Ratings based on 1,064 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Clean Hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2017
We stayed at the Overton while on a Texas Tech campus tour. The Hotel was clean, staff was courteous and in close proximity to campus. We would definitely stay there again when visiting Lubbock~
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Kurt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from McKinney, TX

Great hotel!

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Nice, clean, excellent staff.
Location: Can't think of anything in the area of improvement. My visit was excellent!
I went for a visit to see my daughter that goes to Texas Tech and this is my first stay at the Overton. The staff, the hotel, and the room were fantastic! Very happy with my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by General Manager- Kurt Metcalf, Hotel Management
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us, and we’d love to have you back again the next time you’re in Lubbock!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Nice rooms & great view. Breakfast was great in the grill.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by General Manager- Kurt Metcalf, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review. I am so glad you found our hotel a good place to stay, and that you enjoyed the breakfast at our Pecan Grill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Unexpected Pleasure

Posted Jan 28, 2017
We live in Las Vegas, travel extensively and have stayed at many high-end hotels. Frankly didn't expect much from a relatively small town in Texas but we were very impressed. The staff was anxious to accommodate any request. Everything from the lunch salad and hamburger to the enormous/quality steak dinner was excellent. The bar/bartenders and entertainment at night was very enjoyable. The hotel is centrally located and we would recommend it to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by General Manager- Kurt Metcalf, Hotel Management
Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care!
3 out of 5
by Chuck

Great Hotel in Lubbock, Staff?

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Overall the hotel is very nice. Our Problem was at check-in. The Front Desk Supervisor did not like the fact we booked thru Hotels.com. I asked if any upgrades were available and he said being we did not book thru the hotel's reservations, he could not offer upgrades. When I asked for our breakfast voucher he said being we did not go thru the hotel's reservations, we were not supposed to get breakfast. He did give us vouchers, stating, "you've stayed with us before". I guess because I knew we were entitled to receive them. If the hotel does not want reservation thru other sites, why do they work with those sites?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Stay, Run Away

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
I booked a suite and when I arrived I was placed in a regular room and they told me an error had been made and there was nothing they could do about it. Still got charged for a Suite. Ice machine didn't work, TV remote didn't work. Front desk staff was incredibly rude about issue with suite not being available. I expected to to get better when the Supervisor was got involved. He was even more rude than the staff only to be out-shined in rudeness by the Manager, Dee. I got charged $78.96 as an incidental charge and nobody can tell me why and there should be no reason for a charge. This place was horrible, the staff and management were horrible. I would NEVER stay here again and would NEVER recommend staying here to anyone. It was an awful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel close to Texas Tech.

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: I loved the look and feel of the hotel and room. The view was phenomenal. The service was the best I have experienced in hotels of this price range.
Cons: The only issue I found was the floor in my room. It may not have been vacuumed properly. There was some bothersome debris on the floor.
Location: This hotel is close to the university and hospital. There are numerous restaurants nearby, should you want to venture from the hotel. Great location!
This hotel is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in with regards to the service, amenities, proximity to restaurants, and overall feel. This hotel was also a great value for what they offer. I also loved the Western meets Rock-N-Roll decor of the room. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have ever paid for, well worth the price. And the coffee shop had delicious baked goods.
4 out of 5
by david

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lubbock, TX

Great hotel across from Texas Tech

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Great room overlooking the Texas Tech football stadium. Upon check-in we were given admission to the 14th floor VIP lounge with free wine and snacks.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to Texas Tech football stadium and campus. Lots of restaurants nearby. Close to the Marsha Sharp Frwy which will take you to many shopping areas
Just stayed one night to celebrate my wife's birthday. We live in Lubbock and have always wanted to stay at the Overton for a special occasion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Kurt E. Metcalf, General Manager - Overton Hotel &, Hotel Management
Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care!
5 out of 5
by Charles

Friendly staff clean place

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Nice clean hotel staff very friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.