Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's a Motel 6 it was OK

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Location and cheap
It's a Motel 6 it was OK. The location had many places to eat and close to the highway
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very pleased that our property suited your needs so well, and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back for another great stay the next time you're passing this way. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Double charged

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Dire need for upgrades
Despite the pre-payment made via Expedia the desk clerk insisted on charging my credit card . Since it was 10:30 pm and I was dead tired I had no real alternative but to pay twice then and to dispute the charge via my credit card company once the bill is received.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Brand Experience Team Member, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred during your recent stay with regard to your reservation and the inconveniences you experienced. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.
3 out of 5
by John

Shabby

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
Room not up to the standard of 2 previous stays
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by brand team member, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant stay you experienced. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Department so we have a record of your experience to help us provide you and other guests with better service in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Nice room for the price

Posted Aug 31, 2017
The room was small but nice and clean. It had a refrigerater and microwave and wifi
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, we're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. There's nothing better than knowing that you've found a clean, comfortable place with great in-room amenities to stay during your travels. If you're ever in the area again, we'd love to welcome you back again. Best wishes, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
by Michelle

Awesome

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
The staff is awesome nice and clean updated
4 out of 5
by Te-Feng

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Cecilia

Satisfied

Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
The room was small but very cozy I stayed two nights and I have nothing to complain about.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SoCal

If You Really Have To

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: The convenience to the highway and to Denny's for breakfast.
Cons: Provide training on customer service and cleaning to your housekeeping crew.
It's a Motel 6 - so you get what you pay for. No frills, just the basics. The cleaning staff were pretty rude, and don't do a thorough job. We checked in very late and the person who checked us in was helpful and cheerful, the person who checked us out was the exact opposite. At least have the courtesy to return the hello and have a good day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Your experience does not describe the type of hospitality that we want to provide for our guests at all. We apologize for any rudeness that was aimed towards you, and we are sorry that you did not have a wonderful impression of our service. We appreciate your business and your feedback, and we would love to welcome you back for better service in the future. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lost hills

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This hotel room was so bad we chose not to stay even though we prepaid for it. The room smelled like urine. Was so bad we decided to drive the 3 1/2 hours home in the middle of the night. Wouldn't recommend this to a homeless animal
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very disappointed to read your review. The room that you were offered does not appear to have been sufficiently aired prior to you checking in, and we sincerely apologize for this. It is a real shame that you didn;t allow us to show you another room - we are quite sure that you would have been happy with is. We are sorry that you chose not to stay with us. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by mary

Lost hills motel 6

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
Bedding wasn't clean and impossible to get on wifi.