Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Lovely hotel, host and location

Posted Apr 29, 2018
Upon initially booking the hotel we received a message from the hotel offering their greeting and if we had any questions to feel free to get in touch. I took this up prior to arriving to ask for recommendations for a restaurant the evening of arrival. They made a few recommendations and after we’d chosen booked on our behalf. As noted above, communication and the helpfulness/friendliness of staff was excellent. The hotel itself was very nice and clean, with some of the rooms being very large. It looked clean everywhere and the welcome upon arrival and throughout the stay by the staff was very pleasant. It is in a good location in Lucca walls and is within walking distance of plenty of squares, bars, restaurants etc. Breakfast offered a good spread and variety of food with the chef speaking direct to offer your choice of coffee and eggs. All were very attentive. This was along with the buffet breakfast which was very tasty. Overall this was our first time in Lucca but the hotel was great with very friendly and attentive staff. The hotel as well as the beauty of the city made us want to return in the not too distant future.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2018 by Ingrid, Marta & colleagues, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your so kind review! We are really very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Palazzo with all what we could offer, our rooms, breakfast and the attention to our clients, Lucca itself. We would be very glad to welcome you again! Ingrid, Marta & colleagues
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold River, CA

Fabulous Find in Lucca

Posted Apr 16, 2018
We enjoyed our stay here. The location was perfect and the staff was exceptional. Beautiful property. Clean and nicely decorated. The most personal and kind staff await you. Highly recommend this hotel. A one of a kind experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2018 by marta, Hotel Management
thank you so much for such a nice review and for appreciating our job! Hoping to welcome you again in the future! Marta & colleagues
4 out of 5
by P Christopher

A good place to stay in the historic city

Posted Nov 6, 2017 on Hotels
Extremely friendly proprietors; great breakfast; good location if you wish to stay in the historic old city; room is clean and functional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Marta, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the kind review! Hoping to welcome you again in the future! Marta & colleagues
5 out of 5
by Edward

You'll love it

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
We recommend that you stay at Palazzo Busdraghi. The hotel is in a quiet, convenient location not that far from a ramp to the wall for your morning stroll. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was the best we had during our 14-day tour of Italy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Marta, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing this kind review! Marta & colleagues
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

central hotel. fabulous staff.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
We stayed for three nights. Staff were really helpful, organising taxis and restaurant reservations. Hotel in a first class location. Traditional Italian decor. Just a lovely place to be. Thanks to all. would go back in a heartbeat !
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Palazzo Busdraghi, Hotel Management
thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad you appreciated our welcome! Till a next time, with pleasure! Marta & colleagues
3 out of 5
by Lynn

Pros and Cons

Posted Sep 21, 2017 on Hotels
Pros: Beautiful historic building with amazing view of the amphitheatre. Apartment is spacious and very clean (apart from stains on the sofa and carpets) with everything you need. Service from all of the staff we dealt with was excellent - extremely helpful and charming. Cons: No blind at the upstairs bathroom window which overlooks many other houses with windows! No drawers for clothes. Stairs - we are fit and stairs are not usually an issue for us; the first flight are extremely steep, different depths and uneven - with no handrail in part and part of the handrail on the second flight is loose. I feel the stairs should come with a strong warning for older people and children. Lucca has a lot of beautiful architecture but it has lost a lot of its charm for us since we last visited 4 years ago - generally the food was mediocre (really not what you expect in Italy), highly priced with not great service. There was the odd exception but not many.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Altos, ca

If you like stairs you will love this hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Add a lift
Location: It is within the walled city
This is a very old building that has been well maintained. The staff was wonderful and helpful. It was not the place for me because of the many stairs at the entry and unexpected stairs here and there.. part of the ambiance I guess. Marta was stupendous and helpful,. Breakfast was more interesting than usual.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by marta, Hotel Management
Thank you for you kind comment! Of course, we know stairs may be a problem for someone, but, as you noticed, this is a medieval building, there are different levels and this is part of its charme! Thank you again for being our guest! Marta & colleagues
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and extremely helpful and friendly staff. We stayed in the apartment which gave us plenty of room for our stay. Highly recommended!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Marta, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the nice review, and hopefully we will welcome you again! Marta & staff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Misleading and very disappointing accommodation

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Honesty in its portrayal. Refurbishment. Internet access.
Location: Lucca itself is a lovely old walled town with ample attractions.
We arrived at the hotel which we thought we had booked (after lugging our heavy luggage all the way up to the grand reception) only to be told that our 'Romantic appt' was not actually in the hotel but situated in a different location (approx.10 min walk away) and also, that we were not the first to make this mistake. Upon arrival it was absolutely not what we expected - miserable, uncomfortable and definitely not 'romantic'! We were incredibly disappointed and felt very cheated by the way this accommodation was sold to us. The website is misleading and deceptive. The 'Romantic Appartment' is advertised as part of the appealing looking hotel (impression created from the photographs especially). We would NOT recommend this apartment. Furthermore, internet is provided but impossible to access - staff seemed unable to understand that a second password is required by the provider, Wind. Previous occupants had also obviously had the same struggle going by the notes they had left behind. Finally, earplugs were provided - and needed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Palazzo Busdraghi, Hotel Management
What a pity...moreover, there are pictures on the website showing how the apartment is...and the name "Romantic Apartment via Buia 32" tells that it is a different address from the hotel... miserable, uncomfortable...this is definitely your opinion, many other guests loved it! Concerning the wifi, we wish to make clear that it may have been a problem with your own device, as our colleague came during your stay (you forgot to mention) and fixed it, just resetting it, and following guests did not have any problem. We are really sorry for all misunderstanding. Marta & colleagues
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Marta, Hotel Management
Thank you for the positive rating! We hope to welcome you again in the future, and we thank you for being our guest. Marta & colleagues