Ratings based on 827 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london, ky

Worth the money

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Older hotel that's been remodeled, but very clean and staff was wonderful!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Comfortable room & good breakfast

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: The free breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold items and was self-serve so you could eat all you wanted. Bed was comfortable. Free parking.
Cons: The bathtub faucet dripped. I reported it but it didn't really bother me. The price was a little high.
Location: The hotel is near a busy shopping area with lots of restaurants and stores. I visited an interesting book store.
Stayed for two non-consecutive nights within a week, both times in the same room. On one of the days I was allowed to check in early, which was convenient since I was going to be busy for most of the day. The room had a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker, which was nice. Wifi was available and my laptop worked without difficulty. The hotel has a small pool, but I didn't use it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dearborn, MI

Lack of "Accessible" Features, Among Other Things

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: It was geographically handy to both of our destinations.
Cons: See my experience comments. Hotel needs a renovation, and vast improvements for adding accessibility.
Location: Being roughly 8 miles from the Louisville Metro area, it's very handy. Lots of nice restaurants in the area.
Our stay at the Sellersburg Ramada was brought about by a death in the family, therefore negating any possibility of reserving a room far in advance. While the room was clean, it completely lacked anything akin to accessibility, which is what we requested from Expedia when we booked the room. The desk clerk was apologetic, but could offer no help. Moving to another hotel was not an option since there were no rooms because of a number of events in the metro-Louisville area. The room itself was not outstanding by any measure. My wife is recovering from hip surgery, and has limited mobility. The bed stand is so high, that she couldn't get into it, and ended up sleeping in a chair both nights. If this Ramada is an example of other hotels, they have a long way to go. With older folks traveling more, accessibility should be the norm, and not the exception. Bathrooms should have grab bars and step-in showers as a rule, not an exception. Beds should be of a height that makes it easy for anyone to sit down on the bed, not have to climb up. The tub offered no real gripping surface for the feet, and it was very "springy", not solid. Breakfast was so-so, with nothing special of note. The hotel is well-worn, needing a renovation, and adding accessibility to a large majority of the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice hotel close to expo center

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Great staff and clean rooms breakfast was also good only complaint is pool wasn't very clean
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Dirty old hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2016
This is an old hotel with limited parking. The elevator was dirty and the paint chipped. The room smelled terrible. It seemed clean but when you look at the baseboards in the bathroom, there was rot in the woods trim. The paint job in the room was sloppy. I just felt uncomfortable in the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2016
location to work was good but parking a bit difficult due to construction
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ont. Canada

Exactly what we needed.

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: All of the above
Cons: It was being upgraded while we were there.Should be even better.
Location: Location was good. Safe area with lots of restaurants close by.
This hotel was just what we needed on our trip from Canada to the gulf coast.Good rooms,staff,parking and breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expedia Never Again

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: Jacuzzi. Breakfast (fresh scrambled eggs, hash browns, french toast, premium sausages).
Cons: Details of the relationship and responsibilities between Expedia and Best Western.
Location: Mega Cavern
Clean room, convenient location, excellent complimentary breakfast, nice pool and Jacuzzi. Bathroom lighting was a little dim, but overall a good value. However, except for the good fortune that another guest left a down-grade room unexpectedly, it could have been disastrous. The cheerful check-in clerk asked for the number in my party. Having noticed the sign on the wall saying failure to inform of pets would incur a $$$ fine, I enumerated the four of us including my dog, even though I had included the pet when talking to the Expedia representative. The formerly cheerful clerk at that point turned dour: "We have no pet-friendly rooms left." I definitely had explained about the dog during reservation time, and the Expedia person, despite having insufficient English language skills for a customer service job requiring detailed telephone interaction in English, definitely understood because he in turn informed me of, and charge me for, an extra $$ per day pet fee and $$$ pet damage deposit. In the good old days, the concierge would find a nearby room on the double. Not so in the modern-day, so-called "hospitality" industry. It was in their view no problem to turn a family out in the street to search for accommodations. At night. After ten hours travel. In an unfamiliar city. And get this: They didn't think it was a problem to still charge me several hundred dollars for the room the hotel could not provide! My take-away: Expedia. Never. Again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Livonia, MI

Posted Feb 28, 2016
We stopped here traveling from Nashville back up to Michigan and it was by far the nicest hotel we stayed in on our whole trip! Lovely hot tub, comfortable rooms, lots of dining right near by and an awesome breakfast situation in the morning. Couldn't have asked for better!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude employees & smelled like smoke

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Not a good experience, I will not stay at this hotel again! We had to switch rooms because the nonsmoking room smelled like an ashtray! The employee was super rude about it then the room, wouldn't open, so we went back down to tell him that. Before we said a word and w/o even taking off his headphones he snapped,"we have no more rooms available with your specifications". If your gonna work at a hotel front desk, learn some freakin manors!