Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointed

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Upgrades in rooms are not that great. Upon entering side entrance to go to second floor we were overcome with the smell of cigarette smoke. Hallway and stairwell carpeting is very dirty. Rooms were just ok. No elevators. Pool did look nice but entrance to pool is directly in front of front desk. I would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice sleep

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: room and bed were great
The bed was very comfortable and had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was nice to have in the morning, it hit the spot before we got back on the road.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newville, PA

Terrible Smell Throughout Hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: I liked that the Hampton Inn was feet away and was a wonderful place to stay.
Cons: This hotel needs to invest in a large dehumidifier. They also need new carpeting. .
Location: This hotel is about 15min from the Waverly Hills Sanatorium. One of the most amazing experiences of my life!
This hotel was a terrible mistake. We booked our room through Expedia and we had selected a king bed room non-smoking, but when we checked in however, the room had two queen beds and reeked of old smoke and PEE! I went down to the front desk and asked for another room but the clerk said they were all booked up. Then I asked for a refund but the clerk said no and that I would have to call Expedia if I wanted that. Needless to say I didn't end up staying and I seriously doubt that I will get my refund. So now all I have left is an opportunity to share my experience. First off the the clerk was nice and my issues did not fall on her. She greeted us shortly after arriving then checked us right into the room. The first thing I noticed was the pool. The pool is the first thing you see after walking into reception at first glance it looked blue and clean but after studying it for a moment I could see an odd glossy film the covered about 2/3 of the surface and I realized at that moment I would not be taking a swim. The next issue was when we went to enter the building near where our room was located. The door had a sign that said locked 24 hours and to use room key to enter. The only problem was the door didn't shut and it was clear that anyone who wanted in could get in this way. The smell on the way through the hallways I could only describe as mildew and fart. Plus, there was a damp feeling through out the building. Good recipe for mold. The room, like I said, was not what
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice pool but rude staff and a stinky room.

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Our family needed an overnight stay on our way home. Pool was its only redeeming factor. Our room had a strong odor that my husband and I smelled all night long. My bed left me with a backache all the next day. Breakfast was a bad experience. All I wanted was coffee, but it tasted like it had been warmed up from the day before! Not even drinkable! A staff member started putting things away while our two young daughters were fixing their breakfast, so they had toast, but no butter; cereal, but no milk, and no silverware, etc. While they searched for what they needed, asking me to help, the staff member ignored us and kept putting things away. I didn't even want to ask her for anything because she knew what she was doing and was not at all friendly. (Meanwhile her own small boys were happily finishing their breakfast at another table.) We ended up going to a restaurant for breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, IN

Reasonable price, reasonable accommodations.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Indoor pool area was very beautiful, although a rather small pool. Hotel staff were friendly. Complimentary breakfast was exceptional! Good bargain??
Cons: We received 2 towels in our room and had 4 guests. When we asked for more towels we were told that there were none clean :-(
Location: Expo Center and Kentucky Kingdom very close.
Booked through Expedia for very reasonable price. Check-in and check-out processes very easy. Indoor pool area was very beautiful, although a rather small pool. Hotel staff were friendly. Very small hotel. Complimentary breakfast was exceptional! Good bargain for sure!
3 out of 5
by Barbara from NC

Disappointed

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
The room could have been larger as well as the bathroom. The sink vanity was way too small. The check in clerk needs to be familiar with what restaurants are close by, she had no clue.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Rude, unhelpful owner/manager

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: The lady who worked the front desk was very pleasant, despite the obnoxiousness of her boss.
Cons: Thoroughly clean the rooms that are designated as non-smoking.
Location: Right off interstate, about 15 minutes outside Louisville
The manager/owner was one of the rudest people I've ever dealt with in the hospitality industry. His response to most things seemed to be "too bad, it's not my problem." But beyond that, my non-smoking room reeked so badly of stale smoke that I woke up with a scratchy throat, and I had to wash every item in my suitcase when I got home - even had to let the suitcase air out in the garage. Only stayed there one night too.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
Hallway smelled of cigarettes, room was comfortable. Overall hotel was average. Will not return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2016
Very comfortable. Nice pool. Carol from the front desk was so helpful.