Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tunbridge Wells, UK

Very enjoyable

Posted Oct 3, 2016
This is a super hotel. The staff are extremely polite and helpful, from Reception to bar to breakfast room to room staff. The bedroom was rather minimalist compared to the website photos but kept very clean with frequent changes of towels and bed linen. The public areas are elegant and comfortable. The breakfast buffet selection was very good and varied. The hotel is at the quieter end of the promenade, about a mile from the Marian but a pleasant walk along the front, with lots of smart shops and a good selection of bars and restaurants all along the front. Taxi to Viareggio station costs about 10 Euros (it's a bit too far to walk).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Shear luxury

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Beautiful hotel. Five star from begining to end. Very attentive staff nothing too much trouble. Room , food, and reception areas excellent. The pool on the roof is delightful. Look forward to returning for a bit more pampering.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LONDON UK

Good location

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The position is excellent. The breakfast was very good and the swimming pool was excellent. The concierge was very helpful & friendly.
Cons: Soundproofing down pipes. Advertise that the hotel offers bicycles to guests. It was not until the last full day of our stay that we aware of this.
Location: Location is excellent. Good restaurants along the promenade and walking was very safe. The mountains and villages in this area are excellent.
The breakfast was very good but I cannot understand why 2 fried eggs would cost 10 Euros. The swimming pool on the roof was excellent. The room was not as described. Hill View? All we could see was flats behind the hotel and adjoining rooms. Also the room suffered from noises when other rooms flushed their toilets. The pipes must have been in our room as the noise was quite loud. Lastly, the minibar prices were the highest I have seen. 6 Euros for a half liter bottle of water. Hotels in the Far East allow hotel guests free bottled water. Overall a pleasant stay but I have had better experiences at other local hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

Excellent Hotel and central location

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: An exceptional variety and quality for Breakfast. The jewel in the crown was the small rooftop pool and 2 Michelin Star rooftop Restaurant.
Cons: Area for evening dinening very pleasant but menu lacking and expensive.
Location: Central beach front location set on wide esplanade. Wide selection of restaurants and highend shopping outlets. Private beaches. Large local park area
From the time we checked in to the time we left, the Hotel was elegant and staff gave great personal service.A Hotel from another era but still giving 5star rating.Closeness to the Beach was good although beach costs are high. Variety of good quality nearby restaurants and highend shopping. Local train and bus services in easy reach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2016
This hotel is excellent. The staff are all friendly and exceptionally helpful. The only problem is if you stay on the first floor, all morning and all evening you hear plates clattering and music from the dining and event halls on the ground level. Room prices reflect this I'm sure. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to anyone interested.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Very nice hotel Fairly expensive. Small pool and extra charge to use the beach
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

dirty and ugly

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Very dirty carpets in the hallways, horrible decoration. Nothing to do with the pictures. Very disappointing. Friendly staff, long wait at reception.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts

Centrally located smart hotel on beach front

Posted May 20, 2016
Lovely hotel, helpful and friendly staff Great service in restaurant for breakfast, hot and cold buffet. Spa facilities very good. Terrace pool, inviting and pool warm No bar presence during our visit. Our standard classic room was very comfortable, large bed and crisp bed linen. Shower facility in room was challenging as very compact with folding doors, not the best design for ease and comfort Was offered a room with bath but our room was large and airy, our preference. We enjoyed our stay and would return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent top-flight hotel opposite the beach

Posted Dec 30, 2015
The Hotel is the grandest and most elegant one in Viareggio - excellent rooms, a first-rate restaurant, gym facilities and super location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal Canada

Best in the city of Viareggio

Posted Sep 4, 2015
This beautiful hotel situated in the center of the city near the beach gives you a genuine feeling of being part of a different era. Somewhat outdated however charming. The hotel offers beautiful views of the ocean and the mountains to the east. great walking distance and bicycles can be rented near by for a safe and pleasant ride along the shore line. there were a few problems though. There was no one there to valet the car or pick up my luggage when I checked in. Once we were given a room there was a smell that stayed and made sleeping unpleasant. I learned later that there was a freon gas leak from the air conditioning. It took two days for them to set us up in an alternate room which was our last day. well better than nothing. just sleeping with the window to the street open every night was annoying. the new room was great and the staff from that point was exceptional. Parking of 36.00 Euros a night was in my opinion extreme but they waived that fee because of the problem that I was having with the room.