Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by gloria

Stay once and you will be back!

Posted Oct 5, 2017 on Hotels
I booked this hotel/bed & breakfast based on location and the picture. It's dome shaped, completely unique. I slept in this elaborate, hand made bed and came down to a delicious breakfast with the most congenial hosts, Crystal and Bill, imaginable. They have only owned the property for about a year and have plans which, hopefully in the not too distant future, make this a destination property. It's about 50 miles southeast of Chicago and definitely "in the country". But if you need a stop on the way to Indianapolis, Cleveland, etc., do yourself a favor and stay here!
4 out of 5
by Michael

Country Retreat

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely relaxing time in a homey, welcoming atmosphere. Loved the quiet secluded location & friendly host & hostess. The room was a Victorian fantasy with comfortable bed & super plush linens & towels. Fantastic gourmet breakfast & Crystal gifted us with extra cinnamon scones to take home. Frittata, fruit, bacon & potatoes were excellent! Would definitely come back!
5 out of 5
by Lisa

great first b&b experience

Posted Sep 14, 2017 on Hotels
Our first b&b experience and it was amazing!!!.. Will definitely stay here when we are inn the area again!! hosts were amazing people and very friendly!!.. if your in the area you definitely need to stay here!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful B&B

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
Very peaceful. Very clean. Owners were wonderfully friendly. Amazing breakfast! Much needed weekend away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

Neat location and structure

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Comfortable bed, delicious breakfast, friendly staff, neat structure
Cons: Decorations for Christmas were still up.
Location: One hour from Chicago, good food eateries, antique mall, location to the dunes
We loved our stay at the Thyme for Bed, Bed and Breakfast. The location is perfect for a secluded get away. The best place to experience our first stay in a bed and breakfast. Wonderful owner with a bubbly personality and super sweet. She's a great cook and provided wonderful breakfast for us! She even accommodated a late check-in when we pre-arranged with her.
5 out of 5
by michael from Augusta ga

Awesome night

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Had a great stay. The host Sheryl was great and the room was very nice. Will for sure go back!
5 out of 5
by John from Denver, CO

Interesting home

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels
Wonderful unique place. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was great. It is worth the trip off the highway. The owner was very friendly and a joy to talk too. Thanks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique to the EXTREME!

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: The setting out in the country was nice. The architecture was very interesting. Hostess was very friendly.
Cons: Trimming shrubs on front walk (our clothes got damp from dew or rain). Overall Victorian themed decor was a disconnect with the mod building.
First time experience with a B&B, so I'm not sure what to expect when it comes to this type of lodging. Arrived late and was met by resident owner and was given a small tour, after being asked to remove our shoes at the front door. Our reserved room was small and so we upgraded to the downstairs "In Your Dreams" suite. Although this suite was larger and very colorful, it was dimly lit, had no windows and air felt damp. AC was a portable unit that was kind of noisy. Entire room smelled musty, like a basement. Bathroom was overflowing with decor and there wasn't room to set things down or hang things up. In fact entire suite was so decorated that luggage had to sit on the floor and there was no place to hang clothes. Commode was not enclosed, but blocked from view of room, so if you're not comfortable "going" in front of your suite mate this may not be ideal. TV reception was not good/intermittent. Overall it was one of the most unique places I have ever stayed and it's very special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Fabulous place to get away and relax!! We had a wonderful time :)
5 out of 5
by Scott from Illinois

Unique destination

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels
We had a great time. The staff was wonderful and everything went well. Breakfast was tasty, room was clean, and location is very serene.