Ratings based on 1,472 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Lovely Crown Plaza ... Lovely

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Enjoyed every moment of the stay! Excellent experience! Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Great place to spend the weekend. Great wineries, chocolate and cheese factories. Take plenty of money as you won't be able to resist buying the great products.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Great place with bad food

Posted Jan 13, 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the resort with the exception of our dinner at the resorts fine dining restaurant. I can not remember the last time I have had such a shocking overpriced meal ever. My wife had the special some 30 hour slow cooked piece of beef that was cold to the point that the fat had congealed. I had a $43- piece of steak that I wanted medium but came medium well and again was cold. My meal came with a green salad which was about 6 pieces of mixed salad leaves with a tiny bit of vinaigrette splashed on it and 2 cherry tomatoes. My sons chicken breast was charred over cooked dry and cold and my daughter had spaghetti that my wife said just the smell of it was disgusting. The best part of the whole evening was the kids ice cream. Should have had dinner at Harrigan’s pub where we had lunch the previous day, 100% better food for less than half the cost!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Busy this time of the year!

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: I thought the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly
Cons: The shading and seating around the pool. Also our villa had a complicated air conditioning system and the TV sound was out of sync with the picture
Location: Obviously the wineries are nearby, the golf is an attraction and why we were there and the cheese and chocolate shops.
We chose an extremely busy time to stay at the Crown Plaza Hunter Valley and therefore it wasn't the best time to stay and use the facilities - ie the pool. We have stayed before and had a wonderful time, thoroughly enjoying the whole stay but we did not find the pool and it's surroundings as crowded, as congested and as noisy as we did this time. The staff however were excellent, approachable, polite and focussed on assisting us wherever or whenever they could. I doubt you could find more dedicated and friendly staff anywhere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Incompetent check in time

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Cons: check in time!!! should be followed please on specified time unless requested late check in
The place is very nice. However, we are very very disappointed with the check in time. Check in time said 3pm and we arrived in the place at 2pm to let them know we are in the place already. The receptionist said she will let the room cleaners know that we are already there so they can fix the room quicker and they will give as a call. So, alright we went near the pool to wait-it was alright to wait until 3pm because we came in 1 hour earlier. After about 1 hr and 15mins no calls recieved so i tried ringing their reception twice but no answer. So i went to the reception again to ask whether the room is ready but still not. they gave us voucher for complimentary drinks but thats not enough.We had to wait again for another one hour to finally to go to the room. We travelled 2 hours to get in there and has been driving around the place while waiting for the 3pm check-in time as said on the website but the room was not ready until 4:30pm. we just wanted to rest as we had two people coming from night shift and 1 child, plus the weather was scorching hot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Had a leak in the kitchen however staff were all over it, offered to move us however I didn’t feel the need.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

no cocktails on nye after 10.30 ..... .??

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Okay for families but not for couples that want relaxing weekend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Family resort in the Hunter Valley

Posted Dec 24, 2017
A capable hotel that caters well to families. Good buffet breakfast, spacious rooms, great swimming pool. The fluffy toy gift on arrival for each child was a nice touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, Australia

Spacious villa with great views

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: Plenty of space in villa room. Outside balcony and parking out the front of villa
Cons: The price of breakfast. We didn't get it in our package, but if it was cheaper, would have definitely considered it
Location: Lovedale. Hunter Valley Gardens and Bimbadgen Estate close by
Staff upon check-in and check out provided outstanding service. Got an upgrade at check-in which we very much appreciated with a small baby as well. Villa room was spacious with plenty of room to walk around. Balcony with a view was a bonus. Hotel was close to a lot of attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Lovely hotel with an amazing pool

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Pool area, hotel grounds, golf course, the drink dispensers around the hotel.
Cons: Nothing, we had the perfect stay
Location: Central location of the Hunter. A lovely restaurant and bar on site for when you have returned from a tour and cannot drive out for dinner.
Wonderful hotel grounds. Helpful staff members. Plenty to do on site. Very clean rooms. We had a wonderful stay and will certainly be back to laze around that stunning pool so more.