Ratings based on 945 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Hotel was fine for staying 1 night. Staff was nice and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Thieves and the liars

Posted Nov 15, 2016
They told me they would not charge me for the third day.... since I came in at 4 o'clock in the morning and they booked it wrong through expedia.com they charged me tho I did not even stay there the third day. I left the room in excellent condition. Sad these business's think they can run over ANYONE!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Someone should call the health department

Posted Nov 12, 2016
I spent 5 night's in a room that smelled overwhelmingly of mold. I can'tell believe they put guests in this room and do nothing about it. If you stay there, and I suggest you don'the, don't let them put you in room 209.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feed back, we have made sure that this issue has been corrected.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. However, unable to sit on couch because you would practically be sitting on floor. Couch also looked very worn. Carpet in elevator needs to be replaced, it looks filthy. Room was ok for quick stay but room not comfortable enough to stay in for a prolonged period of time. Lucky we were just in room to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on the Howard Johnson, we have addressed the issues.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DFW, TX

Gross

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Bad neighborhood. Parking lot dimly lit
Booked for UT v. Tech weekend. My expectations were not high to start but I figured it would be ok for 1 weekend. When I showed up the front desk staff told me I didn't have a reservation. I showed my Expedia confirmation and after 15 minutes they found it. Went up to the room, key didn't work. Went back down to desk, got another key card. Didn't work. The hotel staff had to come remove the door handle to let us in the room. Room was gross - weird smell, stained carpet, hastily made bed, bugs in sink. Spent 1 uncomfortable night. Next day our key card still didn't work. Even though we had booked with a non refundable 2 night minimum, we didn't stay the second night. Checked out and lost the money for the 2nd night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you, for the review we are going to make sure all issues have been addressed. We thank you again for bring this to are attention.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Musky Odor

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Good
Strange odor in the room. One of the queen beds was broken. TV remote had no batteries.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you, for the review we are going to make sure all issues have been addressed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 4, 2016
The blow dryer didn't work. I had called to make sure it had one in each room. I was assured that each room had one. When I got there, I notified the front office and she said she would get one to me when her husband got back. I never got one so I had to go purchase one. I could have packed one from home if I had known. Not clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you, for the review we are going to make sure all issues have been addressed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Bad location

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Ghetto
This hotel is in a horrible location. The hotel is below average compared to most HOWARD Johnson hotels. It was like staying at the roach inn
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review, we apologize that your stay was did not meet your needs, we have addressed all issues in your review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for a cheap night out

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: The price.
Cons: The breakfast really needed even a yogurt or fruit. Anything besides one cereal choice.
Location: GREAT location. not far from most to do though could be much closer. Very easy access.
The price was perfect for us so it's as to look past most. They let us check in an hour early and the manager was nice though spoke very little english. THE room was adequate. A decent bed and bathroom floors were disgusting. The breakfast was nonexistent, no fruit, just cereal coffee and juice he had to come personally turn on each time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you For the Review on the Howard Johnson.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lubbock Tx

Awesome stay!!!!

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: The hotel is clean,nice,warming and welcoming, the staff is very business oriented, prompt and quick business.
Cons: Everything was great!! Its very quiet I've never heard any other guest during the stay.
Location: There's food restaurants close by, stores down the street and its very convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you For the Review on the Howard Johnson.