Ratings based on 434 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, ME

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: More fun than standard hotel. Black light in bathroom makes brushing your teeth more interesting. Good coffee and ergonomic desk chair. Friendly staff
Cons: Dead bolt on my door didn't seem to work. Would prefer a chain. Had to wait long time for front desk staff to appear for check out.
Went for short business trip. Enjoyed dinner and walk through museum afterward.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A little gem

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
This was a business trip but my wife came with me. I found it on Hotels.com and it was a very good find. The hotel is a museum, though we are not crazy about contemporary arts. But it was entertaining and amusing. The neighborhood is great. Many things within walking distance. Wish there were a walking tour map highlighting restaurants, points of interest, transportation etc. Louisville is getting to be a big city so the prices for everything (including hamburger) are high. After all you are in the downtown. The hotel has many amenity, including bath robes. But one nice amenity was a big umbrella in the coat closet. Only seen in a very few places. A nice big desk to work on. Bed was very comfortable. Ate breakfast twice in the restaurant. Service was wonderful.We walked out of a coffee shop just one block down because of a poor service and went back to the hotel. We have choices in many franchise hotels but we've tried this one and we did not regret. If you don't have a loyalty program (we do at an elite level), you might want to try this one. You might want to try this one anyway, even if you like franchise hotels.
5 out of 5
by Fernando

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016
Thanks Fernando! 5 out of 5! Hope to see you back soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

A night in Louisville

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Pros: All the art
Cons: Breakfast, though delicious, was a tad slow.
My husband and I stayed on our way to Florida. Took a short walk before dinner and saw lots of baseball bats and a lovely little park. Before leaving town we drove through part of the historic district.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2016 by Eric Metzger, Hotel Management
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's wonderful that you got to experience Proof on Main and some of our lovely surroundings while you were here. We look forward to having you back again soon!
5 out of 5
by JOHN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2016
The hotel was absolutely beautiful. It had a very historic artsy vibe with a modern twist. The room was extremely large and very clean. Room service was great and reasonably priced. The staff was amazing and super knowledgeable when it came to the events and tourist attractions around the city. I cannot wait to go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2016 by John, Hotel Management
Leah! We can't wait to have you back! Thank you for the review, it is so great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff loves to hear positive feedback, so we greatly appreciate your comments. See ya soon! John Higgins Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntington, WV

Perfect location for the arts

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: The public art spaces and the staff's friendliness.
Cons: Valet parking price is a bit stiff.
Stayed at 21C during the January 2016 blizzard and couldn't think of a better place to be snowed in. Surrounded by art and walking distance to restaurants and the Actors' Theater, this contemporary hotel is Louisville's hippest yet most unselfish-conscious gathering place. My wife and I were moved to witness a group of docents taking several developmentally-challenged adults through the art spaces. Both the workers and their charges seemed to be delighted.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2016 by John, Hotel Management
Paul! You survived snowmageddon! Thank you for the wonderful review- I am so glad that you could bundle up with us through the storm! Your comments about the staff's friendliness are much appreciated- our team strives to offer the best experience possible to each guest. Can't wait to see you again- hopefully in better weather! Best, John Higgins Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by Joni

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Dale from Lexington

Great for a new experience

Posted Jan 15, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed the museum and all of the differences in experience that this hotel provides.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2016 by John, Hotel Management
Dale, Thank you so much for staying with us, and for the great response! We hope to see you soon! Best, John Higgins Front Office Manager