Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kelowna, BC

A home away from home!!!!

Posted Oct 1, 2014
We stayed in this B&B in Lucca for a week. Anna the owner is so friendly and helpful and by the time we said goodbye she felt like family. The B & B is situated very close to the train station and also close to the walled city , 2,4km. Included in our stay was the use of bikes with lights, baskets and locks that made our stay so much more enjoyable .Lucca is a very bike friendly city and we found cycling everywhere like the locals was the answer!!!!!
5 out of 5
by Duncan from Aberdeen

Home from Home

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels
As soon as we arrived we were made to feel like we were in a home from home. The lady who runs Al Tondone (Anna, if I remember rightly), was extremely welcoming and friendly and was eager to give us plenty of advice about Lucca and the surrounding area. She also has bicycles which she let us use for free - this was extremely handy as, although we had a car, it was really worth going into Lucca by bike as you can cycle along the top of the city wall, and get further into town without having to pay for parking or worry too much about getting lost. The B&B is in a really nice suburban area, the 5-10 minute cycle to and from town was easy and quite pleasant. The room was a good size, comfortable with good air con, and breakfast was great. Highly recommended and would hope to stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful comfortable close numerous attractions.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Welcomed and greeted by the owner bella Anna. Whom always looks takes care and gives wonderful advice on places to see within Lucca and also outside if Lucca. We had a so derf stay and visited baby beautiful places from Lucca , Pisa and Porto Venere. Ci vediamo anno prossimo . We will return next year . Grazie Anna per tutto x
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

The perfect B&B in Lucca.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing, don't change a thing!
Location: Set in a garden suburb of Lucca you can visit this walled city but also make the effort to visit Tore del Lago (30min away).
We stayed for four nights and were made welcome from the moment of our arrival by Anna, the owner. The room was very clean and very comfortable. Tea, coffee and little snacks were available at all times in a pretty garden room where breakfast was laid out each day. Anna told us where we could park in Lucca but we preferred to use the bicycles which were freely offered for our use. When we needed to rest we had use of a beautiful garden at any time. It felt as if we were living with the family in their home. I cannot fault nor recommend this delightful guest house to highly, it was perfect in every way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mills from England, UK

Lovely bed and breakfast home to stay in ......

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Pros: Easy use of a private home with lovely hosts.
Cons: There were none.
Location: Outside of Lucca, but still within easy reach by bicyle.
A very picturesque bed and breakfast which felt like a home. Breakfast was a varied assortment of lovely homemade items which included small toasts with tomato, basil and oil - delicious. The bedroom was spacious and nicely decorated, along with the ensuite shower room. We were given free use of two bicycles, one being brand new, which we used each day into Lucca during our 3 day stay. Anna, who spoke english, was very accomodating and Benito organised the bicycles.
5 out of 5
by Gemma

Highlight of the tour of Tuscany!

Posted Sep 16, 2012 on Hotels
Beautiful house and gardens. Anna was so helpful with everything, she gave some excellent recommendations towards restaurants and what to do and where to go. She especially and generously accommodated for my coeliac diet! The place itself is easy to find, and once you have done the cycle on the free bikes they provide its memorised. Beds are really comfy and the hosue is really clean. Had a great authentic italian feel to this part of our trip and are forever grateful!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming B&B, lovely hostess

Posted Sep 26, 2011 on Hotels
A charming house just an easy flat 2km stroll out of lucca. Beautiful and tranquil gardens. Bikes are provided free, and cycling is the best way to get in and around Lucca. Anna, the owner could not do enough to help us - lovely lady. Great option for anyone with a car, as there is parking on-site.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

What a find!

Posted May 11, 2011 on Hotels
Lovely B&B. Anna and her family took great care of us and went out of their way to help us.The house is set in a lovely garden. Breakfast was varied and very tasty. We had a car so it was in a great location to get out and explore Lucca and the surrounding areas in Tuscany. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset, UK

Al Tondone - B&B in Lucca - Excellent service

Posted Apr 10, 2011 on Hotels
We stayed two nights in this very well-run B&B. Our experience was very positive, due to the excellent service and welcome provided by the owner, Anna. The only drawback is the distance from the city (about a 30 minute walk along some quite busy roads in places). However Anna made up for this by collecting and taking us in her car to the station and providing good bikes free of charge. We have no complaints and we would highly recommend this B&B to anyone unless the location is an issue.
5 out of 5
by Malene

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastik sted! Kan kun anbefales. Man føler sig hjemme med det samme og Anna og hendes mand passer rigtig godt på en.