Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from england

Friendly hotel Staff very friendly good breakfas

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: Good bus service Plenty of shops Clean beach Good choice restaurants
We were upgraded to sea view room free of charge. Staff helpful printed maps for us and gave us bus timetables tea making facilities in room Given free water and wine and apology when there was a problem with water Good location near beach shops and restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel convenient location

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Very friendly, helpful staff. Lovely building, comfortable spaces and great service in the restaurant. I will definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Most of the people we met are repeat customers.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Everything. What's not to like?
Cons: Day trips from hotel.
Location: Puccini Festival in nearby Torre del Lago.
Ten nights in paradise. Stately hotel across the street from the beach. Excellent pool with attentive staff. Loved the bar. Loved breakfast and the two nights we had dinner in the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

Grand hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: The gardens, breakfast room, location and helpful staff.
Cons: The rooms and corridors could do with a makeover. Bathrooms are fine.
Location: Right on the seafront close to shops. Easy to get to Puccini festival at nearby Torre Del Lago.
This is a grand hotel with a beautiful garden and breakfast room. The swimming pool is large and deep. The rooms are large but a little tired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old world charm

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Liked that it was a 1920 style hotel
Cons: Double glazing
Location: When in Tuscany you must visit Lucca
Lovely hotel wonderful staff but be prepared when booking a sea view room for street noise which is a small price to pay. Lunch time menu at the pool bar was excellent
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston, ma

Lovely location

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Staff was great but rooms need new bedding and better lighting. Location is fabulous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Pros: Excellent buffet breakfasts. Good size pool. Friendly and very helpful staff. Bus stops outside hotel, with buses direct to Pisa, Pisa Airport.
Cons: Breakfast bag not very inspiring. You advise that bus from airport direct to hotel. Also inform that hotel provides beach towels.
Location: Pisa, Lucca and Florence all very accessible as are other towns along the coast.
Hotel was conveniently situated to many restaurants and shops. Beach for which there was a charge to use is just across the road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houghton-le-Spring, UK

Can't fault this hotel.

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Pros: Central for all bars and restaurants in Viareggio
Nothing was too much effort. All staff were pleasant, helpful and friendly except perhaps the pool lifeguard who was rather pedantic at times which sunloungers were available for usage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from herts

Great place

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: It's style. It reminded me of Poirot- Art Deco and a little bit of tlc
Cons: I can't think of anything. I wished we had eaten there one night- the gala buffet sounded good.
Location: There are lots of designer shops, restaurants , bars and 10 km of sandy beach, across the road. We particularly liked the Cassablanca restaurant
Just returned from a week at this lovely hotel. We booked a triple room and had a mini suite- two doubles with a lounge and bathroom. The room was spotless. We did have a problem with the air conditioning the first night and this was fixed immediately. We were also given a fan, just in case, but we didn't need it. We stayed bed and breakfast and the breakfast was excellent, loads of choice for all tastes and eggs to order too. All the staff in the hotel were courteous, professional and provided excellent service. The pool and garden were extremely well kept and very relaxing. There were plenty of sun loungers and towels were provided. Lovely beach across the road. Lucca nearby is worth a visit. It's a great family resort, very Italian and relaxing. For those who like a bit of class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great luxury hotel, opposite promenade and beach.

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: Great location and very comfortable, elegant hotel with great facilities. The hotel was about a 20 min walk to the railway station, good for trips.
Location: The hotel was opposite the promenade and beach in Viagreggio, plenty to do or just walk along and take the air in the evenings or during the day.
Elegant Italian hotel, very efficient staff, great facilities, pool and location, lovely food - would most definitely stay at the Grand Royal Hotel, Viareggio again. A very clean, wide promenade was opposite the hotel (and behind that the beach) - nice shops and restaurants and very pleasant to stroll along. The railway station was about 20min walk away, good for direct rail journeys to Florence, Pisa and Lucca. We also went on coach tours with a guide (arranged via the hotel) to Siena and Portofino and saw the beautiful Tuscan countryside. We went on great trips, went on the beach or by the hotel pool - there was plenty to do and we enjoyed our fortnight stay there very much.