Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

my favorite downtown hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2017
went for louisville on tap, we love this hotel, it is always perfect from check in to check out
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Always enjoy staying here, beautiful historic hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, Ohio

Great local tri-state getaway spot even in Winter!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Club level amenities, historic preservation, staff
Cons: Given the age of the building, it's probably not possible, but sound dampeners or thicker doors for the rooms.
Location: Frazier Museum, Muhammad Ali Center, Slugger Museum, Brown Theater, Palace Theater
This is my third time staying at the Brown and I always leave impressed with the staff, facilities, and overall historic grandeur of the hotel. This is also one of the standout VIP hotels I've been to through the program offering a complimentary upgrade to a club level room, which provides breakfast, snacks and drinks throughout the day, and evening appetizers. I was upgraded this time to a King suite with a couch and decent view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ATL

Classic lodging

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Always our choice when traveling to Louisville. 6-10 times per year. Nothing better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from FW Indiana

Very nice restored historical hotel.

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Wonderfully restored building with great history.
Cons: Continental breakfast that was included with the "club" rooms was a disappointment. Save the extra money and get a regular room and buy breakfast.
Location: Within walking distance of most of the downtown attractions, (Hard Rock Café, 4th Street Live, great restaurants, etc.). Wonderful view of downtown.
Spent two nights exploring Louisville. Definitely worth another trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Stephanie C. , Hotel Management
Dear AMXtogo, Many thanks for the 5 stars and good thoughts regarding our central location to all the Louisville attractions. Please let me know when your travels next bring you to Louisville and I will personally check on our club floor selections and guarantee you find value with club. Hope to have you back soon. Regards, Stephanie C.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Little Rock Arkansas

Neat

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: heat and air
Location: right down town close to everything
The ambience of the hole place is great. The food was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Stephanie C., Hotel Management
Dear Allen, Thank you for the thoughts following your recent stay. Appreciate the note about out great location, close to all the activities in the downtown. I was not clear regarding the note on your heat and air. Please allow me to handle your reservation when your travels next bring you to Louisville and I will block a nice room and ensure you have superb heat and air in your room. Hope to have you back with us again soon. Regards, Stephanie C.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Hotel staff very welcoming, room was very large and clean, will stay at the Brown when I visit Louisville again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Stephanie C. , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Many thanks for the 5 stars. Delighted to read that your room was large and clean. Please allow me to handle your reservation when your travels next bring you to Louisville and I will block a nice room for you. Regards, Stephanie C.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from little Rock Arkansas

Bugs

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Hotel was beautiful
Cons: If they got rid of the bugs It would be a great Hotel
Location: The hotel is right downtown in LouisvilleLots of things to do Lots of places to eat
My bed Had bed bugs They offered me another room I refused Because I was worried about It having Bugs Also They offered me All my money back But still 2 Days Later They have not refunded my money I left At 1:30 in the morning And drove 260 miles back home
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cincinnati

Affordable luxury

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: The ambiance. The decor speaks to the hotel's history. The wonderful staff at every level. The food at the English Grill restaurant.
Cons: It would have been nice to have a comfortable chair in our king room.
Location: The Palace Theater is right next door.
We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay. This hotel has elegance and luxury to spare. The staff were attentive and efficient. There is a refreshing attention to detail (think hot cider and hot chocolate at check in). Our room was well appointed and immaculate. The only thing missing was a comfortable arm chair. We will definitely return to the Brown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by Brad W. , Hotel Management
Dear Joan, Thrilled to read your nice thoughts on our décor and wonderful staff. Please let me know when your travels next bring you our way and I will reserve a nice room for you and ensure a comfortable chair. Hope to have you back with us in the near future. Regards, Brad Walker Vice President & General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Kentucky Bourbon Trail

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: The architecture, the room size, the bar.
Cons: Not at this time.
Location: We went on the bourbon trail which was fun, Close to Bardstown road which has a hipster vibe with a karaoke bar.
We went to Kentucky for my husbands birthday. The hotel was beautiful with great architectural detail. Super cute. The rooms are big and clean. There is a cool old wooden bar in the lobby which is always fun and brings you to the era when the hotel was created. They serve apple cider and hot chocolate in the lobby in the afternoon which is needed in the cold months. If you plan to drink the bartender in the restaurant makes a spicy bloody mary which was great fix for a wild night out in Louisville.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by Brad W. , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Pleased to read that you so enjoyed your visit and a “wild night out” in Louisville. Thank you for the nice thoughts on our big rooms. Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance on a future visit. Hope to have you back with us soon. Regards, Brad Walker Vice President & General Manager