Ratings based on 553 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Chose Clarion based on location and price. Really a very nice and clean hotel. Could use a minor update. Rooms are nicely layed out and access is ok. A refresh in the rooms would make it VERY nice. Full complimentary breakfast was very good. We happened to stay an evening before a 11amTexas Tech football game and the team must stay here. We didn’t notice until we saw the team practicing inside the huge indoor conference room. Pretty cool!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Hotel or Motel?

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: They have a nice lobby and pool area.
Cons: I did not see the other rooms but room 122 needs a complete makeover starting with the carpet, curtains and door.
Location: The location is OK with malls and restaurants nearby.
It all looked great until we started to look for our room. You walk by a nice area that looks like a resort with pool and waterfalls. There we had to exit the building to go around the corner to a motel style room. It was not very pleasant and certainly did not feel safe. The carpet , curtains and couch were filthy. At least the bed and bathroom were clean . We did see some rooms with inside entrance that looked good but for some reason we ended up having to go outside like you do for a motel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Disappointing Stay on 2 Separate Occasions

Posted Nov 6, 2017
I booked hotel for 2 separate stays over 6 months advance and was disappointed with both stays. During the 1st stay we had to wait until 9:30 pm for fresh towels. During the last stay, we left our hotel room at 9:30 am to go out for the day. Upon returning at 6:30 pm, we discovered our room had not received any maid service. My first thought was to call the front desk to address the issue, only to find out there was no phone in the room. Btw forgot to mention the toilet didn't work properly. Don't think we'll be back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Posted Oct 27, 2017
The hotel was not staffed well. Waited 10 minutes at the check in desk for someone to arrive to help get checked in. The carpet had a large stain and the bathroom had heavy dirt in the corners. In addition, I accidentally left an item behind, when I called to see if it was located and told exactly where it was left, thw housekeeper didn't turn in to lost and found.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Douglas, Wyoming

Clean room and bed

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Easy access from the interstate, lots of parking,friendly and helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston tx

reasonable, good value hotel, great breakfast.

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Excellent hot breakfast buffet. On Sunday chef made custom omelettes,great! Up to four incl. per room pricing, after that pay extra, but worth it.
Cons: room cleaning , sweep bathroom floor.
Location: Great to visit university, easy freeway access, plenty of restaurants to choose from, attended Tech football game visited Buddy Holley museum - great.
Exterior is plain, very large, slightly confusing, nice interior, great indoor pool, no hot tub? great hot breakfast, on Sundays the chef makes custom omelettes! Solid 3 to 3.5 rating overall. Overall great value. Rooms have been updated, each has coffee maker, fridge and microwave.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Went during parents weekend at Texas Tech. Room was not ready at 4 when promised , then came back at 5 & still not ready. Could not check in until midnight after our game. Line formed even at midnight check in. Severely under staffed, one person to check in with a large line. Leaking shower , not cleaned properly. Would not recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from austin

Nasty

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Old hotel Rooms not vacuumed in months Dust and critter remnants
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Don't stay here

Posted Sep 29, 2017
The room was not clean. The phone to call the front desk didn't work. Wifi didn't work. Three ice machines were broken. And the "free" drink ticket was worthless since they were out of scotch so The bartender charged us for the higher priced scotch. That was two nights in a row. I will never stay at another Clarion.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Avoid rooms in the back.....

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Two of our kids go to school at Texas Tech. We usually stay at the newer hotels around the campus but this was a football weekend and we opted for $89/night vs $179/night. So the price was right. They let us check in at 11am which was great. Upon checking in they informed us..."they had rooms on the first floor in the back of the hotel was that ok?...". After getting to the room we realized that the rooms on the first floor in the back were old school motel rooms...they opened to the outdoors. The room was clean and very large but out dated...but once your asleep who cares. After the sun set we noticed that the folks staying in these back rooms were mostly work crews who were apparently working during the week. Way too noisy. Around midnight someone was banging on our door. People were standing in front of our room having a full-voice conversation. No place to eat anywhere within walking distance. The guide book in the room offered room service. We called to order something but were told room service didn't start until 5pm...Dominos delivered to the room so that worked out. Went to have breakfast which the in-room guide book advertised as 7-11 on weekends. We got there at 9:30 and there was almost nothing left. We made the best of it to then have them announce that breakfast ended at 10. So...yes...I'd recommend it but decline to stay in the back of the hotel.