Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC, Canada

Classy hotel in great location

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Front desk staff always helpful.
Cons: Bit noisy from the street because the windows need to be modernized.
Location: Can't get a better location than this.
Classy place. Room was bit small but well appointed. Great views from the small balcony. Breakfast buffet was more than ample.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from cambridge

Old world charm

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Very clean and well kept.
Cons: Choice for breakfast
Location: Plenty of lovely architecture, long front promenade with nice shops, restaurants and gelateria. Pisa is a 14minute train trip away too!
We stayed at this hotel for a few days in September. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The rooms very very clean the bathrooms well equipped although the showers are tiny, Breakfast was fair, not too much choice but what there was was nice,the restaurants chef has a Michelin Star if you fancy fine dining in the evening. The area is full of lovely architecture dating back to a different era and the place does have a gentile atmosphere. (Except the beach hawkers, who were very persistent 😡) The beaches in Viareggio are all private and this hotel has an agreement with "Italia" beach and you can purchase a couple of deck chairs and parasol for €11 there is an extra €5 to upgrade to a sunbed and a further €3 for the use of a beach towel. However I believe this is reasonable for this area. After all that you would think the "owners" of said beaches Would keep the sellers of useful items like pegs, umbrellas, tea towels and brooms, as well as the usual sunglasses bags watches etc, away from their paying guests. Or are they only private when it suits??? This was our only annoyance and thoroughly recommend the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Off season

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Nice hotel at a good rate. Beautiful view of the bay from the breakfast lounge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great elegant hotel by the sea, at an amazing pric

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Location by the sea and promenade. It has a wonderful lobby. My single room was perfect for one.
Cons: It is perfect as is.
Location: Right across the beach and promenade with lots of restaurants and activities.
Very nice, well kept hotel by the sea and promenade.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Near to the Yacht yards area and close to the sea

Posted Feb 2, 2015
This hotel is ideal if you have to work in any of the yacht yards in Viareggio. Most of them are within walking distance from this hotel (10 to 15 minute depending from the yard you are going to). The rooms are clean and the staff helpful. The breakfast is usually served at the top floor restaurant. The view of the sea from the top floor is very beautiful and make you start the morning on the right foot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John

One of my best experiences in Italy

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Pros: Every thing, could not ask for anything more
Cons: nothing
Location: Great, fifteen minutes from train to Lucca, Pisa,Montacatini, and ten minutes from ferry to Cinque Terra
The hotel was easy to find from the train station in Viareggio, right on the promonade and so easy to reach all the shops and fine restaurants. The room was clean as a whistle and made up promptly each morning. Speaking of morning, the breakfast was beyond belief, three kinds of cheeses, ham, salami,three kinds of bread,scrambled eggs, bacon,two kinds of yogurt, fresh fruit,three kinds of pastries and on and on. Don't try to carry your own bag or they will take your arm off, they are right there for all your needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Brisbane QLD, Australia

Perfect

Posted Jun 13, 2013
Pros: Clean well appointed
Cons: Nothing
Location: Ideally located with a nice view of the ocean from the rooftop restaurant
Total value for money with friendly helpful staff, the hotel was perfect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location at decent price!

Posted Sep 5, 2012
Pros: Location, location, location!
Cons: Limited choice at breakfast
Location: Situated across boardwalk - the main attraction of the town
Great location - situated across the boardwark which is the town's main attraction. Nice staff, helpful reception service. Decent-looking hallway and lounge area. Breakfast served at the rooftop terrace; choices somewhat limited. The only complaint: room size; wish it were a bit bigger.
2 out of 5
by Mike from Bristol UK

Did not live up to its promotion.

Posted Sep 3, 2012
Pros: The Terraced Restaurant and view while having breakfast. The staff at reception were very helpful
Cons: The shower situation - The PC internet was free of charge but slow
Location: The hotel is situated on a main road which can be noisy but also can be seen as lively with crowds on an evening enjoying their evenng walk.
Initially as you enter the public spaces it appeared to be am elegant and comfortable hotel. The room we chose on booking was a superior room (we had to confirm it was a superior room when we saw it) it did not have the space as one would expect for that type of room, it was square although the ceilings were high. The Bathroom was large enough but the shower head was too small and the water pressure was very low most times that we used it, the shower doors leaked a certain amount of water onto the bathroom floor which we had to mop up everytime, no great problem but not really to be expected. The staff at reception desk were always very helpful when we required information or assistance, we did advise them about the water pressure and the leak but the problem stayed with us, I have no doubt they would have passed the the message on. The wardrobe rails were okay if you were 6' foot tall as they were too high and at the wrong angle. We do not want to be seen as nit picking, but if the Hotel promotes itself as a memorable and comfortable experience then it must conform to all parts of the accomodation and not to the outward public spaces. One word of warning if you drive to the hotel, when we arrived on 19th August the parking situation was horrendous in Viareggio as a whole, the space for hotel guests was for loading or unloading, the only parking was in the public spaces (if you could get one) this did ease off towards the end of our stay at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Brian from Northamptonshire

Good location, clean and tidy.

Posted Sep 14, 2011
We had a standard room and thus had no balcony. Our window opened to an internal court yard which was a bit disappointing.