Ratings based on 297 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pillows were awful, we didn't sleep well at all.

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful area, close to Pisa. Because we stayed there in October, low season, lots of restaurants were closed. The breakfast was very limited but adequate if you stay for only a few days, after one week we had enough of it. The best part of our stay was cycling on the front beach, a long nice and flat cycling path and also through the big parks and forests behinf the hotel and after the port.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thanks for your review. We didn't know about the pillows? They are hard or soft? Just contact the reception desk for any "request" We really hope you will comeback and try our new breakfast with our new staf in the restaurant. We are sure you will like it! Kind regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top notch.

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Two nights to chill out at the end of a trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review! Hope you will comebak to try our new breakfast! Kind regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
I hired a mobility scooter for my stay and staff were very helpful with storage etc. All the staff were polite and very helpful throughout my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Sir. It was a pleasure.. Hope to see you again in Viareggio...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments... Hope to see you again in Viareggio
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london, england

The hotel was very close to the promenade and sea.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Excellent location. Close to the sea. Great for hiring g bicycle.
Cons: Would have been nice with terrace in the sun to be able to sit outside for a drink.
Location: Right on the promenade and close to bars for spot of people watching
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by pp, Hotel Management
Thank you Mrs Maggie for your review. We really hope to see you again in Viareggio
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Chose this hotel after reading reviews and was near enough as described. Arrived for 4 nights in this quiet side of Vereggio in October after addending a Wedding in Sienna . Hotel kindly upgraded us to room for 3 as Superia double not big enough for cot . Room satisfied our needs was modern , clean with tiny balcony. Staff very nice especially Pasquelle who made my stay comfortable. Good location for Pisa by train only 20 mins even Florance 1hr 50mins day trip was manageable for 2 just under 20 euros , Taxis very expensive in Italy ! All in all Esplanade Hotel pleasant to stay and great value , would consider returning if ever I was in this beautiful part of Italy again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2016 by P.P., Hotel Management
Dear Mr Alex, we would like to thank you for your kind word and we are really happy you enjoyed your stay at the Esplanade and in Viareggio. We really hope to see you again here! Kind regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
Close to the beach, great restaurants, close to Pisa. Had an awesome time, look forward to going there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for you kind review, we really hope to see you in Viareggio again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel.

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
This is a very nice hotel. We chose a room with a balcony but not one with a sea view as that was over the road so I thought it might be a bit noisey. I shouldn't have worried though because the hotel had excellent black out shutters which cut out outside noise. The hotel is one of the old hotels from a bygone era and therefore thick walls meant no internal hotel noise either. There was also free wifi and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The pillows could have been softer but that seems to be the thing in Italian hotels. The room was a double with sofa bed and a balcony at the back. Very nice and spacious, good air con and very clean, good bed and nice decor. The TV didn't have all the English speaking channels but who goes to Italy to watch TV. The staff were lovely- we couldn't get the safe to work and they were straight out to fix it. Also, we rolled up the black out shutter too much one day and they were straight out to fix that too. The breakfast was nice. I read the reviews prior to booking and thought that the criticism of the coffe machine was a bit picky but guess what, it wasn't- they really should upgrade it. And if that is the only criticism of the hotel, how good is that! It's right in the front without being right on the front (I imagine those hotels would be noisy. It's close to all of the seafront amenities. Hotels in this location are a bit of a trek from the railway station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your nice review. We are happy you enjoyed our hotel. We really hope you will comeback to try our new breakfast with our new staff! Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NewcastleUK

Clean and friendly hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: friendly staff, no noise and cleanliness
Cons: The cost of having to pay for a private beach due to the lack of facilities at the hotel
Location: location is great and there is free parking less than 100 yards from the hotel, Shops and restaurants all close by
The hotel has an excellent location and the rooms was spacious and clean, there was no noise and the staff where friendly and very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was good enough to set you up for the day, all of which meant we had a relaxing and enjoyable holiday. The only down side is that because it did not have a pool or a sunbathing area we had to pay to go on the private beaches which did turn out expensive (20 euro per day, in the busy period it can be as much as 40 euro per day). But that aside I would recommend the hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by pp, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, thanks for your kind review. We are happy you enjoyed your stayin Viareggio and in our Hotel. To go on the beach we have special agreement with 2 beach clubs and you have to pay an extra for that.. Hope to see you again, we send our kind regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location but had to pay extra for beach.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
All beach in area private with absolutely no access otherwise. An extra cost! Evening GB meals nice but poor breakfast. Public area in hotel nice but very small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by pp, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thanks for your kind review. In Viareggio you have to rent a place on the beach, and we have special agreement with 2 beach clubs. Hope to see you again, we send our kind regards