Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent breakfast, tired rooms

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Decoration on upper floors
We booked a small double room with a balcony and requested a top floor room. When we saw the room (on the 4th floor) we were disappointed as it was very small and the wallpaper was peeling and the balcony only had space for one chair. We expressed our dissatisfaction to the lady on reception and she gave us the key to a similarsized room on the first floor. This was better decorated but as we had specifically requested a room on the upper floors again it didn't suit. feeling very apologetic we returned the key and asked if it was possible to upgrade. We were then shown a triple room on the top floor. This was a lot bigger and had a good bathroom with bath and shower. It was very dated and the carpet was something that would have been used in the UK 50 years ago and needed a good vacuum. However it was the best option so we took it. Having had this initial experience we were not expecting much from the breakfast but were very pleasantly surprised. Every conceivable cereal, fresh fruit salad, yogurt; scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, ham, salami, cheese; bread, pastries and coffee or tea and serviced by 2 lovely helpful ladies. Overall the hotel looks as though it is being modernised from the bottom up with the ground floor reception, lounge and dining room and the first floor already being done and the upper floor waiting
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alberta

Good hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
The hotel was a little difficult to get there but once there great.the free bikes was a nice touch
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Clean. Well presented. On a very busy road. Be careful of the slippery floor in tile shower
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Value for money hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Staff and cleanliness
Cons: Provision of a pool
Location: Location on a main road so try and get a room at the back which has marvellous views
We stayed at hotel for a week and had a wonderful balcony to sit on at night with a fabulous view. Room quite small but adequate for our needs and very clean. Staff all very friendly and helpful and breakfast good value for money. Hotel used by travellers and business men for short stays usually. About 15 minute walk from centre of Lucca but very handy for road network.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Nothing like a four star hotel

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Most things
Location: Nothing near - Lucca town abt twenty mins walk
Terrible position-20 mins walk from old town but right on main road so very noisy night and day. Also noise of social events very late at night Room dull, no natural light. Wifi not working nor heating nor air conditionig. To get a drink you had to go through reception as bar usually not staffed. The whole place was rundown and undermanned.
3 out of 5
by Deborah from Annette & Gary - Oviedo, Florida

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived Saturday, April 23, 2016, without a reservation and was told that no rooms were available. The front desk clerk (male)that the hotel was sold out. We requested recommendations for other hotels in the area and was given a couple of phone numbers to call. None of the other hotels had rooms. The desk clerk heard our difficulty and found 2 rooms available in the hotel after all. Not certain why he refused us initially so I am torn between being annoyed that he lied about no availability but happy that he decided to open empty rooms for us to rent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simple / Good place

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
Easy to find. Clean, comfortable, good service and breakfast. We had a balcony that we enjoyed. WiFi was poor.
5 out of 5
by Donald from Vancouver Island

A great place to stay in Lucca

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel with fine service walking distance to shops, services and to the walled city sector of Lucca. Very good air conditioning and secure if slow Internet service. Excellent breakfast buffet in nice dining room. Each 5th floor pent house suite has its own patio. Exercise equipment on 5th floor landing. Very helpful and courteous staff.
4 out of 5
by Grant from Melbourne

Simple Hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
Business Trip - so wanted a hotel with easy access to main roads to get to the places I need to be. Was originally in a room on the 1st floor that was in desperate need of renovation. Requested a move and 20 euro a night later was in a newly renovated room on level 3. It was worth the upgrade.
4 out of 5
by tiler

Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
good breakfast,a decent nights sleep,pushy staff :(