Ratings based on 948 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice place to stay

Posted Aug 26, 2016
I arrive once a week for Business and the staff membets are great. The food is amazing and the bar lenders are fun to talk with. R
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Only place to stay in Lubbock

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Service, rooms, bar, parking, fitness center, valet, restaurant, view
The Overton is amazing. They pay close attention to every detail and the staff provides service like I haven't experienced in many many years. Especially for the price. The decor is amazing, the rooms were very clean and the amenities are unlike anything you can find anymore. I won't stay anywhere else in Lubbock.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Not 4 star quality

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Friendly and attentive front desk staff, comfortable bed, quiet hallways, hot shower. Cons: Bellhop and valet did not smile or welcome us to the hotel, room was not cleaned properly. There were several parts of our room that were dusty and untouched. A piece of facial tissue was waded up and stuffed in the recess of the peephole. The carpet was dirty in the corners and edges along the walls and it felt sticky. There were crumbs in the cradle of the desk phone and smudges that could have easily been cleaned. Discovered two hairs, one behind the toilet seat and another outside of the tub. Shower curtain had a hole in it and the corners of the tub had visible signs of pink mold. We were going to sleep late but, after seeing the lack of attention to the room, I was adamant about leaving first thing in the morning. As a side note, I would have changed hotels but I had paid for the room through Expedia and didn't have the energy to address it that night after driving 12 hours.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by General Manager, Kurt Metcalf, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us identify the areas we can improve the guest experience. I was disappointed to learn of the shortcomings you experienced and we're currently taking steps to ensure this will not happen again. We hope you will consider stay with us again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Exceptional in every way

Posted Aug 1, 2016
I came to Lubbock on a business trip and am so glad I selected this hotel. The staff was amazing and remembered my name! My room was immaculate and comfortable - I had an incredible view of the entire city as well. I had breakfast at the buffet and it was fantastic! If I'm back in Lubbock again, I will stay at the Overton for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by General Manager, Kurt Metcalf, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix Az

Close to services and school ,quiet and clean

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Felt that booking online was discouraged and admitted to me. Penalized by putting us in a handicapped room with small bath and terrible mattress/bed. Moved rooms which was very nice but left a bad first impression.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Lovely hotel for the family

Posted Jul 19, 2016
We had the executive room which came with access to the club lounge. Hot breakfast was offered in the lounge until 11am, which was fantastic as we could sleep in and still get good breakfast. Maria at the lounge was very friendly and made sure we were comfortable. We were given 2 complementary cards for breakfast in the restaurant downstairs too. But for a family of 4 was short. We found it not really useful because the breakfast in the club lounge was great and was not busy at all. When we checked into our room we found there was a big pool of water on the floor from the toilet tank. We called reception desk and they fixed it immediately. Housekeeping came to clean up too immediately. So that was good. Although my family stayed one night, it was a lovely place and I'll stay again if we are in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Comfortable, clean, good location to Campus

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Beautiful, comfortable rooms. Very friendly front desk staff. Could use a gift shop though. No drugstore or like shopping nearby, mostly campus eateries. The restaurant food was delicious. Ask to sit in Andrew's section in the restaurant. He was an exceptional waiter--accommodating, competent, and very welcoming. I would book here again.
3 out of 5
by Jennifer from Fort Worth

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
The room was a nice size. The lobby, bar, and restaurant are all very nice. The pillows shrink to nothing (be sure to bring your own from home if possible) and the a/c was humid and never truly got cold. We turned the thermostat down to 60 and still slept out of the sheets and cover. The hallway was cold, so I know our a/c was not working to the coldness it could have been. Next time there is a new Hyatt across the street we will try.
4 out of 5
by L Arcot

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Love the Overton Hotel....very clean and great location to campus.