Ratings based on 1,398 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Good location, walkable to much of the Lower East Side and Chinatown.
Cons: Better internet, more comfortable bed, pillows and sheets, nicer towels, and more attentive staff.
Not a great experience, starting with check-in. The two staff at the front desk were dealing with a complicated issue with the family checking in before us, which was understandable, but after we had to wait for a long time, when it was finally our turn, the guy checking us in was very distracted, and kept talking to his co-worker about the family before us WHILE he was helping us. We got up to the room and there were several issues: the wi-fi password we had been given didn't work, there weren't enough towels (and the towels provided were super small and of poor quality), and the phone wasn't even connected, so I had to go back down to the front desk for help. When I got there, the same guy was super distracted and in the middle of me asking for assistance he answered the phone and then took so long to get off that I just left and came back later. Overall, the hotel was fine, meeting the bare minimum requirements of being clean and sanitary and in a decent location, but not by a particularly comfortable place. Hard mattress with cheap pillows and bedspread, cheap and small towels, wi-fi internet that barely reached the 5th floor (we couldn't get a strong enough connection to load any sites), and about 5 TV channels that came in ok. I know it's New York and money doesn't go very far in hotels, but for what we paid we expected more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Good location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Very close to subway B/D lines, most staff were friendly. Great selection of free toiletries but no tea/coffee making facilities. Furniture and furnishings were basic/worn in some places but everything worked fine. You get what you pay for and it met my expectations. On fifth floor if you stick your head out the window you get a good view of Empire State Building too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Excellent walking distance from East Village

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Price was very good.
Cons: There were no cups in my room. I found out after the fact when I checked out that they were next to the hotel reception desk.
Location: I needed a hotel near East Village. This hotel was perfect for that.
Staff were pleasant. Check-in was easy. Amenities in room were sparse.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
The room didn't seem to be cleaned. the bathroom floor was dirty. the door in the room was not properly vacuum-cleaned. The TV was not always easy to look on, because some channels didn't work, others were not operation properly, which the tv-operator in the hotel was unable to fix.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Clean, no frills, now has Direct TV, great location if the southern end of Manhattan is your interest. We found it just what we needed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Dirty room and smelly bedsheets

Posted Sep 20, 2017
The carpet was not clean, and the bedsheets - though appeared to be clean - did not smell fresh. The phone in the room was not in functioning order. I wasn't able to receive calls, despite three attempts by a colleague. I wasn't able to call the front desk either.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just fine.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Cons: It is an old hotel and could use some updating.
Location: Close to subways. In Chinatown and walking distance to Little Italy and Soho. Across the street from a park.
The hotel is fine. Nothing extravagant, but it met my needs. There was a bed, dresser, and bathroom. It was clean and maintained throughout my stay. The first room I was provided had not been cleaned (even though I checked in at 6:00pm). The staff was attentive and changed my room without question. The TV basically had two channels and one with subtitles. But I didn't go to New York to watch TV. The surrounding area was fine and I never felt unsafe. It is close to two separate subway lines so you can get anywhere with ease. Overall I would stay here again for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Cons: The noise from the other room and the noise from the street can be heard. And the water from the bathroom smells a little bit weired.
The check in was fast, the room is fine. It's just that the noise can be heard with no blocking, both from the street and the other room. But anything else is fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Decent hotel on Lower East Side/Chinatown

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: It was convenient to the subway, comfortable, very nice staff.
Cons: The room could use some basic amenities such as washcloths, cups, and a clock. I would suggest that the staff find another place to smoke.
Location: One block away from the subway, short walk to restaurants and sights on the Lower East Side and Chinatown. Facing a small park.
The room was very basic but comfortable. No extras such as washcloths, cups, or a clock. The staff was extremely helpful, polite, and accommodating. One block away from a subway stop and a short walk to restaurants. I had a room facing the street and it was very quiet. However, after a couple of nights I was concerned when I was trying to fall asleep and I smelled the strong odor of cigarette smoke. I am a nonsmoker and so it was offensive to me. I hadn't smelled it on the previous nights so I wasn't sure what was going on. It was invasive enough to disturb my sleep. The next day as I was walking out of the hotel I saw hotel staff congregating in front of the building and smoking. I assume that was where the smoke came from; heavy enough to waft up to the the third floor and come through the air conditioner. So be advised. Otherwise, the hotel was perfectly fine; not fancy, but it met my needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PARIS

ACCEPTABLE IF YOU CAN'T CHOOSE OTHERWISE

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: CONVINIENT LOCATION TO THE HEART OF CHINATOWN, RETAURANTS,SHOPPING, CLOSE TO SUBWAY.
PERMANENT LEAKS FROM THE CEILLING IN THE BATHROOM, INTERNE WI FI MUST TOO SLOW, NEVER COULD USE MY COMPUTER.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.