Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A bit disappointing

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Some bedrooms were spacious and well-appointed with plenty of wardrobe space and shelving. Decent and substantial breakfast.
Cons: Staffing levels, attitude of some receptionists, but mostly noise aspect. The next door bar is a big problem.
Location: 12-14 minute walk to walled city. Good location for train and bus to towns, villages, coastal resorts, etc.
There was a problem with insanely loud music from adjacent bar, Nelli's and from motorway. Had requested quiet rooms. Didn't get them.Nightmare karaoke from bar still ongoing at 12.30am, so we were moved (with a certain amount of annoyance from receptionist on duty) from very large and comfortable rooms to tiny rooms at back. No real apologies. Quiet solution, but inferior rooms, so disappointing experience. Hotel in legal action against bar, which is taking time, so no solution imminent. Good breakfast and some helpful staff. Not all of them. Some receptionists harassed and defensive and said they were understaffed. Lovely chambermaids. Location not brilliant. Distance from main walled city not bad (12-14 mins walking slowly), but a bit too far to go back and forth several times per day, if you wanted rest and change of clothing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel, helpful friendly staff

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The friendliness of the staff.
Location: The town is well placed. I didn't have a car, but the trains go directly to Florence, Pisa, Villareggio and the mountains all at a cheap price.
Outside of the walled town of Lucca, but a manageable walk to both the station or the town centre.
4 out of 5
by Jack

Great location.

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Ideal location for a few nights, close to the walls, but the hotel it's self is a little bit tired.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent breakfast, tired rooms

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Decoration on upper floors
We booked a small double room with a balcony and requested a top floor room. When we saw the room (on the 4th floor) we were disappointed as it was very small and the wallpaper was peeling and the balcony only had space for one chair. We expressed our dissatisfaction to the lady on reception and she gave us the key to a similarsized room on the first floor. This was better decorated but as we had specifically requested a room on the upper floors again it didn't suit. feeling very apologetic we returned the key and asked if it was possible to upgrade. We were then shown a triple room on the top floor. This was a lot bigger and had a good bathroom with bath and shower. It was very dated and the carpet was something that would have been used in the UK 50 years ago and needed a good vacuum. However it was the best option so we took it. Having had this initial experience we were not expecting much from the breakfast but were very pleasantly surprised. Every conceivable cereal, fresh fruit salad, yogurt; scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, ham, salami, cheese; bread, pastries and coffee or tea and serviced by 2 lovely helpful ladies. Overall the hotel looks as though it is being modernised from the bottom up with the ground floor reception, lounge and dining room and the first floor already being done and the upper floor waiting
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alberta

Good hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
The hotel was a little difficult to get there but once there great.the free bikes was a nice touch
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Clean. Well presented. On a very busy road. Be careful of the slippery floor in tile shower
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Value for money hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Staff and cleanliness
Cons: Provision of a pool
Location: Location on a main road so try and get a room at the back which has marvellous views
We stayed at hotel for a week and had a wonderful balcony to sit on at night with a fabulous view. Room quite small but adequate for our needs and very clean. Staff all very friendly and helpful and breakfast good value for money. Hotel used by travellers and business men for short stays usually. About 15 minute walk from centre of Lucca but very handy for road network.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Nothing like a four star hotel

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Most things
Location: Nothing near - Lucca town abt twenty mins walk
Terrible position-20 mins walk from old town but right on main road so very noisy night and day. Also noise of social events very late at night Room dull, no natural light. Wifi not working nor heating nor air conditionig. To get a drink you had to go through reception as bar usually not staffed. The whole place was rundown and undermanned.
3 out of 5
by Deborah from Annette & Gary - Oviedo, Florida

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived Saturday, April 23, 2016, without a reservation and was told that no rooms were available. The front desk clerk (male)that the hotel was sold out. We requested recommendations for other hotels in the area and was given a couple of phone numbers to call. None of the other hotels had rooms. The desk clerk heard our difficulty and found 2 rooms available in the hotel after all. Not certain why he refused us initially so I am torn between being annoyed that he lied about no availability but happy that he decided to open empty rooms for us to rent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simple / Good place

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
Easy to find. Clean, comfortable, good service and breakfast. We had a balcony that we enjoyed. WiFi was poor.