Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford England

Nice owner but tired accommodation

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Very pleasant and helpful owner
Our room was tired and needed bringing into the current era. Charming owner who was very attentive. Breakfast was OK but served in a very cold room. Not much sound insulation between rooms so perhaps a blessing few other guests as we could hear someone snoring in another room. Overall a poor rating due to the hotel facilities which are dated and in need of updating
5 out of 5
by Jane from Peterborough

Warm welcome

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels
Warm welcome! Situated on a small roundabout,parking across road, which I can imagine too small in high season.Hotel a little tired looking but would be an excellent stop over in summer.Pretty patio and swimming pool.Breakfast very good,best cup of tea in France!! Excellent and friendly service
5 out of 5
by Luc from London

Lovely place to spend a week.

Posted Jun 21, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed here for a week to attend a friend's wedding. Fabienne was very welcoming, provided us with a map of the town and some recommendations for restaurants, even offered to give us a lift back if we got lazy.There's a supermarket and a pharmacy a couple of minutes walk away and the town centre is about 10 minutes walk. The hotel itself is very quaint and well maintained and the pool comes in very handy for a dip after a hot day sightseeing. The Hotel Puy D'Alon has a garage and I would recommend having a car to explore the wider area. Hair dryers, irons etc. are available on request. The only improvement I can think of would be to have a kettle in the room but admittedly we didn't ask.
4 out of 5
by D &M from Canada

A nice little hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2013 on Hotels
We enjoyed the stay at the hotel. It is located in a place close to all the places we wanted to go. The manager was very nice . She gave us advice to where to eat each night and the restaurants she suggested were excellent.
5 out of 5
by dave from cornwall

Excellent 3* hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2013 on Hotels
Located a longish walk from the centre of Souillac, but convenient to drive anywhere locally, and not far from the A20 motorway. Parking is just over the road, and there is garaging that you can pay extra for, but why bother? Very friendly and helpful owner, and the kids loved her dog - a 10 year old Bernaise Mountain dog, I think. Room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean, and serviced every day. Had breakfast on just one morning, very nice, typically French, but a bit pricey at 21 EUR for me and two kids. Made do with stuff from the supermarket after that. There was an outside pool that looked nice, but in April it was empty - far too cold to use anyway! I've no hesitation recommending this hotel and it's ideally located for touring round the many brilliant sites of the Dordogne and Lot regions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lizzie from United States

Quaint and Charming Hotel!

Posted Apr 9, 2012
This is a sweet hotel in the Dordogne River valley. It is an old French building and has the coziness of a bed and breakfast. I felt like I was staying at my Grandma's house. The real gem was the hotel owner/keeper. She was a very sweet and hospitable hostess. She even offered to carry some of our luggage up two flights of stairs. ( there is no elevator). The location was good....only 20 minutes to the best stretch of the valley. Breakfast was the typical French bread and hot drink. But the dining room was just adorable. I really recommend staying here if you want a quaint French experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire, UK

Hotel Puy d'Alon, Souillac

Posted Jun 14, 2011 on Hotels
Firstly, the welcome was a good start. Throughout the stay, Madame was enthusiastic and helpful. The location was about 1km from the town centre; except for the occasional traffic noise, the hotel was peaceful and quiet. The room was a little basic, but with en suite facilities. It was kept scrupulously clean and the bathroom linen was changed daily. The main disadvantage of the hotel was the lack of a restuarant: this meant a kilometres walk into town for a meal followed by a kilometres uphill walk back to the hotel each evening. There was free parking by the hotel and free parking in the town centre. In the town, there were a selection of good restuarants. Overall, compared with many hotels I have used in France, the Hotel Puy d'Alon was good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Charming Family Hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2010
Beautiful little family hotel in French style. Nice garden and swimming pool and very friendly staff. Room is very nicely furnished and comfortable. Parking outdoor is no problem (free). Breakfast (continental) is provided for extra charge. Very beautiful village. Internet connection can be weak in certain areas of the hotel. Well recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bon rapport qualité / prix

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
En WE pour une rando VTT. Accueil chaleureux de la responsable de l'hôtel qui nous a bien conseillé pour les restaurants du village et qui nous a proposé gracieusement 2 garages pour ranger vélos et voitures. Petit déjeuner copieux et varié, néanmoins l'hôtel reste vieillot et surtout sans ascenseur .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AUREILHAN 40200

je suis déçu

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
la patronne de l'hôtel très gentille à par çà deuxième étage, chambre mal isolée, petite piscine, les wc dans la salle de bains.