Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Coast NSW

Madigan Vineyard Barn House

Posted May 28, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: comfortable and welcoming
Cons: couldn't fault it
Location: central location to all major wineries and attractions
Cabin was clean , tidy and well appointed ...very close to popular wineries and other attractions ...overall a great stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gosford

close to the wineries

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: stayed in the homestead
Cons: nothing
Location: wineries
Stayed in the homestead on the property with friends and had a good time because we are all together in one location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

A peaceful location in the heart of the Hunter

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The quietness and location to most of the wineries.
Cons: See above comments
Location: Great location and can recommend breakfast at Oscars and dinner at Blaxlands Inn.
A quaint cottage but in need of some TLC. Cobwebs hanging from the wooden beams greeted us as we arrived late afternoon but it was lovely set out with the loft bedroom being a favorite. The animals that visited us was a bonus especially the horses! Any tips offered would be to rectify the stove top, only one burner worked, which made it hard to cook for 4, and not enough serving dishes in kitchen, and also no champagne glasses, it was a special occasion for us and did not taste the same out of wine glasses. We had a great weekend and can recommend it for short stays.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Tired fittings and fixtures

Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Wotif
Rules and regulations were a hassle. It felt like we were being monitored by big brother. Overall it was a pleasant stay the furniture and fittings were tired. There were no onsite staff only a telephone contact
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Urunga NSW

A bit shabby and run-down, poor administration

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Handy location. Was available on a weekend when the area in general was heavily booked. A lot of space around each cabin. It has a barbecue
Cons: Urgently needs some maintenance and a proper administration or customer contact system.
Location: All the well known Hunter Valley attractions are easily accessible by car.
Administration is haphazard and dysfunctional. The phone number given only gets you to a messaging service, and the promised call-backs are very hit-and-miss. There is no reception and we never saw anybody associated with the place, which meant that payment was just automatically taken from my Mastercard, without specific authorisation and with a 2% surcharge above the quoted price. We would have avoided this by paying cash if anybody came near us or told us about the surcharge. We had a bit of trouble finding and getting into our room on arrival, so we had to ring up and wait for a call-back, which fortunately came pretty quickly on this occasion. Madigans is not a working vineyard or winery - it is basically some cabins in a paddock with some long neglected vines. The Barn/loft cottage is basic and comfortable enough, but it is tired and run-down and too expensiive for what you get. Maybe that is just a function of the area, which is extremely popular. The "for lease" sign out the front hints that the establishment might be in a state of flux. The deposit taken and total cost ended up higher than those quoted on the Wotif booking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2015 on Wotif
Great area for kids. Plenty of room to play outside,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing quiet but central location

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: The location is great. Separation from other cottages makes it very private. Car are parked just outside the cottage.
Cons: The green lounge is very uncomfortable - feels like you are nearly sitting on the floor. It provides no support. The other lounge is very comfortable
Location: Visit the wineries and try the delicious cakes and tarts at Sabor Dessert Bar which is on the same road further to the east.
The owner rang prior to our arrival and provided details for our arrival and access to the cottage. Everything was perfect when we arrived. Beds made up as requested. Lovely fluffy towels. Settlers cottage is perfect for up to 6 people. There is only one bathroom but the toilet is separate which is handy if someone is in the shower. We enjoyed sitting at the table outside in the sun. The reverse cycle air conditioning heated the cottage sufficiently for us but it was not very cold weather. The lounge room is really only set up for 4 people to watch the TV at once.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wollongong

Great for families/groups

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Wotif
We travelled with some family friends and this was a fabulous place to stay! Plenty of room, especially the loft area which was huge - a great place for the kids to play and hang out. Very clean and tidy. Furniture could've been a bit more comfy (eg lounges were very low and not as supportive as I'd imagine when they were new), but definitely adequate. Overall would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tamworth

Madigan Australiana Cottage

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: View, heating, beds.
Cons: As detailed in Write about your experience.
Location: We did a 3 hour wine tour in a 1958 Cadillac limousine from Hunter Valley Cadillac's, it was amazing.
Upon arrival surprised to discover no reception exists, had to deal with cleaner who was still cleaning our cottage and told us to return an hour later. No cellar door at this vineyard. Cottage was comfortable but needs maintenance on minor things like door hinges, torn blind, bedside lamps not working, noisy spa running 24/7 with no instructions to turn off, no window coverings on large main front window that looks into dining/lounge area. View was gorgeous, the heating very effective and the beds extremely comfy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable group accommodation

Posted Apr 20, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Madigan Vineyard. We found it difficult to find affordable group accommodation, and this suited our needs perfectly. Our cottage felt a little old and tired, but comfortable and spacey. I found it unusual that I had to chase the owner to make payment! Overall definately recommend.