Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful B&B

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
Very peaceful. Very clean. Owners were wonderfully friendly. Amazing breakfast! Much needed weekend away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

Neat location and structure

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Comfortable bed, delicious breakfast, friendly staff, neat structure
Cons: Decorations for Christmas were still up.
Location: One hour from Chicago, good food eateries, antique mall, location to the dunes
We loved our stay at the Thyme for Bed, Bed and Breakfast. The location is perfect for a secluded get away. The best place to experience our first stay in a bed and breakfast. Wonderful owner with a bubbly personality and super sweet. She's a great cook and provided wonderful breakfast for us! She even accommodated a late check-in when we pre-arranged with her.
5 out of 5
by michael from Augusta ga

Awesome night

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Had a great stay. The host Sheryl was great and the room was very nice. Will for sure go back!
5 out of 5
by John from Denver, CO

Interesting home

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels
Wonderful unique place. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was great. It is worth the trip off the highway. The owner was very friendly and a joy to talk too. Thanks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique to the EXTREME!

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: The setting out in the country was nice. The architecture was very interesting. Hostess was very friendly.
Cons: Trimming shrubs on front walk (our clothes got damp from dew or rain). Overall Victorian themed decor was a disconnect with the mod building.
First time experience with a B&B, so I'm not sure what to expect when it comes to this type of lodging. Arrived late and was met by resident owner and was given a small tour, after being asked to remove our shoes at the front door. Our reserved room was small and so we upgraded to the downstairs "In Your Dreams" suite. Although this suite was larger and very colorful, it was dimly lit, had no windows and air felt damp. AC was a portable unit that was kind of noisy. Entire room smelled musty, like a basement. Bathroom was overflowing with decor and there wasn't room to set things down or hang things up. In fact entire suite was so decorated that luggage had to sit on the floor and there was no place to hang clothes. Commode was not enclosed, but blocked from view of room, so if you're not comfortable "going" in front of your suite mate this may not be ideal. TV reception was not good/intermittent. Overall it was one of the most unique places I have ever stayed and it's very special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Fabulous place to get away and relax!! We had a wonderful time :)
5 out of 5
by Scott from Illinois

Unique destination

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels
We had a great time. The staff was wonderful and everything went well. Breakfast was tasty, room was clean, and location is very serene.
1 out of 5
by Roberta Budimir from Illinois

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels
My husband and I didn't end up staying. Because my daughter in law grandchild and I went there to get ready for a wedding. When we finally found it I had to walk up some steps that had plants grown over the steps and I got all wet. It had rained. Went back to the car and called to let them know that my husband and I would not be staying there. But no answer. Very disappointed in the condition of the outside.
5 out of 5
by CS from Winchester

One of a kind

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels
This B&B is a lovely, quiet place to stay and the hosts are wonderful. They were very accommodating to my dietary restrictions. We had a great night's rest in their lovely pheasant room. There's no place like this monolith B&B!
5 out of 5
by Ami from Houston, Texas

Unique B&B Stay

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels
Thyme For Bed is a great and relaxing B&B with loads of character! The hostess was hospitable and so much fun to talk to, very knowledgeable in eco-tourism and sustainability. The B&B itself has large, individually decorated rooms and the public areas were very welcoming and charming. It was close to Balmoral Race Track and the surrounding area was beautiful. Definitely hope to make it back to stay again!