Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Located in the centre of Lucca in an old building

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Daniela who runs it is charming. The interiors are stylish and the breakfast was good.
Cons: Access stairs which are dark and uninviting and the entrance hall/reception desk which is untidy and a bit scruffy.
Location: Easy access to all the sites in beautiful Lucca.
Its an old building and the hotel is like an apartment on the 2nd floor so it felt very enclosed and you couldn't walk outside anywhere without going down 2 flights of stairs. The common parts stairs up to the hotel on the 2nd floor are steep and dark and are not welcoming. Not possible for anyone with any mobility issues to access. Very hard to carry suitcases up to the front door of the hotel. There are dark rugs in the bathroom which means it is impossible to see if they are clan or not. Not suitable for children.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C. Canada

Beautiful rooms

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Great central location with lots of charm
Cons: This was one of the nicest places we've stayed at in Italy
Location: Close to great shopping, eateries, and major attractions within the walled city
Beautiful rooms, attentive staff, and wonderful breakfast make for a warm, welcoming stay. Best not to bring big, heavy luggage as there is no lift. Pay attention to check-in time and try to arrive during the day because the small streets are somewhat difficult to navigate. Weeknights are quieter than weekends.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria Australia

Don't book room 1 in this B&B

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Unfortunately we didn't like it at all. A pity because Lucca is a great little city.
Cons: The entrance and the key system would be foremost.
Location: There's a lot to do in Lucca. The walk around the city along the wall is very pleasant and easy.
Overall we were disappointed with our stay. The entrance was drab an d desperately needed better lighting. You needed 4 keys to get around the place. Room 1 had a very low ceiling which made it feel claustrophobic. The kitchen was immediately above it so our room was noisy in the mornings. The management had a policy of only changing the towels every 3 days at an additional cost of 15 euros per day. This was on top of a price we didn't think represented good value for money in the first place. In fairness, the manager wilted when I refused to pay the additional cost. Some of the other rooms appeared a higher standard. The breakfast was just OK. All the pot plants around the place were dead - it's a bad look.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Daniela Rossi, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Yes, this time I agree with you! Maybe you need a modern four-stars hotel, 50-storey, electronic keys, two / three lifts, towles changed every day, more soap........ Our B & B is located in a Renaissance palace in a cozy city with three thousand years of history in which only 2.3 per cent of buildings have lifts. Please note, the structure is furnished with authentic antique furniture and Persian rugs and with my son we try to give an elegant and refined impression, all this is confirmed by 336 rave reviews and a rating of 9.4 out of 10, that's for us the confirmation of having reached our target. Despite of it we always try to improve our service. Best regards. Daniela Rossi
5 out of 5
by Neal C from North Lincolnshire

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly and extremely helpful. Ideal location and would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by PAOLO from Milano

una sistemazione efficiente e tuttavia rilassante

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
Il relais è confortevole ed arredato con gusto, oltre che in posizione strategica ai fini della visita della città. La gestrice è gentile, disponibile e competente per quanto concerne suggerimenti ed informazioni su servizi offerti dalla città e luoghi limitrofi da visitare.
5 out of 5
by Kay from Poconos

Elegance in Lucca

Posted Dec 5, 2015 on Hotels
True elegance. Felt like royalty. I didn't see sign on door-just look for museum and enter. Once inside you will see sign; ring bell during noted hours for entry. I prefer slightly softer bed-princess & the pea syndrome I guess.
5 out of 5
by dennis l from Dennis and Debbie D. Lexington, S.C.

Great breakfast, great host, great location

Posted Nov 22, 2015 on Hotels
Very close to main square and the best host! Breakfast was incredible!
4 out of 5
by Peter from Örebro

Cosy B&B in spectacular building

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
Supernice B&B in central Lucca with free WiFi and a lounge with access to fruit, water and magazines. Very nice hosts and a friendly atmosphere. Only 5 rooms in total so you feel a bit special staying there. Does not have a reception manned 24-7, but that was no issue for us. Soda & water in minibar is free and re-filled every morning. Room is old style but refurbished to nice standard. Very comfortable bed and very silent since room facing inner yard and thick walls between the rooms. Really nice breakfast served with eggs as per your choosen style etc. Only negative thing was that the toilet plumbing was old so you are not allowed to throw the toilet paper in the toilet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Small and elegant B & B

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Location: Located within the walls of the old city
Beautiful old building with charming rooms and large bathrooms, great friendly and personalised service. Large breakfast room adorned with antiques and hearty breakfast every day to get primed for a day of walking around Lucca, no hesitation in recommending
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Very central b and b within city walls

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Great stay. V well organised owner Daniella who organised taxi transfers and who arranged early breakfast on day of departure