Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Central Location

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: It was centrally located for my needs on this trip
Cons: Fix the ice machine. However the staff was well prepared for its breakage and had bags of ice ready for the guests
Gatsby fit in quite well for the family function for which I was in Manhattan. I was able to walk to all of the locations. Plus the neighborhood offers some great entertainment of its own.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Very bad experiences, so close to the street and too loud.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saratoga Springs, NY

Close to little Italy

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Clean and location
Cons: not much, maybe a free breakfast
Location: lots of clubs nearby. Little Italy, China Town and the subway was 1 block away.
Place was clean and staff was pleasant. Location was perfect for what I wanted to do in NYC. .But being on a main street in an area with a lot of bars and clubs it was very noisy outside all night long.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You do get what you pay for

Posted Aug 26, 2017
On this particular trip, I was on a tight budget and needed to be in a specific neighborhood. The neighborhood is great and this hotel was the best deal that I could find. As was to be expected, unfortunately nowadays, in this price range there were several problems including a nonworking bathtub and literally nowhere to put my belongings but the staff exceeded my expectations in their ability to remedy them. I think it's really horrible that good service is no longer the norm but I'm always grateful when people show their best selves and provide it! The staff here makes up for the tiny lack luster rooms and amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Great location in East Village!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The staff were all very helpful, friendly and polite. We loved the location. We were three blocks from the famous Katz Deli. Parking was two blocks over but certainly manageable. We also loved the platform beds and clean, modern styling. The bathrooms are compact but updated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rebecca

Simple, basic, clean.

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Very clean and basic hotel in a conveniently located area on the border of SoHo and NoHo. My room was a bit loud as it faced the street, but for a short stay, it's worthwhile.
5 out of 5
by Sophie

The hotel staff were so helpful and friendly

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
Trip to NYC to visit family, we had a great stay at the Gatsby. The staff were so helpful, the room was everything we needed. There was construction out the window and a bit of street noise but excellent otherwise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and simple

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
nice, simple hotel - clean beds/room but the bathroom walls and floor were alittle yuck and definitely needed a good cleaning. The bed and linens were clean and nice. I really liked the flooring (sounds weird but it was nice). Our friend was put into a basement floor room - which barely had a window and was noisy - so that sucks. But our 5th floor room was nice with a big window and a view with trees, park and sky - very nice. Hotel staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was nice but one bad experience...

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Room was clean and tidy, nice to stay for NY city tour! Bad experience: when I checked in, hotel had some trouble with the system between them and Expedia to charge my bill. Hotel staff told ME to contact with Expedia to solve the problem otherwise they charge MY credit card for a night though I PAID to Expedia!! I told them it's a problem between them, not me, and asked them to solve problem between them. Then he called Expedia customer center by himself... be careful, protect yourself!