Ratings based on 1,054 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lubbock tx

Smelly hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Walked into the room to a smell that was unbearable. We had to open a window and leave and go get air freshener to just stay the night. We stayed 2 nights then went and checked out and then told I may not get a refund for the other 3 nights and that there was nothing they can do. I will never stay here or recommend someone to either. Worst hotel ever. Ohh and the sink leaked and ruined a pair of shoes!!! Never again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty Hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The hotel was very dirty. I will never stay at a Howard Johnson again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k

Would not recommend it

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Room was not cleaned properly bad experience bathroom was not clean carpets were not vacuumed
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room was run down and dirty

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: It is in a good location for fast food options and easy access to freeways.
Cons: Clean the room better and repair the facilities
The room was run down and dirty. The TV was broken.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tolerable hotel for the price, but...

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Clean, access to hwy
Cons: Mattresses are terrible. If you advertise breakfast until 9:00 am, don't make false claims.
Location: near the hwy
Clean, quiet, easy access to hwy. Tolerable hotel for the price, but had a few problems: (1)The mattress had springs almost poking through it. Had to flip it over. (2)Breakfast was supposed to be until 9:00 am. It was virtually all gone at 8:15 am. That's not acceptable and false advertising.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
The pool was dirty and locked up during my 4 day stay, even though afternoon temps were in the 90s. The breakfast buffet was very unimaginative. The hotel had a "worn" appearance. I doubt that I stay there again. It was clean, though, and the staff were polite.
4 out of 5
by Lynn

Clean and comfortable room, courteous staff

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
We were greeted with courtesy and helpfulness, and, even though we arrived before formal check-in time, our rooms were made ready for us within a short times.
5 out of 5
by Dan and Dora

My new favorite hotel!

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Spacious room, lots of storage and comfortable bed. Nice, clean and felt safe! Price jump from Thursday night to Friday night was a bit hard to swallow being I've been staying in Lubbock for 3 1/2 weeks due to my mom being in hospital....other than that, great place!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Convenient Place for Several Days Stay

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Beds are comfortable; rooms are spacious. If you're staying several nights, there's ample storage for clothes, fridge and microwave.
Cons: Definitely needs better cleaning and maintenance! Linen is clean, but floors and bathroom need more attention.
Location: Fairly central location and easy access to loop and highways - therefore shopping, food, etc.
I've stayed in this hotel twice now. For what we needed, it was adequate and convenient. I'm not sure if I'd stay there again, however. The first time, there was a kitchen fire and the alarms went off for quite some time - we were told we did not need to evacuate. Second time we stayed, we had a room on the first floor the first 2 days. There was furniture missing (since we had stayed before, we recognized this!). It was also obvious that there had been water leaking from the ceiling in the bathroom. Sure enough, on the second day we were there, we had a major flood in the bathroom caused by overflowing water from the room above us. Thankfully, we were there to call maintenance before our entire room was flooded. They supposedly repaired it, so we stayed that night. The next morning (again, thankfully I happened to be in the room all morning), I killed 5 roaches! I complained and we were moved to a room on the 3rd floor. It wasn't Quite as convenient (since I have walking disabilities), but we had the full compliment of furniture again, a functional bathroom and NO bugs! No other complaints the remaining 4 nights we stayed there, except for their stinginess with wash cloths. You had to beg for more than one, even though there were obviously two guests staying in the room. For the price, it's certainly adequate - but I don't want to have any similar experiences again.
4 out of 5
by Christine

Good value for money.. good location... worth a go

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Great location...beds comfortable..quiet....good value for money....Once you get past the abruptness of the front desk man..... the rest is ok... unfortunately the breakfast was awful... there was not one item of protein offered... and lord help you if you rearranged the bread display!