Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very friendly, would definitely recommend

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Location: Great location in Lucca, short walk to the main parts of Lucca and the bus station with buses into Pisa and Florence.
Very friendly staff, great facilities and cleanliness, would definitely visit again and recommend to friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilton, California

Well worth the money

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Albergo San Martino was conveniently located just a couple minutes from the wall walk. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay in a great position.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: This hotel is within the wall and conveniently position. We really enjoyed our stay.
This was a great place to stay close to the action with a good restaurant around the corner. Staff were great and very pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Delightful stay in Lucca!

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Only hotel to provide Kleenex in the bathroom - I had a cold and really appreciated it. Bathroom is very modern - was upgraded 2 years ago.
Cons: Carpeting up the stairs looked old and stained. Not an issue honestly. I am not sure there was an elevator for people who would require one.
Location: The location is right off the first main street you come to from the train station - the "alleyway" looks a bit sketch, but isn't. Close to everything
Easy walk to hotel from train station - personable and cheerful greeting by staff - room was comfortable and attractively decorated - bathroom was very modern and well equipped - there is a nice lobby and a front patio/garden area for sitting. You are centrally located to enjoy old town and the historic sites - easy walking to everything. Ride a bike on the ramparts - a LOT of fun. Breakfast was full of variety and delicious food. Charming and delightful stay. Rick Steves said a bit "long in the tooth" - but except for some older carpeting on the stairs - I found the hotel to be fresh and clean and updated. We stayed in the main hotel building - as a complimentary upgrade from the annex. For our needs and for wanting to be at a charming place - this was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Good location, very friendly and welcoming staff,

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Location and staff and cleanliness
Cons: more pillows
Location: shopping, walking around the wall
The location of the hotel was very central and the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. If I had to make a small comment would be it would be nice to have 2 pillows per person.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire, UK

Excellent location within the city walls

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Good, quiet location.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: All within easy walking distance of inner walled Lucca.
Lovely friendly staff, excellent breakfast! A friendly welcome, all staff willing to help and offer information.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good small hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Location was convient to everything and short walk from train station, except in a rain storm. lol
Cons: fan noise in the bathroom
Staff are very pleasant, friendly and helpful, especially with carrying luggage up a few flights of stairs, checkin was smooth, as was check out. ensured we had taxi to train station in time, even during the rain storm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

charming hotel in a charming city

Posted Feb 8, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Albergo San Martino. It is a compact hotel with a personality and a colorful history. The staff was exceptionally helpful and cheery. All of Lucca's charms, its cafes and piazzas are within comfortable walking distance. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff
Location: Ideal for sightseeing
Stayed for a few days, I wanted to be close to the teatro as I had tickets for a recital. Arrived in awful weather conditions early evening and was delighted to be given an upgrade from a single room in the annex to a large double in the main hotel. Staff really kind and helpful, unfortunately the weather was pretty bad for my whole stay but they made me feel at home when going out in pouring rain was not really an option. Would recommend staying, all of the main attractions in Lucca are just a short walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Lucca is Lovely

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Location close to the train station. Comfortable room with small terace, great breakfast and friendly staff.
Location: Restaurants everywhere. Plenty of places to shop and lots of interesting, historical sites. Centrally located to Pisa and Cinque Terre.
Our room in the annex was very roomy and comfortable. Great bed, great view. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was amazing!