Ratings based on 535 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Douglas, Wyoming

Clean room and bed

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Easy access from the interstate, lots of parking,friendly and helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston tx

reasonable, good value hotel, great breakfast.

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Excellent hot breakfast buffet. On Sunday chef made custom omelettes,great! Up to four incl. per room pricing, after that pay extra, but worth it.
Cons: room cleaning , sweep bathroom floor.
Location: Great to visit university, easy freeway access, plenty of restaurants to choose from, attended Tech football game visited Buddy Holley museum - great.
Exterior is plain, very large, slightly confusing, nice interior, great indoor pool, no hot tub? great hot breakfast, on Sundays the chef makes custom omelettes! Solid 3 to 3.5 rating overall. Overall great value. Rooms have been updated, each has coffee maker, fridge and microwave.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Went during parents weekend at Texas Tech. Room was not ready at 4 when promised , then came back at 5 & still not ready. Could not check in until midnight after our game. Line formed even at midnight check in. Severely under staffed, one person to check in with a large line. Leaking shower , not cleaned properly. Would not recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from austin

Nasty

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Old hotel Rooms not vacuumed in months Dust and critter remnants
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Don't stay here

Posted Sep 29, 2017
The room was not clean. The phone to call the front desk didn't work. Wifi didn't work. Three ice machines were broken. And the "free" drink ticket was worthless since they were out of scotch so The bartender charged us for the higher priced scotch. That was two nights in a row. I will never stay at another Clarion.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Avoid rooms in the back.....

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Two of our kids go to school at Texas Tech. We usually stay at the newer hotels around the campus but this was a football weekend and we opted for $89/night vs $179/night. So the price was right. They let us check in at 11am which was great. Upon checking in they informed us..."they had rooms on the first floor in the back of the hotel was that ok?...". After getting to the room we realized that the rooms on the first floor in the back were old school motel rooms...they opened to the outdoors. The room was clean and very large but out dated...but once your asleep who cares. After the sun set we noticed that the folks staying in these back rooms were mostly work crews who were apparently working during the week. Way too noisy. Around midnight someone was banging on our door. People were standing in front of our room having a full-voice conversation. No place to eat anywhere within walking distance. The guide book in the room offered room service. We called to order something but were told room service didn't start until 5pm...Dominos delivered to the room so that worked out. Went to have breakfast which the in-room guide book advertised as 7-11 on weekends. We got there at 9:30 and there was almost nothing left. We made the best of it to then have them announce that breakfast ended at 10. So...yes...I'd recommend it but decline to stay in the back of the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from odessa texas

Hotel was nice and clean but

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The night shift staff was super rude. 11:55 they were knocking at the door for us to check out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Dee Dee, Hotel Management
I do apologize that you felt our night shift was rude.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

room was o.k., breakfast was great.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: breakfast
Cons: cleanliness.
Room was what you would expect, spending $ 60 to $ 80 for a room. Including the breakfast, and it was worth the $ 80.00. Room was very spacious, although a little dated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Dee Dee, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lubbock, tx

Posted Aug 25, 2017
All the glass windows and layout of the hotel feels weird and appears unsafe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Dee Dee, Hotel Management
I do apologize for the layout and glass windows?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Hotel needs updating!

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: The breakfast and friendliness of the hotel staff.
Cons: Updating the decor.
Location: Lubbock is centered around the university and has everything to offer!
As we were about to enter our room, we realized there was a dog in there. We were issued keys to a room that was currently occupied. They quickly changed our room but it was a bit unsettling. While the room looked clean, everything in there was old and gave the appearance of unclean. We stayed on the pool side near one of the closed off vending areas and it smelled of urine. The breakfast area was clean and the food was very good, but the wait was long - as if they were not used to serving that many people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Dee Dee, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I do apologize.