Get an overview of this hotelLouisville hotel in Downtown Louisville, near University of Louisville


Located in Downtown Louisville, this hotel is within 1 mi (2 km) of Ulmer Stadium and University of Louisville. Churchill Downs and Muhammad Ali Center are also within 3 mi (5 km).

Hotel Features

This hotel features an outdoor pool, a 24-hour business center, and coffee/tea in a common area. Free continental breakfast, free WiFi in public areas, and free self parking are also provided. Additionally, a seasonal outdoor pool, a business center, and a meeting room are onsite.

Room Amenities

All 142 rooms offer free WiFi, coffee makers, and TVs with cable channels. Other amenities available to guests include free local calls, hair dryers, and safes.

Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center

Hotel Amenities

Hotel Amenities

Public areas are equipped with complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. This hotel offers access to a 24-hour business center and a meeting room. Guests can enjoy a complimentary breakfast each morning. This Louisville hotel also offers an outdoor pool, coffee/tea in a common area, and complimentary newspapers in the lobby. Complimentary self parking is available on site.

  • Free WiFi 
  • Free RV, bus, truck parking 
  • Outdoor seasonal pool 
  • 24-hour business center 
  • Free breakfast 
  • Free newspapers in lobby 
  • 24-hour front desk 
  • Total number of rooms - 142 
  • Coffee/tea in common areas 
  • Number of floors - 3 
  • Elevator/lift 
  • Business center 
  • One meeting room 
  • RV, bus, truck parking 
  • Free self parking 
  • Outdoor pool 

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Hotel  
  • Outdoor pool  
  • Free Wi-Fi  
  • Cribs/infant beds (complimentary)  


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Free self parking, RV, bus, truck parking, Free RV, bus, truck parking

Room Amenities

  • Free cribs/infant beds 
  • Free local calls 
  • In-room safe 
  • Free WiFi 
  • Premium TV channels 
  • Hair dryer 
  • In-room climate control (air conditioning) 
  • Access via exterior corridors 
  • Blackout drapes/curtains 
  • Air conditioning 
  • Coffee/tea maker 
  • Daily housekeeping 
  • Free toiletries 
  • Television 
  • Desk 
  • Cable TV service 
  • Iron/ironing board 
  • Rollaway/extra beds (surcharge) 
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms available 

Where to Eat

Guests are offered a complimentary continental breakfast each morning.

Nearby Things to Do

Recreational amenities at the hotel include an outdoor pool.

  • Golfing nearby 

Hotel Policies


Check-in time starts at 3 PM


Check-out time is 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children 18 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 10 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!


  • Pets allowed with a deposit of USD 25 per stay

You need to know

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.


Optional extras

The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.
  • Pet deposit: USD 25 per stay
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 10 per night
The above list may not be comprehensive. Fees and deposits may not include tax and are subject to change.

Hotel Name

  • Days Inn Expo Center
  • Days Inn Expo Center Hotel
  • Days Inn Expo Center Hotel Louisville Central University
  • Days Inn Louisville Central University Expo Center
  • Days Inn Central / University And Expo Hotel Louisville
  • Days Inn Louisville Central University Expo Center Hotel
  • Days Inn Central University Expo Center Hotel
  • Days Inn Central University Expo Center

We should mention

Children 18 years old and younger stay free when occupying the parent or guardian's room, using existing bedding. The property has connecting/adjoining rooms, which are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property using the number on the booking confirmation.

Sorry, we seem to have had an issue loading our review content. Try again?
Learn more.
2.3 out of 5
31% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
Learn more.

Convenient location, but unsafe neighborhood

2 out of 5
by from Ohio
Posted Feb 21, 2017
Cons: More serious/believable security guards, considering the neighborhood. Update the décor and televisions.
Location: It was a short trip to both the Expo Center as well as Fourth Street downtown. It was easy and cheap to get an Uber.
We spent three nights at this hotel during the Farm Machinery Show. The hotel itself is very outdated- old signs, outdated tube TVs, old comforters and room décor. The neighborhood was definitely unsafe, and I would not recommend staying at this hotel with children. The hotel did have multiple security guards, however I cannot say that they made me feel very safe. We saw multiple shady characters and questionable situations while unpacking our truck/walking around parking lot. My husband said he definitely wished that he would've had his concealed carry permit. That being said- the room was kept pretty clean. Housekeeping came every day and made our bed and brought us fresh linens and toiletries. The linens themselves were nice and clean and white. Everything was left neat and orderly. Also, the continental breakfast was not too bad.
Was this review helpful to you?

12 9 26

3 out of 5
Posted Dec 11, 2016
Overpriced for amenities and location. Firather room had backup in sink. Second room Okay but could have been more spruced up.
Was this review helpful to you?

This hotel is off the beaten path

1 out of 5
Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Close to the North American International Livestock Expo
Cons: Everything! The interior needs a facelift
Hotel is not really in a good neighborhood. Kind of run down. Lots of problems. Manager is super!
Was this review helpful to you?

1 out of 5
Posted Nov 14, 2016
Very sketchy hotel felt old and dirty and does not resemble the pictures online very disappointed
Was this review helpful to you?

Bad Wi-Fi, Bad Location

3 out of 5
by from US
Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: It's near the University of Louisville campus, which has a lot of things to do! It's also a short drive to all sorts of things in town.
While it says free Wi-Fi, it's very difficult to connect and will disconnect every thirty seconds. My toilet stopped worked, but the staff allowed me to switch rooms next door. I was a little upset that signs promoted eco-friendliness by encouraging guests to hang towels up if they wanted to re-use them the next day, which I did, but each day all the towels were replaced with new ones. It was outside of their control, but their was construction outside so there were jackhammer noises at 2 in the morning. It's also literally right off the expressway, so pulling out of the location is a little dangerous as there isn't good visibility of traffic coming off the ramp. It still has block TVs, but the cable worked fine thankfully. Finally, upon check out, a plunger was lying on the ground next to my car, assumedly from maintenance staff fixing the next door room's toilet.
Was this review helpful to you?

Great location within 15 minutes of Freedom Hall

2 out of 5
Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Good breakfast
Cons: This hotel is overdue for renovations. The front entrance needs power washed and painted. The rooms need complete renovations.
Location: Freedom Hall
Overall good experience. The staff were nice and they provided a decent breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Ron
Thank you for taking time out to give us some feedback on your stay. We are scheduled to do some renovations this fall.
Was this review helpful to you?


2 out of 5
by from US
Posted Oct 12, 2016
Carpet needs cleaned mattress cover was dirty, toilet gave flushing problems, and no fridge or microwave
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Ron
Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your stay. We do clean the carpets every 3 to 4 months and because I have heard this complaint more than once I will talk to the owners and see what we can do to rectify this problem. I will follow up with my housekeeping staff on your other concerns. But once again thank you for helping me to be a better manager. When I get the comments from guest such as yourself it helps me to see things better.
Was this review helpful to you?

Nice room, be careful of location

4 out of 5
by from Greenbelt, MD
Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: My room was clean, staff was nice, good breakfast. Good price during busy convention weekend.
Cons: Location should be taken into account if you are vulnerable- neighborhood not the best.
Location: Not much within walking distance. Close ride to airport as well as downtown, both about 10-15 minutes away.
I had a different experience than some of the recent reviews. My room was clean and was maintained every day of my stay, and the maid seemed attentive to replacing items I had used each day such as coffee and the toiletries. The bed was comfortable and the furniture was fine, definitely older but had a charm to it. The tv was a tube tv but it still worked fine and HBO is included. Those of us who don't read fine print should note that not all the rooms have refrigerators and there are smoking and no smoking rooms, so specify the one you want when you book. I inadvertently got a smoking room but the smell wasn't bad at all, I have slight asthma and wasn't triggered at all. The staff was nice. The breakfast was more extensive than I expected for the price - there was a waffle maker, bagels, toast, cereal, juice, coffee, and tea as well as fresh apples and bananas. The neighborhood is right off the highway - the noise didn't bother me. There are no restaurants in walking distance other than a carry out. There is a gas station and liquor store right across the lot and not a lot of other economic activity outside of an adjacent hotel so it gives the neighborhood a little bit of a dodgy feel - several uber drivers cautioned me not to go out at night. However, the hotel was a good value and was about half the price of other places I explored, so I would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Ron
Thank you for your comments, I know the area doesn't look that safe; however, it is pretty safe. Like every where you need to careful at night and I wouldn't suggest walking the neighbor hood when dark. I would suggest you walk it in the daylight as it has some fantastic homes you would love to see. Central Park and St. James court are only 5 to 6 blocks away from us. Once again thank you for your nice comments.
Was this review helpful to you?

1 out of 5
Posted Sep 20, 2016
Horrible experience. Kids outside playing all night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Ron
I'm sorry you had to put up with the kids outside making noise. I do have security here 24/7 and we should have corrected this before it became a problem. I will get with my security and find out why it was not corrected. Thank you for letting me know about this problem.
Was this review helpful to you?

Terrible noise and filthy

1 out of 5
by from new york
Posted Sep 20, 2016
Worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Walked barefoot in my room and my feet were black. Terrible noise from the highway. There is a gas station opposite with lots of people hanging out and loads of noise at night with trucks coming in and out. All rooms face the highway so no escape. Police were there several times...
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Ron
Jackie, I'm sorry you had problems during your recent visit with us. I assure you the carpet was just shampooed in August right before the Street Rod convention. However, I will check and see if we missed your room for some reason. We do have security 24/7 and try to keep the noise down from the gas station, but there is only so much we can do. As for the police being called I'm not sure when you stayed, but we only call them if it is a situation where our guest is being disturbed by other people and they won't listen to our security personnel. That is when there called and we ask the person or persons causing the problem to leave the property. Thank you for letting me know about all your concerns.
Was this review helpful to you?