Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful, awful, awful...

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived and the room was awful. We had sent family to view the room and the room that was shown was not the one that we were allocated. We complained and Valentino was to get back to us, but she never did. We stayed one night and moved out the very next morning. It was disgusting!! Broken tiles, dirty, not even a hook to hang a towel. No holder for the toilet roll, and the towels were like sandpaper. In the kitchen the towels were filthy, the cups were chipped and food was lying around for the flies. No self respecting person deserves this. Our family called Valentino and she said that she would give us another room, but it would mean that we still had to use the same kitchen, and I could not. We checked into another hotel that was great! We had prepaid for 11 nights, so she scored: I just hope she used that money to make some improvements and to buy clean dishtowels and towels. I do believe that the booking agents should investigate this as the rating should be a -5. The only thing going for this place is that it is inside the walls and a really good position.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superb location but beware there is no a/c.

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Our room was lovely and very clean. The bathroom was spacious. The breakfast was very good. The location was in the heart of Lucca's old town. Easy walking to all attractions in the city. Our biggest complaint was the lack of air conditioning. We had a sump pump that didn't work. After letting the staff know multiple times and their trying to fix it; we were still left with a non-working unit. It was very warm in Lucca during our stay. We tried to leave the windows open during the night to cool off our room but the noise from the restaurant / bar below us kept us awake until 2 am. There isn't an elevator to help take up your luggage to your room on the 2nd floor. This didn't bother us but beware if you require an elevator. The staff isn't around in the evening if anything goes wrong.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible bed and breakfeast, you pay twice

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
We paid 580 euros + 470 euros for 6 nights which could have entitled us for the best hotel in town. We reserved this place for 6 nights in June (with Hotels.com) and paid the whole thing (470 euros) with our credit card. Two days after our arrival a woman, presenting herself as the owner’s mother told us, as we were leaving for breakfast, that her daughter never received our payment. We presented her the receipt of our payment. She called her daughter who sounded absolutely demented shouting wildly on the phone.So our choice was either to stay there and try to get some money back or find another place and be sure to pay twice. Furthermore the old lady told us that she had most of her family in the police department and that she would gladly throw us out.So we decided to put the whole amount + the extra charge for air conditioning on our credit card in the hope that either they realised their mistake or that we could block the extra payment. Conditioned air comes with a 15e per night extra cost. The first thing we need in Italy in August is conditioned air and this summer the weather was incredibly hot. We reserved the room because condition air was available. We should have looked look at their French language site that says “ventilateur”… We asked to talk to the owner who was shouting on the phone that we weren’t entitled to either breakfast or conditioned air. In the end we settled for conditioned air plus 15 euros per night. The room was extremely noisy, until 2h30am
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
This was our first visit to Lucca, a beautiful medieval town in the heart of Tuscany. The hotel is right in the centre of the town, within easy walking distance of everything, and during our week's stay two festivals took place! It is hardly surprising that the evenings/nights were noisy as our room overlooked the main town square, but with the help of ear plugs and air conditioning, we slept well. Valentina, our hostess, was most hospitable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Charming hotel, nice continental breakfast. Wonderful location, however the room can be uncomfortably hot in high temperatures as there is no air con only a fan and the lighting isn't very bright - not good for applying your make up!
4 out of 5
by Judith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Margaret from Dundalk

A very clean friendly hotel in a great location

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
We were in Lucca for a wedding,and had a very enjoyable week in this hotel.Owner very friendly,and very helpful regarding places to see and howto get there.Although it can be noisy outside hotel at night,it did not disturb us,and would highly recommend this hotel when visiting Lucca.
5 out of 5
by Sicily from London

Lovely stay

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
I loved staying at Residenza Centro Storica, and didn't want to leave. Valentina was very a very accommodating host, and it feels more like being in a beautiful guest room in an apartment rather than in a hotel, which I liked. The location is ideal too.
5 out of 5
by Irene from Greece

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Valentina is a wonterful hostess!The hotel is in near everything..Lucca is beautiful...