Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from extended stay hotel

MY 2 yr old FOUND 2 USED SYRINGES

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
my wife and I were content with our stay until our 2 year old daughter found two used syringes at the edge of the mattress and box springs when my wife called down to the front desk and spoke with the manager he reassured her that housekeeping maintenance checks every single room before they run out. which is total BS how do you mix to use syringes sticking out from the edge of the mattress? and the manager did nothing about it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about your recent experience. I am disappointed to hear that we failed to meet your expectations and that your room conditions did not meet your standards. It is the goal of every team member at this facility to ensure each room is fully prepared for every guest throughout their stay. We never like to hear that we fell short of your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We will train our staff on the proper cleaning methods and on the correct customer service. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed the stay

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: Everything was convenient
Had stove refrigerator microwave in the room was a decent stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am thrilled that we could accommodate your needs with a home away from home experience! I truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our friendly and accommodating staff. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Customer Service At Its Best

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: Location is great. Quiet setting for privacy. Assortment of businesses, healthcare, and retails Variety of restaurants and pubs at a distance
Meeting Staff, at arrival was impressive. The deliverance of 'We are delighted you chose this location' throughout the check-in process. Meeting the Assistant General Manager, Josh Diaz was impressive as well. Doing what great managers' do; 'the leg work', assisting, inventorying, creative suggesting, meeting guests. Great Job! Rating increase is in order.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time share a positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Extended Stay Dutchman. We are glad to know that we were able to provide you with a clean and a comfortable stay. I am glad to know our staff was friendly and you liked our location, as it is convenient to many restaurants, malls, movie theaters and much more. Positive guest comments from our guests certainly motivates us to continue to provide the exceptional services at all times We also strive very hard to accommodate all of our guests and make their stay as comfortable and convenient as possible. We are very proud of our wonderful staff and look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay. Could have more items at breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to see that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was decent just for the fact that we weren't in the room most of the time. When asked if we could have our room serviced they replied "we do not clean until you leave". We agreed but asked if we could at least have the trash removed and get some towels and washcloths. Neither of these things were done. It was an easy check-in and check-out, but that is about the only good service offered. Wifi was decent most of the time, but still slower than most places. We had three decent sized spiders and one cockroach in our room. One of the spiders was on the bed when we first checked in. The other 2 were in dirty corners of the room. The cockroach was heading from the kitchen to the door... He didn't make it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about your recent experience, I am disappointed to hear that we failed to meet your expectations and that your room conditions did not meet your standards. It is the goal of every team member at this facility to ensure each room is fully prepared for every guest throughout their stay. We never like to hear that we fell short of your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extended Stay l

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Staff needs to be clear on directions ie I264 not I64. I went 30 miles out of the way due to their directions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please accept my apologies that you were given bad directions. I'm glad you were able to find our hotel nonetheless. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville KY dutchman lane

Louder than life

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Not to great. Cockroaches in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review for our hotel and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I was very disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our contractor will be contacted to resolve this issue immediately. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.