Ratings based on 708 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

Elegance and oozing with history.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
The Brown Hotel was a return to the time of elegance but with all modern amenities and conveniences. Staff was attentive. Dining was excellent. Room was large, well appointed and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville

Right in the heart of historic downtown Lousiville

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Had the feel of a hotel you would stay in the Gatsby era but with the updated amenities of today.
Cons: Maybe a little pricey for a long stay but for a getaway romantic weekend not bad.
You are close enough to walk to more GOOD restaurants than you could possible eat in a months stay let alone a getaway weekend like we did. You have the 4th street live area for drinks, food and entertainment but can also walk to the Palace, Center for the arts, actors theater as well as the Yum Center. You can also visit several museums or take in a Bats game. All of this plus one of the most lush hotels anywhere. Definitely a MUST STAY!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Receptionists are not friendly.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Facilities are elegant.
Cons: Education of staff.
Location: The Location is nice facing S 4th street.
It seemed that they didn't show welcome to guests through check-in or check-out. Also they didn't offer any assistance of baggage. I've heard that The Brown Hotel is the best hotel in town but I think it's gone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bowling Green, Ky

Excellent in every way!

Posted Sep 4, 2016
We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our lunch in the cafe.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautifully restored & charming

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Beautiful artwork, architecture and detailing
Cons: Ventilation in the rooms and/or the removal of the carpets to remove the musty smell
Location: In the heart of downtown, the hotel is a quick walk from South 4th Street Live, restaurants, the water, the Slugger museum and two bourbon experiences
The Brown Hotel has a rich history dating back to the 1920s, which they've preserved and maintained beautifully. The ornate detailing throughout the first flower, lobby and mezzanine are a testament to their pride in the hotel. The room was also beautifully decorated and comfortable. My only complaint is that it was a bit musty in the room, and my husband and I had to keep the AC on all day/night to help control the smell. We totally understand that it's an older hotel, but were disappointed by this aspect. Otherwise, it was a great stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by Brad Walker, Hotel Management
Dear Meaghan, Many thanks for your nice thoughts on our location, rich history and ornate setting. Please let me know when your travels bring you back our way and I’ll reserve a nice room for you with the freshest scent you have ever experienced. Hope to have you back soon. Regards, Brad Walker Vice President & General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Update to VIP Access Review

Posted Aug 10, 2016
I just wanted to say that I was able to complete the best price guarantee claim through the Expedia gold rewards customer phone service and they handled my issue promptly and even provided an additional coupon to my account for the issues I faced with their system. So my trip was now five stars on all levels! Thanks for clearing up this issue and making us frequent travelers a real priority! The Brown Hotel was great as I alluded to in my other review. I just thought that my last review needed an update and couldn't think of another way to amend it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in town, no doubt!

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Was excellent in every respect, incredible decor, brilliant rooms (including the immaculate Muhammed Ali suite) and wonderful staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Brad Walker , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thrilled to read your comments. So pleased to hear you enjoyed our very special Muhammad Ali suite, dedicated by the champ himself, who used to stay with us for many years. Hope to have you back with us again in the future. Regards, Brad Walker Vice President & General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ky

Great hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Great hotel near everything, great service, really enjoyed stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Brad Walker, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Pleased to hear you enjoyed our service as well as our location downtown near all the attractions of Louisville. Hope to have you back with us again in the future. Regards, Brad Walker Vice President & General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wilmette, IL

old world beauty not one bit faded

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: the elegance, the history, the southern charm kindness of the staff.
perfectly lovely old world charm without the faded-ness that sometimes makes grand old hotels a bit of an "adventure." the staff could not be kinder.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Brad Walker, Hotel Management
Dear bam, Many thanks for your nice thoughts. Appreciate the comments on our building but it’s the “staff could not be kinder” that is really special to us. Hope to have you back with us in future. Regards, Brad Walker Vice President & General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, Ohio

Central Location, True VIP Perks

Posted Aug 1, 2016
I visited Louisville over the weekend as a quick little trip just to peruse around downtown. There are a lot of shops and the Palace Theater within easy walking distance of the Brown Hotel. As an Expedia Gold rewards member, you are upgraded to the club floor, which is a REAL perk. They have a very nice evening reception with appetizers, beer/wine, and even dessert! The breakfast is also fairly decent. The wifi here is the best I've ever experienced in a hotel. Expedia still hasn't honored a best price guarantee on my stay yet, which is the only sour note, but I'll keep plugging away at that until they do (word to the wise, the Gold customer service line and email service is a complete joke!). Otherwise, the hotel was outstanding and all of the staff were kind and went out of their way to assist you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Brad Walker , Hotel Management
Dear Veronica, Thrilled to read your review and many thanks for the 5 stars! Appreciate the good thoughts on our location in the downtown. The upgrade to our CLUB floor is a great reason to be an Expedia Gold Rewards member! Hope to have you back with us again soon. Regards, Brad Walker Vice President & General Manager