Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
35% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with good location

Posted Jun 21, 2018
Good experience: the hotel now has half board for either lunch or dinner. Bad: There was no kettle in the room and no welcoming fruits as they used to serve.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from johannesburg

Expensive and the rooms smell like damp mould

Posted Nov 11, 2017
I've stayed here a couple of times for business. The check in process is not smooth as they sometimes can't find the bookings or don't add credit to your account and you find out later on that you need to pay cash for everything because they forgot to add your credit card to the room. The rooms always smell like mould. I complained and was told they all smell like this. You basically need to just tolerate it. It's located very centrally and close to the island. Angola is expensive and not value for money which is what you get here. A lack of Ala Carte menu for dinner is a problem as the buffet is pricey.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Almeida, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Your review is most appreciated and important to us. Regarding air conditioning in the room , please note that in Africa the air humidity is much higher, however using A/C regularly in the room, does not have any smell in the room however, we understand that it is different compared to other countries. At check-in the guests only have credit if they leave a deposit in money or alternatively a credit card to support the expenses, however all expenses will only be charged at check-out. For security reasons, credit card information does not stay in the system. However we will lead our reception team to be more aware of this type of situations in order to avoid constraints in the future. We would like to inform you that in addition to our buffet, we have a wide menu in the bars with snacks and salads, highly appreciated by our customers. Hope to see you again with us, next time you visit Luanda. Best Regards, Sara Almeida Deputy Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Above average hotel in Angola

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: 1. Service is definitly better than few months ago, the front desk personal speak better English. 2. The price also come down.
Cons: 1. Don't have shuttle services between the Airport and Hotel. (Don't take a taxi in the Airport!!!) 2. Don't have a kittel in room.
It's a nightmare taking a Taxi to the Hotel, the taxi driver asked for $250 otherwise he wouldn't stop the meter counting. So until the hotel is going to offer a shuttle service between the hotel and airport. We will never stay in this hotel. Epic Sana is $60 more, where offers the airport shuttle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Your review is most appreciated and important to us. I would like to inform you that the hotel does not offer shuttle service, we advise our customers to contact the most reliable companies, Europcar and Hertz. The hotel provides coffee makers in the executive rooms and suites, however, the standard rooms do not have this equipment. Best Regards, Diogo Marques General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

No value for money

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: location Gym Pool area
Cons: Staff - in all aspects food quality and selection Internet
- Staff is atrocious. Don't care about their guests whether it's in the bar, restaurant, front desk. They are too busy talking/giggling amongst their selves to worry about taking an order. - Many staff don't speak a word in English. - Internet unreliable making it very difficult to work. - Breakfast buffet has perished goods - fruit, yoghurts.. - Bathrooms in the rooms need refurbishment, limited amenities.. - Cost is ridiculous in comparison of the rooms and service but that is the case for most hotels in Luanda.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by Diogo Marques, General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such candid feedback of your stay. I am very disappointed to hear that you found our service to be below your standards. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Ok facility but...

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Stayed here on a business trip. The hotel itself is nice, clean and the staff were friendly. The buffet had a good selection, food was great and always well stocked. Wifi was widely available and decent except for a few hours of congested traffic in the evenings when I couldn't get enough bandwidth to check emails. This was the first hotel I have been to in the world where the room didn't have basics like an iron or coffee maker. it's not easy trying to steam a shirt with the shower when you have 45 minutes from check in to a meeting. The major frustration was the lack of help with issues I had. At one point a power breaker went out to my room when I plugged my laptop in to charge in what I assume was a bad outlet. I spend a lot of time in developing countries and am used to power outages, no problem when that's out of the hotel's control, however this was isolated to my room. It took 4 trips to the check in desk and over 3 hours of waiting in the dark to have someone come and flip the breaker back on. Next came the check out experience. The hotel took a deposit by credit card which was a plus for Luanda. However be careful if you don't use any or all of the credit they ask for. 5 staff could not figure out how to issue a refund to my card and kept insisting I take it in kwanza which was of no help since I had to go straight to the airport. Stangely as soon as my local partner came to the desk they recalled how to issue a credit refund with no further issue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by Diogo Marques, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Your review is most appreciated, in terms of room and food quality, which is very important to us. We have different types of rooms, and in fact the standard has no coffee machine, but the executive rooms and suites are equipped with coffee machines. Hotel Trópico has no iron in any of the rooms as a matter of security- but we are happy to be able to iron the clothes of our customers in the laundry. As to the power failure in your room, I believe that there was an error in communication between the front desk to the maintenance of the hotel, which originated the delay so we apologize for the inconvenience caused. I would like to clarify that in relation to credit cards, the hotel can only charge in kwanza - local currency, and it is not possible to carry out pre-authorizations on credit cards - as is usual in Europe or USA. This procedure is sometimes slow and already we apologize for the delay caused. Hope to see you again with us, next time you visit Luanda
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lagos

No service but comfortable rooms

Posted May 19, 2016
Rooms are comfortable. Gym is fantastic Restaurant & Bar staff are useless. They pay no attention to customers. Staff don't speak English Wifi doesn't work.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Diogo Marques, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I hope this note finds well. We have sent your feedback to the personnel concerned. I apologize for this bad experience. This is very disappointing to hear, but we hope you give us another chance to make it up to you. We hope to welcome you in the near future. Best regards, General Manager
4 out of 5
by Gloria from USA

renovated...great spa area and pool area..

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
enjoyed staying there
Comment from Hotel Management
by Rui Viegas, Hotel Management
Dear Gloria, thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel. Best Regards, Diogo Marques, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Aberve Stay - Just What Was Needed

Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was average and for the price it was ok considering it is one of the more expensive hotels in Luanda.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No service.

Posted Jun 12, 2015 on Hotels
No iron is available nor will one be provided and very little service at night. The gym closes too early and openstoo late to be any benefit to most business travelers. Try another place if you want anything more than a high priced place to lay your head.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel downtown

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Stupidly expensive hotel, but then that is just what happens in Luanda. Rooms were very clean, breakfast buffet good, and room service food reasonable (but costly). If you've got business with the oil companies downtown, not a bad place to stay -- they are all walkable and driving/taxis in Luanda are impossible. They were good at helping me set up a reliable private driver to get to meetings in Talatona. When they take the imprint of your credit card to cover expenses put down the minimum possible. They will refund any surplus they have charged you, but if they haven't run accounts through the credit card that day they will pay you out in cash (kwanzas), not a card refund.