Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good experience with one exception

Posted May 28, 2015
Location: Easy access to Dublin airport
This B&B is in a quiet residential neighborhood. The room was small. We were not offered the use of a lounge area. The sunroom where breakfast was served was very nice. The one negative is that they billed our credit card for the room when the reservation was made but did not inform us that they were doing so. We felt this B&B was slightly over rated and over priced for it's location.
1 out of 5
by Patricia from Yorktown, Virgina

Orley House Fiasco

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels
Orley House is in a residential neighborhood., We emailed the inn Keeper to say we would be getting to the Inn around 6. When we arrived, the owner did not seem to be expecting us. Once he realized we did have a reservation things went better. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was good. The bathroom had a leak in the ceiling a dripped water on us when it rained the last morning we were there. The big problem we had was that despite the fact that the reservation said we were to pay in euros at the Inn, we were charged on our credit card the day before we left. We had gotten in late from dinner the our last night and left early for the airport so we did not want to wake the owners, so we left payment with the keys in the room. When we looked at our credit card bill, we saw we had been charged. We immediately emailed the owners. After multiple emails with no response, I contacted hotels.com. I have had no response from them as well. We have had no response either confirming or denying $150 was found in the room with the key. Common courtesy from the owners or hotels.com would be some type of response. I would not recommend staying at the Orley House. I do not trust the honesty of the owners.
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth from California

Over night again & again

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels
This was my second time staying at Orley house. This time it seemed that they had done some upgrades, very nice, clean & very friendly. Had a lovely sleep, a nice breackfast & some conversation. I will return to this B&B again. My sister had a room too, she says the same. Nearby town of Droghrda & New Grange very interesting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland Canada

Friendly staff and nice patio.

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Great place, nice people. Close to Black Bull with excellent food. Some shopping close by.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halifax, Canada

BE CAREFUL.

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Looked great from the outside.
Cons: If you have a confirmed reservation, it should be a sure thing.
When we arrived at their door, the man said that they were over booked, and that our reservation was canceled. They said that for some reason Expedia cancelled our reservation. They said the country club hotel had room available. It is not a nice feeling being in a foreign country and not having a place to stay. When we arrived home Expedia assured us that in was Orley House that cancelled not them. So, be warned, your reservation may not be guaranteed at the place, even if it is confirmed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Dublin Stop Over

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: The room was very nice.
Cons: Answer cell phone, possibly update the ensuite.
Location: Location was close to a restuarant (Black Bull), but about 20 minutes walk from Town.
We wanted a place close to Newgrange just before heading back to Dublin to fly home and Orley House was highly rated. After booking with Expedia, we arrived at the B&B to find only guests at the house. Although super friendly, they could not give us our room. We waited about a half hour, then the hosts arrived apologising as they had gone shopping and proceeded to check us in. The room was great, ensuite was a bit dated, but had all the necessities plus a few extras like a robe and toiletries. Breakfast was good in the morning and our host ensured we had quick and easy directions to Newgrange. All in all a good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2015 by Brenda, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Check-in time is from 2.30pm, we do make every effort to allow early check-in if possible. As we did for you as it was early morning when you arrived and a room was made available in 30 mins for you. We do need to go out and shop and do other things and this is done in the morning time. The other guests you mentioned were already checked-in as it was their 2nd day with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and breakfast and trip to newgrange.
3 out of 5
by Patricia from Canada

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels
The 'free' breakfast was very misleading...it says 'free continental breakfast' online, but when we got there, the host gave us breakfast forms to fill out, telling us we could choose one each, and not making it clear we would have to pay extra for them. There was no continental option to check. So just make sure you're clear. Other than that, it was comfortable and clean, and the host was , friendly. Be prepared that is just a little corner house in a residential suburb.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2014 by Brenda, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Continental breakfast was clearly stated on your booking. Also clearly stated on breakfast menu in your room that breakfast from the menu was free of charge. No charge was made for the breafast you all had. I have since changed the wording that Expedia have on the website and breakfast is free to all, nobody has ever stayed andnot had a breakfast. Up to 9 options on a menu to choose from. and a full buffet of fresh fruit , cereals, yogurts, drinks and breads. Even if you wanted a light breakfast its available to everyone with a choice from the menu. This is also on the menu you had I think your" little corner house "is very misleading also we do not have a little corner house.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meget imødekommende og pænt B&B

Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels
Det var et behageligt ophold og ejer varmeget hyggelig og imødekommende. Der var næsten for pænt til en familie med mindre børn, fordi der var hvide duge på bordene og glas på stilk til morgenmaden. Dog var der kun positiv indstilling til familiens mindste. Morgenmaden var god. Men det ligger temmelig langt fra selve byen, vi kunne ikke gå ind til byen med barnet.
5 out of 5
by meta from uk city of culture 2013

a great hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Pros: breakfast
good location very helpful and attentive staff excellent breakfast choice very peaceful area for a good nights sleep
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2013 on Hotels