Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy but close to the walls of Lucca & cheap

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Outside, but close to city walls, only 3 min walk , though if i went back i would prefer to be inside. Bathroom was clean, shower /bed was good
Cons: Noise - needs triple glazing Door locks need replacing Normal wardrobes that don't need a pole
You get what you pay for, so it was £50 per night approx so its unfair to criticise and compare it to a £100 a night hotel, but it was noisy. It was on a main road, it was very noisy even with ear plugs. The locks on each of the bedroom doors were extremely difficult to operate, and you had to rattle the key very loudly to try and wiggle it in position. So all you could hear, in addition to the traffic noise, was the guests trying to get into their rooms at the night time. The problem comes though with trying to get out of the room, if there was a fire and you had to escape quickly, I would not be able to unlock the door as quickly as i would like. it wasn't just my door, as I had to help another couple try and get in their room late at night. Good points - very friendly receptionist, breakfast if you wanted it, clean/tidy room, good shower, close to walls, and it was cheap.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Hard to check in

Posted Sep 13, 2016
The office closes at 6:30pm, and later checkin was difficult. We actually arrived at 6pm, but they were already closed. Had to call a number listed n the door, but no one one answered. Since we were traveling from out of the country, we did not have phone access, and it was difficult to get in touch. We were finally able to get into the room at 9pm. The room was fine, and the internet worked well. I wish checkin was easier, otherwise it would be a good option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute hotel, walking distance to Lucca

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Great little, converted hotel. With lovely staff. We enjoyed our stay
3 out of 5
by Not Provided from Ripon, N.Yorks

Convenient location.

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant receptionist with helpful comments, map very useful. Hardly 'sumptuous' garden as described in publicity! However, a nice breakfast. Very convenient for walking into the old town and walking around the walls.
4 out of 5
by Barbara from Perth WA

Great place to stay in Lucca

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Very helpful staff. 5 mins from railway station. Comfortable and clean accommodation . Loved breakfast in the garden.
4 out of 5
by Dorothy from Queensland

Posted Jun 26, 2015 on Hotels
Helpful and friendly hosts,good English, easy walk to city. Enjoyable breakfast in garden, we really enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
by Donald from Canada

Lucca in Villa

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay very much. The location was excellent, the staff very kind and pleasant. We enjoyed a generous continental breakfast each morning, and appreciated the free parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas Nevada U.S.A

Walking distance to Lucca City center.

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Staffs were very helpful. She made excellent suggestions to different restaurants. Over all it was wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
by Jan from New Zealand

Amazing Location

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels
This was the most fabulous location just outside the old city wall and with onsite parking. The lovely Sylvia was a very friendly host and spoke excellent English which was a bonus. Our room was very comfortable and a lovely continental breakfast was served in a cute garden room with outdoor tables. I would recommend this hotel to anyway as being exceptional value for money with an outstanding location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice Villa close to the old town.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
The staff were very good and helped with every request. A very nice breakfast that could be had out in the garden if the weather is fine. The villa was only a five minute walk to the main walls of the old town. Definitely stay here if you don't want to be in the old town.