Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mt Shasta

A very special location

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The manager , Frank, goes above and beyond, suggesting restaurants and printing out menus, giving directions, and offering to let us use his computer
Cons: Not handicapped accessible, but you can request a room on the first floor. Some families might not like the clothing optional aspect of the pool.
Location: The hotel is a few blocks from the museum district, and a half mile from the convention center.
Green House Inn is a charming building from 1840, decorated with antiques and framed historic items. In back, there is a lushly landscaped pool and hot tub.. This area is very private and peaceful; you do not feel as though you are in the heart of a city. This area is clothing optional. Robes are provided in your room. A nice breakfast is provided.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer

Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
We love staying at The Greenhouse Inn - wonderful accommodations and hosts. The location is perfect - an easier walk to so many sites in New Orleans.
5 out of 5
by Sandra

Don't let the European rules pool scare you away

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
My husband and I are fairly conservative & we almost passed on this gem because of the "clothing optional" European pool rules but after an extensive search of the area and seeing the astronomical charges for valet parking at French Quarter hotels ($30-$50 per day) we decided to book our stay. IT. WAS. WONDERFUL!! The Green House Inn is a beautiful old house with the most fantastic oasis pool and hot tub enclosed yard and secure free parking. Jesse, Gage, and the rest of the staff made our 25th wedding anniversary week wonderfully memorable. The rooms had modern amenities and old world charm. Magazine street is full of shops, cafes, bars, etc as you move westward. Emeril's Delmonico is just a few blocks up the street as is the St. Charles Streetcar to take you into the French Quarter for only $1.25per ride or $3/day. We used it often. As for those European rules, no problems if you wanted to wear a suit, a partial suit, or au natural. No judgements and wonderful privacy from outside. This is a strictly adults only hotel which made for a blissful child-free vacation. At the beginning of the week my husband wasn't sure about it all but by the middle of the week he was talking about when we could manage to come back!! This was definitely the best hotel of our 9 days/3 city vacation. The staff was great at suggesting local places of interest and how to do things the NOLA way (Like not waiting in line at the Cafe Du Monde). I dream of returning to the backyard oasis and hot tub.
5 out of 5
by Tina

Great B&B with intimate feel

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
The owners were informative, friendly and helpful. So glad we chose this bed and breakfast! It was nice to have a more intimate stay instead of the traditional hotel atmosphere.
5 out of 5
by Jack

Great Stay

Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
Relaxed, laid back. Hospitality is good. Treated like we lived there.
5 out of 5
by Melissa

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely loved our stay. Always friendly and gave great advice for local treats. Location was the best spot for walking anywhere. Will stay there again the next time we are in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Wedding Anniversary #35.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The architecture of the inn made for convenient access to all areas we needed, not to mention that the style of house it was was very attractive.
Cons: The shower in our room did not have much water pressure. Enough to get by on but not so little as to complain about.
Location: More places to eat than can be covered in a week, a month or perhaps even a year. The French Quarter is a must-see.
What a beautiful place to stay! We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Green House Inn and were ready to go back before we left. The tranquility of the pool area was what we enjoyed the most, admiring the tropical setting, the beautiful plants and the privacy. The staff, Frank and Jesse, were as warm as they could be and they made sure we had everything we needed. Frank gave us good advice and directions for our first-ever stay in New Orleans and he made certain that if there were any details that we needed to have attended to, he would be right there. The inn has been beautifully, period-correctly refurbished and the ambiance for a soothing stay. We are looking at the calendar now to see when we can book for anniversary #36.
4 out of 5
by Yongqiang

The Green House Inn living notes

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Overall it was a very nice experience for me. Quiet, good breakfast and yoghourt, clean the room every day, comfortable big bed, nice swimming pool, enthusiastic service, close to the river and downtown. What I don't like is the noise caused by the filter in the swimming pool sometimes, and the bathroom is a little bit small and the shower nozzle is fixed make me difficult to take care of my feet. And the wifi is frustrating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
Wonderful place. Really good time. Will stay again.
4 out of 5
by frank

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
The inn was quiet and people are respectful of others. The breakfast could be better and the coffee could be stronger.