Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from louisville, ky

Nice hotel but the heat was not working!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The heat was broken in our room and I tried to call the front desk on two different occasions throughout the night and I never received an answer. The next morning I complained and they offered to refund me part of my purchase and took my card. When I look at my credit card account they in fact had charged me twice plus had the original hold amount on my card! I called them multiple times and they finally refunded my card the correct amount but it took a week for them to do so. Not only did I freeze the night I stayed there but it was a huge hassle to deal with getting my reimbursement back. I was not even offered a free stay or a thing least a percentage off of the next time! I still paid over 100 to stay the night there and it was the most uncomfortable stay I have ever had as I was freezing all night long!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from louisville, Ky

Hotel is acceptable but not any reason to make me

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: See above
Location: We only attended a cheer competition.
The room was clean but no matter what we turned the thermostat to, it was still cold! The windows are too thin to block out the constant noise if fire trucks and ambulances. The breakfast was okay on Saturday but ran out of key food (biscuits) on Sunday. They did not replace. Also ran out of bacon. It was replaced after a long wait. No explanation or apologies were given.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2016 by Mary Pat Hartmann, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent visit. I regret you were not able to get the room a comfortable temperature. Our maintenance team will ensure this is addressed. I apologize you were disappointed in the complimentary breakfast buffet. We always strive to anticipate the breakfast rush and ensure the buffet is adequately stocked so that all may enjoy this amenity. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back during the next cheer event and regain your trust. Mary Pat Hartmann General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Clean, but lacking

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: The room was very clean and comfortable and the staff was wonderful!
Cons: The complimentary breakfast really needs to be improved--staff should know how many are in the hotel so there is enough food in the morning.
Location: Seemed close to many things, but had to walk by shops I didn't want to explain to my kids to get there.
The room was very clean and modern. The staff was wonderful and very helpful (gave great ideas of what to go do that night downtown). I was disappointed in the parking (had to pay to park) and the very loud and slow moving elevators. Breakfast was just ok. There wasn't enough room for everyone to sit and most of the food was gone--slim pickings, even in silverware. My family left hungry. The pool was much smaller than the pictures looked and was filled with a football team of kids, so my kids didn't get to experience that either.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2016 by Mary Pat Hartmann, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. We certainly will address the issues you noted so that we can improve the experience we offer our guests in the future. I hope we have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit to Louisville and regain your trust.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to downtown

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Overall experience was good. The only thing was the breakfast. There were so many people that they ran out of stuff pretty fast. Front desk guy Charles was helpful. Pointed in the direction of what was going on for the evening. Facility was nice and room was clean and comfy!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2016 by Mary Pat Hartmann, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us at the SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown and for recognizing the service provided by Charles. I regret your experience at our complimentary breakfast was disappointing. We have addressed this with our team so that we can provide a better experience going forward. Mary Pat Hartmann General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Weekend getaway

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Our room was a studio so we had plenty of space. The motel staff was helpful and friendly. It was in walking distance of many attractions.
Cons: The only improvement I would suggest would be the parking. The spaces were very narrow and they could use more of them.
Location: We went to the Louisville Slugger museum, Frazier History Museum, 4th Street Live, Trolley Tour, Jim Beam and William Evans Distillery, & Dinner Det.
My friend and I had girls getaway in Louisville. We were both impressed with this motel and had a fun long weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2016 by Mary Pat Hartmann, Hotel Management
Dear Linda, We are pleased you and your girlfriends stayed as our guests during your recent girl's weekend in Louisville. Louisville has many more wonderful treasures to discover, so come back and visit us soon. Mary Pat Hartmann General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Overpriced for what you get

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Location: Yum center ...downtown
Making it simple from a guys point of view. Breakfast was decent...room too small and no privacy in bathroom if you travel with family. Staff wasn't friendliest. Clean. Paid two hundred for a Sunday night stay...too much. 15 bucks to park. Tv small. Not impressed. Better value down the road a bit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2016 by Mary Pat Hartmann, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and found the hotel clean. I am disappointed our staff service fell below expectations, as we take great pride in delivering memorable service to our guests. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to Louisville and regain your trust.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from US

Great location and welcoming staff

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: Safe, walking distance to fourth street live, waterfront park, and the health campuses of UofL.
I chose this hotel because of its price and proximity to the University of Louisville school health centers. I was pleasantly surprised by how close it was touristy areas of the city. I checked in around 12pm, and the process was smooth. I was given a room on the 8th floor with a beautiful view of the city. The room was clean and comfortable. I went to Louisville for an interview, and needed to leave my luggage with the hotel until the afternoon the day that I checked out. They stored it for me without a problem, and I was able to hang out in their comfy lounge after the interview until I had to leave for the airport. I had a really pleasant experience and would definitely recommend the hotel to others. I
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2016 by Mary Pat Hartmann, Hotel Management
Dear Liuvis, Thank you for sharing your experience at the SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown on Expedia. We greatly enjoy hosting our U of L guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Louisville.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice and reasonable.

Posted Nov 2, 2016
We would definitely stay again. The price was very reasonable for being downtown Louisville , rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, The breakfast was very good, but needs to be bigger to accommodate 2bldgs. There was a line.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2016 by Mary Pat Hartmann, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you for sharing your comments on your stay at the SpringHill Suites. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Celebrating our anniversary

Posted Nov 1, 2016
The room was very relaxing and comfy! We enjoyed our stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not worth price paid.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Within walking distance of convention center and stadium.
Renovated room. Bed was ok, I had a more comfortable bed at the Econo lodge down the street. Shower faucet was loose from wall and there was a dirty washcloth in tub. Mini bar had dirty fingerprints and streaks on counter. Bed did not appear to have been changed, wrinkled as if slept on in middle of bed. We did not notice most of this until the next day, as we left after check in to explore the city. We had selected Springhill over Galt House as it was rated higher but for the price, wish we could've changed .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Mary Pat Hartmann, Hotel Management
Dear Kate, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Marriott takes great pride in our tradition of excellence and you should expect it at all times. I sincerely regret we failed to deliver such to you on your recent stay. I am very disappointed that your room was not up to our cleanliness standards, as our housekeeping team routinely receives praise from our guests. We will address this immediately. I do hope we have the opportunity to host you on a future visit to Louisville and regain your trust. Mary Pat Hartmann General Manager