Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable accommodations, excellent breakfast and service
Location: Lovely to stroll around ramparts surrounding the city, and pause to read a book
A wonderful place to settle in upon arrival in Italy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't miss this! The best value in Lucca.

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
We recommend Lucca and especially the Relais San Lorenzo strongly. It was obvious from the instant we walked in that the accommodations had been extensively remodeled with impeccable taste. The linens and decor were superior. Our hostess incredibly helpful and charming. Lucca a precious town. Authentic Italy. We loved the Puccini, shopping and restaurants and would return in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Adorable & Great Breakfast

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Large Bathroom. Good Breakfast.
Cons: Having to carry luggage up two flights of stairs. But it was manageable.
Location: Perfect location right in the center of town.
We loved this hotel as our base. The staff was so kind and accommodating. Told us where to go to park for free outside the city walls, and the breakfast was great! The hotel itself feels very charmingly Italian, but with the modern ammenties of a GREAT bathroom! It was large, clean, and an awesome waterfall showerhead!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Elegant home away from home

Posted Sep 23, 2016
The is a beautiful place. Great location, our hostess was charming and the rooms are comfortable. Breakfast is in a lovely room and a great variety. Wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NJ, USA

Amazing experience

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Very friendly staff and very accommodating to our needs.
Cons: The efficiency of the air conditioning and its noise.
Location: Close to the main attractions in the city. Bus stop right across from the hotel.
Outstanding. A 5-star accommodation with many extras.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Located in the centre of Lucca in an old building

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Daniela who runs it is charming. The interiors are stylish and the breakfast was good.
Cons: Access stairs which are dark and uninviting and the entrance hall/reception desk which is untidy and a bit scruffy.
Location: Easy access to all the sites in beautiful Lucca.
Its an old building and the hotel is like an apartment on the 2nd floor so it felt very enclosed and you couldn't walk outside anywhere without going down 2 flights of stairs. The common parts stairs up to the hotel on the 2nd floor are steep and dark and are not welcoming. Not possible for anyone with any mobility issues to access. Very hard to carry suitcases up to the front door of the hotel. There are dark rugs in the bathroom which means it is impossible to see if they are clan or not. Not suitable for children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C. Canada

Beautiful rooms

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Great central location with lots of charm
Cons: This was one of the nicest places we've stayed at in Italy
Location: Close to great shopping, eateries, and major attractions within the walled city
Beautiful rooms, attentive staff, and wonderful breakfast make for a warm, welcoming stay. Best not to bring big, heavy luggage as there is no lift. Pay attention to check-in time and try to arrive during the day because the small streets are somewhat difficult to navigate. Weeknights are quieter than weekends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
We had a gorgeous room with antique funiture, fresh flowers, generous bath, terrace and sunny separate sitting. Breakfast was varied and delicious. Loved our stay here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria Australia

Don't book room 1 in this B&B

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Unfortunately we didn't like it at all. A pity because Lucca is a great little city.
Cons: The entrance and the key system would be foremost.
Location: There's a lot to do in Lucca. The walk around the city along the wall is very pleasant and easy.
Overall we were disappointed with our stay. The entrance was drab an d desperately needed better lighting. You needed 4 keys to get around the place. Room 1 had a very low ceiling which made it feel claustrophobic. The kitchen was immediately above it so our room was noisy in the mornings. The management had a policy of only changing the towels every 3 days at an additional cost of 15 euros per day. This was on top of a price we didn't think represented good value for money in the first place. In fairness, the manager wilted when I refused to pay the additional cost. Some of the other rooms appeared a higher standard. The breakfast was just OK. All the pot plants around the place were dead - it's a bad look.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Daniela Rossi, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Yes, this time I agree with you! Maybe you need a modern four-stars hotel, 50-storey, electronic keys, two / three lifts, towles changed every day, more soap........ Our B & B is located in a Renaissance palace in a cozy city with three thousand years of history in which only 2.3 per cent of buildings have lifts. Please note, the structure is furnished with authentic antique furniture and Persian rugs and with my son we try to give an elegant and refined impression, all this is confirmed by 336 rave reviews and a rating of 9.4 out of 10, that's for us the confirmation of having reached our target. Despite of it we always try to improve our service. Best regards. Daniela Rossi
5 out of 5
by Neal C from North Lincolnshire

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly and extremely helpful. Ideal location and would highly recommend.