Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and friendly hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 27, 2016
We stayed there for 2 weeks, the staff is very friendly, eager to help, always smiling. Breakfast is basic, but pleasant enough once you know what to go for - cappucino - not americano! :) and you can ask for a fried egg :) Rooms are pleasant, (smallish but enough space in wardrobes), with a small fridge, clean, bathroom basic, but functional. The most important is the location - 100 meters from the lovely and busy beach and a promenade with restaurants (mostly pizza and pasta :) and fashionable shops. On the other side is a lovely pine park - at the weekend there was an international food festival (a welcome break from pizza :). It's worth looking into some flyers - as otherwise we would have missed this event. The hotel staff and waiters in restaurants speak mostly basic English. Other great thing about the location is that just 20 minutes walk across the town there is Viaraggio train station - from there easy links to Pisa, Lucca, Livorno, Florence etc. We also went to Carrara - and walked up the mountain to see a lovely village of Fontia. I would recommend hiring bikes as there is a lovely cycle run along the promenade which goes long way in both directions along the beach - you can reach free beaches then and not pay 20 euros for your sun beds :) Altogether great holiday, full of different activities, and at the end of the day we knew that we will have a good rest in a quiet, clean and pleasant hotel :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simon from London

Freindly and professional

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Very freindly and helpful family run hotel. Clean. Large room and bed. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels
Great location, 1 block from the promenade. friendly helpful staff. It's about 30 minute walk from train station, so we did a lot of walking. close to a great park for kids.
4 out of 5
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay in lovely family-run hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2012
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: No view from our room at the back of the hotel
Location: Location was very good and close to the beach but away from any noise.
Staying at the Massimo Hotel was a very pleasant experience, with lovely staff who would help in any way
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Helen from London, UK

Hotel Massimo- Squeaky Beds!

Posted Feb 24, 2012
Pros: Staff, breakfast, lounge.
Cons: Beds
Location: Ideal for walking to the promenade and seafront.
The hotel was perfect for my frined and I on a shoprt break to Italy for the Cranivale and an excellent base to do some sightseeing of the area. The bed was very uncomfortable and squeaky, but cleanliness,staff helpfulnes and the inclusive breakfast were all great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria,Canada

Hotel Massimo- Close to beach

Posted Aug 4, 2011 on Hotels
We stayed here for only one night as we wanted a beach day on our visit to Tuscany. We also planned on going to pisa for dinner only 20 minutes by train. The hotel is exactly as described and shown on the website. It is like being in someone's house with lots of Italian looking furniture and nick knacks. Room was fine and shower was unique as described by others. I would have no problem staying here again. It is a bit far from the station to walk with cases. Taxi cost 10 euro (2011) so no problem. Beach is just at the end of the road and the staff recommended the nouvo Italia beach resort as it had a pool and it was only about 27 euro for the day. Staff were very helpful. We got caught by a train stike so were asking lots of questions. I could not find any pizza places or markets near by but there were lots of restuarants and bars on the strip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wollongong, Australia

Friendly Hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2010 on Hotels
I enjoyed staying at Hotel Massimo. Although my stay was only a short stay the hotel had everything I needed to make my stay in Viareggio a good one. It was very close to the beach and not too far from the train station. The room itself was large which was good and there was even a bar fridge which was cool. Overall I got my money's worth from staying with Hotel Massimo and I would stay there again if I was to return to Italy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nähe München

Great stay!

Posted Oct 1, 2008 on Hotels
- nice staff - just a few minutes to the beach
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bad Salzuflen NRW

Man darf keinen Wert auf ein modernes Zimmer legen

Posted Aug 3, 2008 on Hotels
Service sehr gut und nett. Zimmer etwas renovierungsbedüftig. Frühstück ok. Tolle Strandnähe. Schade das keine Strandnutzung im Hotelpreis inbegriffen war wie ich es eigentlich kenne.