Ratings based on 757 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016
It was just a get away for me and my husband plus to see my sister in the hospital
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by John S. , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to send in your review, we do hope you and your husband had a great getaway and that your sister is recovering. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simple and convenient

Posted Sep 13, 2016
The location to the airport and expo center is extremely convenient. Given the location to the airport the hotel was quiet and expo center was in walking distance or the hotel shuttle would deliver you. The bar and restaurant at the hotel both had good menus and the food was much better than the typical things you would expect. The only issue was the bar and the restaurant had different menus and it they made it difficult to get something from one place to another. The staff was extremely helpful, the hotel price was reasonable, the shuttle to the airport and expo center made life easier so overall it was an excellent experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by John S. , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We appreciate all of your kind words about our staff and we will be sure to share with the entire team! Our restaurant, Blue Horse, has an excellent menu and we are so glad you were able to enjoy it! We definitely have to agree with you on our location; just steps from the Fair and Expo center, shopping, and main attractions! We hope to see you again soon! Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Louisville!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Very nice. Quiet. Nice pool. Clean. Large hole in room wall not fixed. Too many lights on outside room window at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by John S. , Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to comment about your stay at our hotel! I’m very sorry you found the room to have issues, we have repaired the wall so that the next time you stay the room will be in great shape. I hope you come back and see us next time you’re in the Louisville area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Wonderful service and location!

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, cleanliness, location, later check out time
Cons: No improvements suggested.
Location: Fair and Expo Center with events all year.
We chose this hotel due to the close proximity to the Fair and Expo Center. The location is perfect! We enjoyed our stay very much and the staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and very comfortable. We were able to request a slightly later check out time without any issues. I will stay at this hotel every year for the Kentucky State Fair!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by John S. , Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I am glad to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old,stale rooms,made us all 3 weez when we sleep.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: A ride to the fair was great !
My daughter had allergies and need her food with her when traveled.well No microwave in room ! No refergator in room. you have to pay bell hop to get your bags.I can get my own if you let me borrow your wagon thing,but wouldnt let us use it unless we paid him !!! the sheets were like crinkly and like they were like crackley,,,,,,,,,,so with every roll in the bed,you felt like you was rolled in paper.The room was stayle and made our throats weez at night when we slept..it was awful,i will never ever book there again and when you ask the house cleaners for something,they smile and say I dont speak english !!! what ............i dont understand at all,sad for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by John S. , Hotel Management
We appreciate your candid feedback from your stay at the Crowne Plaza Louisville. While we never want to hear that someone's stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve our services. I will be following up with our team as to what happened on this day as this is not the norm. Please accept our apologies that we were not able to exceed your expectations and we hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: New show shine service in lobby
Location: Great location to State Fair
Very nice stay. Nice rooms, great location and attentive staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by John S. , Hotel Management
We are so glad you enjoyed the shoe shine and that they are a huge hit with our guest, have a great state fair week! Let us know if you need anything.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fix the elevators

Posted Aug 1, 2016
My family and I got stuck in the elevator Sunday morning for more than 30 minutes, maintenance was trying to open the door but was very difficult, they asked me to stop at front desk to get a refund, elevator must be check and service more often!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by John S. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments, we are truly sorry that there was an issue with the elevator during your stay, please rest assure we have our equipment serviced on a regular basis and are up to code, unfortunately, unexpected failures do occur and we do our best in this situation to make sure all guest and employees are safe. Thank you
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Not impressed

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: The pool.
Cons: Front desk service with various staff can be more consistence. One of the 4 that work the desk was professional and polite.
Location: Right next door to Kentucky Kingdom.
The service at the front desk was hit or miss. The coffee pot had mold in it and when we told the front desk they did nothing about it. There was no fridge in the room, so we had to request for one. The bathroom floor was dirty and needed to be swept. About the only things that wasn't disappointing was the pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by john s, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the information you have given. We are sorry to hear that you did not receive the experience we want for all our guest. We have given your information to the management team so we can work on the problem areas. Thank you again and we do hope you would return to us in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed during a busy time. The hotel was slammed. It took us about 25 minutes just to check in. The pool was nice, however it was so crowded we couldn't even swim, and neighborhood kids ran through the halls well until 11 pm. However, for the price, the room was nice, spacious and clean. It was just VERY crowded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2016 by John S, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments, we are so sorry that there was a delay at check in, we strive to make everyone's experience a great one and we are so sorry we failed you. We do hope that you are able to return again and enjoy all the amenities we have to offer. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
by Joseph from Erlanger, KY

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Pool was a little overcrowded and loud since it is somewhat enclosed. Good for kids, not great for adults looking to relax.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2016 by John S, Hotel Management
Dear Joseph, Thank you for taking the time to send in your comments, we are very thankful for the great star rating however, we do apologize that you were not able to relax in the pool area. We hope that you are able to return again.