Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Excellent location in a historic building

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Location and staff helpfulness. Good shower and bathroom.
Cons: The bed was too firm. Pillows flimsy
Location: In the middle of the oldest part of Lucca, shops and dining steps away. Cycling both in the town and outside the town.
Centrally located in the oldest part of Lucca. Staff were friendly and helpful with suggestions for restaurants and activities. Make sure you're ok with going up a flight of stairs because it's in an old building there is no elevator.
4 out of 5
by jacques from Montreal

Great (or the greatest) choice in Lucca

Posted Jun 29, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent BB in te heart of Lucca. Cannot imagine better welcoming and better location. Very nice family owned property. Very dedicated hostess and nice place to stay overall. they even take care of your car !! Really a good choice if you want to avoid expensive hotels.
5 out of 5
by Brian from Connecticut

Letting you in on a secret

Posted Jun 15, 2015 on Hotels
I spent three nights at La Romea. I know Lucca well. La Romea, not a hotel but a five room Residenza d'Epoca (which could be translated as a B&B in an historical setting), is located in what many people consider the most beautiful medieval palazzo in Lucca. It sits on a tiny square facing the lovely, exquisite, church of Sant' Andrea. The Guinigi tower is 2 minutes down the street and Via Fillungi is 1 minute in the opposite direction. In other words, I can't think of a better location for a stay in Lucca. It is, be assured, quiet. The owners, your hosts, Giulio and Gaia, husband and wife, could not be more hospitable. A friendly, inviting, and comfortable space. Very nice breakfast, which I usually avoid. They (well, their cook, a charming Italian matron) made eggs to order, which was was delivered and eaten with equal enthusiasm. The bedroom was large, the bed good, the bathroom large and (by my usual experiences) luxurious. I slept well. I could come and go as I wished. The other guests, all couples, primarily English speaking (NZ, Australia, US) were compatible breakfast companions (all too rare) and I would run into them on the street, which created a pleasant, brief camaraderie. For most of them it was their first time in Lucca. I'm sure they will return. From now on, when I need a place to stay for a few nights in Lucca, I will stay at La Romea.
5 out of 5
by Paul from Bristol

Great place to stay!

Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels
Great location in this lovely old towm, bit difficult to find but we did arrive in darkness! For those who like to stay in atmospheric and different style accomodation, not for those looking for modern concrete boxes! Owners were great and very helpful. Lovely breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay here! It is really the loveliest experience!

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels
This was a dream come true. The building overall is really impressive, and the whole space where the hotel is situated (4th floor) is really beautiful. The couple that own the hotel are lovely, went out of their way to welcome us and make the experience an outstanding one. The breakfast was the best we had during our whole trip. The hotel doesn't have an elevator but that is really not an issue considering that the owners just take the lead and help you carry the bags for you up and down the stairs. We stayed in Italy for 10 days in 6 hotels in total and this one was by far our best experience, one of the highlights of our trip.
5 out of 5
by Walsh family from Surrey

Excellent location

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels
We were given excellent information in advance by the owners on how to reach La Romea from the train station (it is very easy and takes about ten minutes on foot). From the outside the building doesn't look too encouraging but walking through the front door on the second floor changes all that. The main sitting/dining room is really lovely. There are about five sets of rooms overall; the one we had was huge (we were two adults and two teenage girls) and the en-suite bathroom was not much smaller. The air-conditioning worked fine, there was excellent (i.e., fast) free Wi-Fi and outside was nice and quiet. The location is brilliant - right in the middle of Lucca making everywhere easy to get to and about 40/50 metres from the main north-south road that everyone uses. The breakfasts were excellent too, and all served up in a very tranquil and relaxed manner. If/when we return to Lucca we will definitely go back to La Romea Residenza d'Epoca.
5 out of 5
by Richard Balzer from Boston, Ma., USA

close to all must-see sights

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay. Our host and hostess were terrific. They helped with our luggage, gave us great tips of places to visit, and a good list of restaurants. Hard to beat.
5 out of 5
by David from Sydney, Australia

'Perfect'

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels
A beautiful B&B in the heart of the walled city of Lucca. Great owners who are helpful and very pleasant.
5 out of 5
by HIROYUKI

便利で清潔な宿。

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
とても良かった。この次は家族も連れてきたい。