinion. When we questioned the reception staff they explained that the description on Expedia was misleading and that the room we expected was actually called a Premier One Bedroom......just a minor complaint as I love to cook!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Friendly staff. Beautiful setting.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Enjoyed our visit. Great view. Thought restaurant prices were high though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Hutch F. , Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your first stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa City, IA

Families with little kids loved it

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Laundry and kitchens and the ocean!
Cons: Some maintenance and better door locks
Location: Whale Watch Cabo
We stayed at Sirena Del Mar for 5 days in January 2017. Our friends vacationed with us in their own unit in building 3. We booked an ocean view room and that's what we stayed in. We were on the ground floor building 1 (I think). It was perfect for us, great view of the ocean and now gap in the balcony glass which made me feel Bette as a mom of a mischievous toddler. We were close to the pool but the noise didn't really bother us, we're pretty noisy ourselves. The pools were great. The smaller one was typically a little warmer so we stayed in there mostly. We used the hot tub one night- it's very big and nice and warm. The fire pit was great too. We mostly cooked our own food in the morning kitchen or on the grills that are open for use- we had rental cars and ran to Walmart and Costco (super easy, we rented with Cactus). We did eat at Estrella a couple times. The food was good, the service/organization a little lacking. The beach is down a long staircase so don't forget anything but remember you have to carry everything back up too. Also, as others have mentioned, the sand is very chunky and could cut up your feet so bring water shoes (Walmart only had a few sizes left when we were there so maybe buy before you come). The beach is nice in that it is private so no one is trying to sell you stuff. Also, if you stay to the left by the big rocks the sand is much softer. The hotel has beach chairs, umbrellas, and snorkel gear to rent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Hutch F., Hotel Management
It is great to hear your family enjoyed their visit here at the Welk Resorts. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the highlights and details provided on the resort activities and features.The on-site activity information you included is great. It sounds like your family really took advantage of all of our resort amenities and activities.Thank you for the highlights and feedback from your stay. We look forward to your return visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cordova, CA

Great time

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Everything was great except the bed way to hard to sleep on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Hutch F. , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional experience!

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Immaculate resort, beautiful grounds, spacious and stylish rooms, excellent food and service.
Location: Massage services on site, quick 10-15 minute drive to downtown for restaurants/night life/shopping.
My husband and I visited in January, 2017 for our two year wedding anniversary, and we couldn't believe how amazing Welk Resorts is! The staff is extremely professional, respectful, kind and fun. They were helpful anytime we had questions, needed a taxi, or asked for recommendations in town. They were always quick to greet the guests with a smile and "Hola!" or "Buenos Dias!" The resort is very clean and we could tell the staff works hard to maintain the look and cleanliness of the grounds. The food and drinks at the restaurant and bar were amazing! We didn't feel like the hotel was being cheap with alcohol or food, you get what you pay for at Welk. The food was cooked to perfection each time we ordered, and the quality was wonderful. We loved the atmosphere of Welk and the style of the hotel. This was truly a beautiful experience and we will be back with friends in the future! The staff and service were excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Hutch F., Hotel Management
Happy Anniversary! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed celebrating such a joyous occasion with us. I am happy to know our staff took such great care of you and provided excellent service. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return stay with friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely resort with beautiful infinity pools

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Loved the access to a swimmable cove with nice snorkeling
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Hutch F., Hotel Management
We appreciate your review. I am so glad to hear you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you again for some more snorkeling!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

overall good experince

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Good hotel, quiet and relaxing. Good for families. Food options are bare, but one can go shopping at Walmart and cook/grill. (Unit has kitchen and washer/dryer). Our room stated ocean view (technically true), but more of pool view. Gym was great and was all up to date. Great and friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stillwater MN

Nice place - Perfect location

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Loved the location, private beach, activities, pool, fire pit, and exercise facilities
Location: Ten minutes to downtown Cabo... Perfect location!
Beautiful views - whale watching from the pool! Beautiful, clean accommodations with very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Location, pool, views, staff and facility - beautiful
Cons: drink prices; some of the activities were a bit 'cruise ship' in nature; keep the kids in the kids pool
Location: need to take a car or taxi to get out and about - we had a car so did not explore walking options
Hotel is close to downtown but far enough out to be quiet. Beverages very pricey. Need to have a car or take taxi to get out and about - not much in walking distance. Facility is fabulous - excellent pool - beach access a short walk away.