Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cotswolds UK

Lovely hotel opposite the beach

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Mostly everything
Cons: A little more choice at breakfast
Location: Good central position, lovely beach. Easy to visit Pisa and Luca and further with the excellent bus and train service
I stayed here with 2 friends and had a really nice stay, the hotel staff are very friendly and know their job. Hotel is opposite the beautiful beach in Viareggio and in a good central position. The main road in front is a little noisy but I knew it was there having stayed in the resort before. Useful bus stops are right opposite and just behind the hotel. Very nice garden and swimming pool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Grand Royal Hotel, Viareggio

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: as above
Cons: Bedrooms although clean could benefit from upgrading
Location: Lovely seaside resort which offers easy access to all Tuscan tourist attractions.
This hotel was created in a bygone age but exudes quality from its design to furnishings. It is perhaps now a little tired and could be upgraded by tasteful refurbishment. The location is convenient for the beach, eating and shopping with a bus stop outside which allows travel to Pisa and Lucca. We had a room on the 5th floor which gave excellent sea views.The most disappointing thing about the hotel would be the evening dining which did not offer a great menu and it was a requisite that you should choose your meal whilst attending breakfast. The pool bar offred a menu which could have been improved by offering more snack type meals. That said the pool area and pool were outstanding and spotlessly clean as indeed was the whole hotel and its curtilege. All the staff were very pleasant at all times and those at reception were most helpful. Overall we had a great stay at the Grand Hotel Royal and would unhesitatingly recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your comment and apologies for some inconvenient! Just to clarify and this is well describe in to the menu the pre-order menu at breakfast is not mandatory is only a choice. Hope to welcome you again Kind REGARDS
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful traditional hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Position and comfort with friendly helpful staff
Cons: Garden and pool area was closed as it was early in the season
Location: Central position for everything
Had a lovel time staying here with good breakfasts and fabulous customer service from all the staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel We would like to thank you for your comments Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand Best Wishes
5 out of 5
by Marco

Old world charm

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Probably one of my favourite hotels. Great position on the sea front in a building full of character. 10/10
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from england

Friendly hotel Staff very friendly good breakfas

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: Good bus service Plenty of shops Clean beach Good choice restaurants
We were upgraded to sea view room free of charge. Staff helpful printed maps for us and gave us bus timetables tea making facilities in room Given free water and wine and apology when there was a problem with water Good location near beach shops and restaurants
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel convenient location

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Very friendly, helpful staff. Lovely building, comfortable spaces and great service in the restaurant. I will definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Most of the people we met are repeat customers.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Everything. What's not to like?
Cons: Day trips from hotel.
Location: Puccini Festival in nearby Torre del Lago.
Ten nights in paradise. Stately hotel across the street from the beach. Excellent pool with attentive staff. Loved the bar. Loved breakfast and the two nights we had dinner in the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

Grand hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: The gardens, breakfast room, location and helpful staff.
Cons: The rooms and corridors could do with a makeover. Bathrooms are fine.
Location: Right on the seafront close to shops. Easy to get to Puccini festival at nearby Torre Del Lago.
This is a grand hotel with a beautiful garden and breakfast room. The swimming pool is large and deep. The rooms are large but a little tired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old world charm

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Liked that it was a 1920 style hotel
Cons: Double glazing
Location: When in Tuscany you must visit Lucca
Lovely hotel wonderful staff but be prepared when booking a sea view room for street noise which is a small price to pay. Lunch time menu at the pool bar was excellent